2/4 Ming PMPS = 149, +1 = 140, +3 = 185

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-3-ming-pmps-166-2-182-4-164.210297/

That was a good long run of blues yesteday!! Hope he repeats it today :)

I’m starting to think he might need 9-10 units to get to green consistently but maybe once the pred is weaned, he won’t.

I was also thinking if he does hit lime greens in the higher values and if the cycle looks like it’s a bounce breaking cycle, if holding the dose could be something I could do? Just a curious thought. What risks (of course another low event is a risk) and things would we watch out for if we did that? Thanks!
 
I'm just thinking out loud here while I decide to increase or not. So I read the TR guidelines again:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
And hmmmmmmmmmmm... Ming is experiencing... high flat curves (check) and prone to ketones (check) and he's only had 2/6 cycles with nadirs under 200.

SOOOoo... I think I will increase tonight (unless his PS number is blue or close to blue then I won't because he might be breaking this bounce). Hope I'm doing the right thing!
 
I also should prepare for when Ming gets weaned off his steroids. That'll be another interesting journey! Lots of reductions hopefully? I bought extra strips this month to prepare myself.

Blood test on Wednesday and vet will probably give me instructions then on how to wean him off.
 
This is no longer the initial starting dose of insulin. You are in the Increasing the Dose section of TR which says to hold 6-10 cycles with nadirs under 200. Today is only cycle six. With lower blues I hold longer than upoer blues..
 
Last edited:
Darn! Plans foiled. (just kidding. I'm glad not to increase since I suspect once he gets off pred.. we'll be in trouble lol)

Thanks for the clarification @Wendy&Neko. I was in a bit of a dilemma because Ming's blue cycles were nice. Because I didn't know if the bounce nadirs counted or not. I'll have to re-re-re-read TR again.
 
OF COURSE!!! And Ming throws a curve ball.

PMPS = 149

I’m going to wait 15 mins just in case. I didn’t bother to do anymore tests in the later cycle.
 
Ask yourself the question “how low can this dose take my cat”? Those are the numbers you look at, not the bounce ones. In your shoes I would give him a couple more cycles, and see what the trend is.

What blood test are you getting done?
 
Cross posted. ;) Not sure you need to wait 15 minutes retest. This is a shootable number.
 
What blood test are you getting done?

Vet wants to make sure his liver is okay so that if he ever needs pred again, we can give it to him safely. Also a specFPL to serve as a baseline for his pancreatitis (her words).

Cross posted. ;) Not sure you need to wait 15 minutes retest. This is a shootable number.

Alright :) I thought I’d wait since I tested him 15 mins earlier than normal anyways. But now I’m feeding because he was being super hungry. My sister thinks he puked in her room but it was clear liquid. He’s done that in the past where he gags/pukes before his meal. My mom thinks maybe because he’s too hungry?
 
+1 = 140
+3 = 185

I wonder if Ming's nadir is actually later. In the beginning it seemed he nadired later and then he kind of kept nadir-ing between +4 to +6. The last two doses have showed me he might nadir later.

Well! Time will tell.
 
Back
Top