2/4 Kim's Simon amps 269

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Yesterday we discovered Simon really, really likes the new dog kibble (which the dog hates). It's not that I'm trying to leave it out for him. It's that he is a really clever and persistent cat.
So, welcome to this edition of Good news/Bad news.
Good news: Simon's limp seems better. Perhaps some magic tonic in dog food?
Bad News:
I'm feeling very discouraged here. We were cruising along with our decreases and I feel like this is the first dose of reality for me. All along, I was not sure how this testing and shooting would fit into our lives, but I was able to do it because I had the hope it would only be for a time. I was hoping for remission. Right now I feel like my best just isn't good enough! He has gotten into dog food at least 3 times in the past two days and his BG has skyrocketed. Sometimes there is not enough of Mom to go around at this house, and I have a responsibility to my 3 bean children as well.
:cry: :cry:
I'm trying to keep him out of the dog food, but every time I lose my attention for a second around dog's mealtime. . . he finds an opportunity. I lose my attention a lot. My kids are 2, 5, and 7. Here's hoping he'll come back down!
 
Binks is such a good "contraband bandit" that I finally had to feed the kibble in a room he couldn't get into.

That prompted him to seek out other forbidden foods, like Spaghettios and Gummi Bears :roll:

But over time, I got better at keeping him away from the high carbs...
and all in all- I think he had a very short time on insulin.

Hope that gives you a little encouragement :smile:

Celi
 
Thanks, Celi. I think I saw the C for contraband on your spreadsheet and stole the funny idea :) I do hope that Simon will follow Binks to the land of no juice. . .
He is looking better tonight! A little more blue and a full .25 to help him down there to the blues.

My daughter had her birthday party tonight and I'm going to eat a few of the leftover red velvet cupcakes to console myself. NONE FOR YOU SIMON!

;-)

Hey Binks,
I has some gud contraband fuds here. U wanna come over?
-Simey
 
 

Attachments

  • cat-eating-cupcake.jpg
    cat-eating-cupcake.jpg
    122.9 KB · Views: 279
The only solution I can think of is to separate them at feeding time and pick up the kibble after a reasonable amount of time, as Serryn also suggested. Easier said than done in a busy household, I'm sure. Hang in there, Kim; you're doing great. I'm glad Simon's leg is better.
 
The dog used to scarf it all up but I think he's not liking his new food. I have assigned DH to go buy the kind he was eating well before. I do have a cat door in my utility to keep the drooler out of the yummy cat fuds. . .but haven't had this reverse problem until now! Drooler may need to start eating in the guest bathroom or something!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top