2/4 Leo AMPS 346, +6.5 241, PMPS 380, +4 342

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lacie

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo here:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35897

Leo has been at 4u for 6 cycles now. As I get more data, I'm starting to see a pattern:
On day 1 of a dose increase I get a response and a good curve with a lower nadir than before the increase, usually 280-290
On day 2 his liver goes OHNOOOOOOES and shoots him above 400 preshot (the other day it was 490). As his dose goes higher, his nadirs are staying around 290.
On day 3 he goes high, flat, and pink.

It seems odd because until sometime on Day 3 this should all be shed action anyway.

After looking very closely at Randi and Max's spreadsheet this morning (and remembering ECID), I'm going with the .5u increase that Jill suggested to me last night. It took Max two .5u increases (3.75 to 4.25 and 4.25 to 4.75) to start getting nadirs below 250. After that and a few more .25u increases, he suddenly went green, a month later he was all green, and two months after that he went OTJ. (Newbies, don't try this at home without dosing advice. .5u increases are only for high dose cats with yellow nadirs who have been unresponsive to "normal" dosages of Lantus.)

Plenty of strips, karo, and different kinds of food on hand, so up we go!
 
Re: 2/4 Leo AMPS 346

Good morning Lacie
Good luck with the dosecrease.

Max was a very special case so while you are reviewing his ss I am sure you noticed as well
that I was a testaholic so as Sienne suggested yesterday, test more frequently as your
dosing gets higher.
It is also good sometimes to switch up the times of your testing a little bit so you get a bigger picture of what his readings are.

Also, when you test for Ketones, it is a good idea to make a note in your comments that
you tested and what teh results are. This way those reviewing your ss won't bug
you about it.
 
Re: 2/4 Leo AMPS 346

Hi Randi, are you clairvoyant? I just ran a ketone test 10 minute ago but forgot to record it. Done now!
 
Re: 2/4 Leo AMPS 346

Lacie said:
.5u increases are only for high dose cats with yellow nadirs who have been unresponsive to "normal" dosages of Lantus.)
It you check the dosing protocol, particularly in the Tilly Protocol, you'll see this isn't necessarily the case - if nadirs are consistently over 300 doses can be increased by 0.5u. And just to clarify a bit more, 4.0u isn't necessarily "high dose." We tend to start thinking in terms of a high dose cat over 5 - 6u.

Jill provided a great alternative especially if you'll be available to test. Good luck with the increase.
 
Re: 2/4 Leo AMPS 346, +6.5 241, PMPS 380

We had a beautiful yellow surf this afternoon that lasted for at least six hours. Leo dropped below 250 for two hours; the lowest he's been before today is 275.

The PMPS bounce was expected, and I wouldn't be surprised at all to see red tomorrow morning. My focus is taking his nadirs lower and lower. Thanks to Sienne and Jill who stepped in with dosing support last night. I have a feeling I'll need it again at the end of this set of 6 cycles.

I've had an ugly sinus headache all day and mostly stayed in bed and slept on and off. Samantha Jo likes to sleep on my chest. She's a tiny 6-pounder and barely weighs more than a bird. BF is coming over tonight to roast a chicken with garlic and mushrooms.

I'll come around and visit condos tomorrow when I'm feeling better. Lots going on in LL today. Thoughts go out especially to Cheryl and Claudia and their kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top