2/4 Lucian AMPS 381,+6/315, PMPS HI,+4/452

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381

Good Morning Deb,

Hey look at it this way, he is starting out the day just slightly higher than he was at +6 yesterday so hopefully he is clearning that bounce fairly quickly...We aren't even going to discuss the heart attack that Autumn handed me this morning but needless to say Autumn will NOT be getting a morning shot. :o

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381

Hi Mel,

Oh My Goodness! I remember you saying that she shows no outward signs of HYPO, no wonder you 'bout had a heart attack! :o

I'm hoping Lucian will keep coming down, even if it's just a little each day.
Again, I'm not sure of his shot this morning. :sad: I've started doubting my ability since I'm pretty sure he may have gotten fur shots when I was unaware it. Now I just don't know until I get the next test. Doesn't help the stress level any. :YMSIGH:

Did manage to go back to sleep for about 1.5 hrs. I needed it, didn't get to sleep till 2. :sad: But Lucian got up with me and napped, he's still in the bed. :-D

Come on up a little Autumn and stop giving your Momma Bean grey hairs! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381

Hon if it helps any with the stress go back at look at the early days with Autumn you will see that she bounced all around too while she was getting use to both insulin and a diet change...I did run her up on dose early on because she arrived with moderate ketones, so I was really forcing the issue with her to get her numbers down as quickly as possible, well that and the fact that when she got here she didn't even weigh 5lbs and she is ideally a 14 -16lb cat. So she was a critical case, in fact not only was I giving her insulin in those early days I was also giving sub-q fluids which I think has a tendency to dilute the insulin as well, but the poor little girl was so dehydrated when she first got here that her ears were more like thin shoe leather than kitty ears. And her fur was so matted and had been for so long that when she was shaved it had worn like bed sores all over her..in general she was a mess.

Just the fact that Lucian is starting to do normal kitty things again tells me that he is feeling better, so he is on the right path, a lot of times you will see the improvement in the whole cat before the numbers start showing it..they start purring more, going back to a normal routine and then the numbers start reflexing the change as their bodies become more use to having the outside help.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381

Poor Autumn! But she was so lucky to have found you! You are an angel! Few people would have taken on that type of severity. Bless you Mel!

Lord knows, I don't know how I would have gotten this far without your help.{{{{{{{{MEL}}}}}}}}

Lucian is beginning to act more like his old self in all ways, except his BG's. He is still thinner than he should be, but I can tell he has gained weight since he came home. I don't have an accurate way to weight him, I can only weigh him while I am holding him and bathroom scales are only accurate within a couple pounds! :-x So he's somewhere around 8# now, between 7.5-8.5 maybe. Whereas, when he came home, he showed about 7#, between 6.5-7.5.........know what I mean? Like I said, I really don't know what he weighs, but I know he is gaining because he is not sunk in on the sides any more, but a little rounder. :-D I still hate feeling his spine. :-x His getting boney is what sent us to the vet, he lost a lot in only a few weeks.
His urine output isn't half what it was when I took him in and his water intake has dropped to very little now. In the last week, I've seen him 'washing up' after meals, almost every time, :-D he hadn't done that in a very long time either. The Purr Machine is back to functioning too. :-D And him getting in bed with me really makes me happy. He has slept with me since he was a year old, so for 13 yrs, until probably a month before I took him to the vet, when he started sleeping beside the water bowl. Appetite and poo habits have not been any problem so far, knock on wood! :lol:
So, all things considered, he is showing much more of his old self, even though the numbers aren't there yet to collaborate it. I just have to do a better job of making sure he gets his dose and I'm trying! nailbite_smile

Gonna get a +6 and see if he got his shot this AM and then I have to run out for a couple minutes, have to pick up my own meds. :sad:

Hope Autumn just surfs along with nice green numbers, but not quite so low. :shock:
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381

Well she isn't surfing the blues but I will take a 148 at +18 since her last insulin because Lord only knows how low she went over night to be only 27 this morning. Not even planning on shooting her until her pm shot, as I'm waiting on strips to get here so being conservative on the testing at the moment. Should be here tomorrow I hope.

If that 148 is a bounce off her going too low last night I'm a happy camper.

To show you the difference in Autumn here she is when we first got her home from being shaved


And here she is in December 2012


Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 

Attachments

  • Autumn in the beginning.jpg
    Autumn in the beginning.jpg
    151.5 KB · Views: 243
  • autumn 12-9-02.jpg
    autumn 12-9-02.jpg
    137.6 KB · Views: 237
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381,+6/315

+6 not much of a drop, but enough to tell me that he got his dose this AM. :-D

There was maybe 3-4 bites (maybe 1 - 1 1/2 TBSP) left of his food from +3.5, that sat there for a while and when I went to warm his rice sock, it was gone. I don't know for sure, but I think he was the one that ate it and it had to have been done within the last 45 min to an hour. Patches was on my bed most of the time and it's hard to get her to eat canned anyway and Shadow was on my bed ALL the time since they ate at 8AM. So I am inclined to believe that Lucian ate within an hour of his test, which would account for some of the high number. I normally make sure it has been at least 2.5 hrs since eating when I test him, so I don't get food influenced numbers, ohmygod_smile which I think I got this time.

I'm just relieved that I can be pretty sure he got his dose. :-D Also did get his ketone test this morning, it's was Negative. flip_cat

OMG that poor Autumn! She looks so beautiful now! :-D She has certainly flourished in your care! dancing_cat dancing_cat

I've only got 12 strips left myself, so will be hitting Walmart, probably today while I'm out. I hate going there! :-x But try to do everything in one trip, to save gas. :thumbup I know you understand that with your truck, mine gets :shock: 16 mpg.

Hey Mel........I noticed you started a new pen yesterday and she was 27 this morning??? Isn't that something to consider?? :?: :?:
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381,+6/315

Very often high and flat for a cycle or two will be an omen of some major action about to happen...I've seen it time and time again with Autumn...well like yesterday she stayed high and flat (well high for her in the blues) and then BANG she drops like a stone overnight. Now if she would just do that for me during the day and when I have 400 strips sitting here...lol But that would just be so uncat like...lol

Yeah I watched her on DCIN for about 6 months before I couldn't take it anymore and had to adopt her, her previous owner wouldn't treat her or even change her diet (said she wouldn't eat canned) BS because when she got here I plopped a bowl of souped up Friskies in front of her along with her regular dry and she drove face first into the Friskies and never looked back. Although I thought she was going to eat me out of house and home those first few months because I free fed her, she was eating 4 (5.5oz) cans by herself a day. Of course her original owner also said she was just a baby at 5 years old...well maybe if you put a 1 in front of that 5...but she is no where close to 5 years old closer to 15 I'm guessing she at least acts like a very old lady. I originally adopted her because she was so young I thought she would fit well with the civies since most of them are between 3-7 years old, except for the old man that we lost to cancer this last Novemeber but she ended up being his best friend and he had just turned 18 when he past. I was pretty horrified when I held her the first time as tried to test her poor little ears. I couldn't feel anything on her but a solid mat. I had to take needlepoint scissors and a seam ripped just to clear enough space on her neck to give her first shot, she was that matted.

Then when we did get her shaved you should have seen the sh*t that came out of those mats...whole kernels of seed corn, dead june bugs, sandburrs etc...my vet had a whole pile of stuff that they wanted to show me that had fallen out of her coat when they shaved her. She also had 3 or 4 quarter size holes in her body where the mats had twisted her skin into them and rubbed her raw, well being an unregulated diabetic we fought like crazy to get those to heal. And oh was she mean, she bit me, she punched and slapped me, she would charge the other cats from across the room etc. There was one point that I even broke down in tears and contacted DCIN about possibly rehoming her again because she just was so mean to everyone here. But cooler heads prevailed and I set up an appointment with an animal communicator that DCIN worked with and the lady Dawn Allen had a talk with her. Then explained to me that Autumn was scared that everything was too nice here and she was afraid it would all disappear so she was trying to hoarde her resources while they existed. As she pointed out Autumn was like an abused child that suddenly after being starved for years finds themselves in a home where there is plenty, that they will stuff themselves and still fill their pockets with food or steal and stash food in their rooms. Because they are never sure when the good luck will run out.

Autumn still has a long ways to go but she is working on it and more or less realizes that she is home for good, and for the most part gets along with everyone now. She still has her moments at meal times if we are a little late with the chow where she gets food aggressive but nothing like she was to begin with. And I don't think she will ever be a lap cat but now at least she will come and give kisses and sit by you to be petted.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381,+6/315, PMPS HI

.....and he's hanging around the water bowl. :YMSIGH: He left his dinner 3 times to go to the water bowl. while eating. :sad:
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381,+6/315, PMPS HI

Ouch I was hoping that he would stay at least in the 300s or perhaps the low 400s...Damn Damn Double Damn.

Of course Autumn was 440 tonight so shooting through her bounce + skipped shot. to get her back down before I reduce her dose to .4u

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/4 Lucian AMPS 381,+6/315, PMPS HI

Yeah me too. I was expecting high 300's, flat but high, didn't expect that. :sad: I really screwed up with the fur shot. He was gradually coming down and he's been bouncing all over the place ever since. :cry:
I'll see what he does in a few hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top