2/4 Jonesy AMPS 65 + .25 = 67; +.5 = 68; shot .5u PMPS 140 = .75 u; +2 = 196; +3.5 = 203

Jonesy is climbing up sloooooowly, but as usual, I have to work today :(

My question, do I feed him NOW, and shoot his normal .75? I still have about 3 hours before I have to leave the house.

Please and thank you!
 
Well, it's sure not ideal-- he's pretty stubbornly flat right now! However, if you still have three hours before leaving for work, that gives you some wiggle room.

Given the history of ketones, you'll want to give at least some insulin this morning, the question is how much. Does he usually respond well to carbs? If so, you can try the full dose this morning, and if he has not started rising by +2, you have the option of aborting the cycle with some HC food.

Otherwise, or if you are really nervous about shooting the full 0.75, you can do what you have done before and shoot the token 0.25 on a green, just to give him a little insulin to work with while you're gone, and monitor until you leave.
 
Well, it's sure not ideal-- he's pretty stubbornly flat right now! However, if you still have three hours before leaving for work, that gives you some wiggle room.

Given the history of ketones, you'll want to give at least some insulin this morning, the question is how much. Does he usually respond well to carbs? If so, you can try the full dose this morning, and if he has not started rising by +2, you have the option of aborting the cycle with some HC food.

Otherwise, or if you are really nervous about shooting the full 0.75, you can do what you have done before and shoot the token 0.25 on a green, just to give him a little insulin to work with while you're gone, and monitor until you leave.

I'm tempted to go in between and shoot .5 . . . thoughts? He's now a full hour later than normal shoot time :(

EDIT: never mind. I shot .5. Will test in 30 minutes, or do you think an hour? Thanks!!!!
 
I just saw your tag. I'm glad Nan was able to give you some advice and you were able to shoot. If you need to you can leave some extra food out for him today.
So he's dropping some. I'm going to give him a tin of FF HC food. I can still get in another test in an hour before I have to leave for work.

Will that one tin of HC be enough to keep him safe throughout the day?
 
I'd still probably leave some food out for him to munch on while you're gone, when the insulin will be most active. The HC will bump him up in the short term.

Important to remember, he's still in very safe numbers now! Basically, he's been surfing this morning in lovely numbers, just what you want him to do (just with some more convenient timing, maybe, ahem).
 
He's now a full hour later than normal shoot time

Be sure tonight to keep this hour delay in mind - and you'll need to adjust your dosing schedule this evening and for the next few days by 15 minute increments in order to get back on your original schedule. I write the time on my SS so I can keep it all straight - it happens to all of us for one reason or another - might as well be prepared. I didn't see that mentioned previously but it's important. I hope he surfs safely today :)
 
Huh?! Just got home, did a +10 3.4, he's at 139! I'll check him at 6:45, aiming to feed shoot for 7:00 pm, but should I stick to the .5 u?? If I shoot at 7 pm, I'd only have three hours before I have to get to bed.

Thoughts re shots?
 
That's a beautiful number! I think you're fine to shoot...although you may want to set an alarm to get up and check on him not only before going to bed, but again at mid-cycle if those early numbers are down.

You should get a 2 and 4+ at the very least to see what he's doing - since you work this may be your only chance to see how well he's doing on this dose...and yes, I know getting up is no fun at all...but many people here on the forum do it...it only takes a few minutes if you're all set up - just take the test and go back to bed...if he's going down you may want to feed a higher carb food - and then get another test to make sure he's on his way up...

He's looking great!
 
That's a beautiful number! I think you're fine to shoot...although you may want to set an alarm to get up and check on him not only before going to bed, but again at mid-cycle if those early numbers are down.

You should get a 2 and 4+ at the very least to see what he's doing - since you work this may be your only chance to see how well he's doing on this dose...and yes, I know getting up is no fun at all...but many people here on the forum do it...it only takes a few minutes if you're all set up - just take the test and go back to bed...if he's going down you may want to feed a higher carb food - and then get another test to make sure he's on his way up...

He's looking great!

So, are you thinking of shooting .5 or .75? Another 15 minutes before I test, if I can stay on schedule, he'll be eating/shot at 7:00, so 35 minutes from now.

Thanks!
 
I don't see any indication of him having earned a reduction (going below 50) so I'd say stay with the dose you're on - he's getting some good numbers on that dose. So when you mention 'if I can stay on schedule' you're including the additional delay from your late shot this morning, right?

It would be helpful if you added two columns to your SS for the time of the shot - so we could see the time you shot this morning and then the 15 minute earlier than that time this evening; so if your shot this morning at at 8 a.m. then tonight it will be at 7:45 p.m. Sorry I can't remember what time all that was going on this morning...
 
I don't see any indication of him having earned a reduction (going below 50) so I'd say stay with the dose you're on - he's getting some good numbers on that dose. So when you mention 'if I can stay on schedule' you're including the additional delay from your late shot this morning, right?

It would be helpful if you added two columns to your SS for the time of the shot - so we could see the time you shot this morning and then the 15 minute earlier than that time this evening; so if your shot this morning at at 8 a.m. then tonight it will be at 7:45 p.m. Sorry I can't remember what time all that was going on this morning...

I'd reduced his dose from .75 to .5 this morning though. That's what I mean by "what dose".

I tried to put in his asstd tests in the boxes, do you want me to add a column? Or a row? I'm an idiot when it comes to spread sheets ;) (Off to go mix all the cats meds and foods) Will check back in a bit, thank you Sue!
 
If you right click on the very top of the column you'll see a drop down open up and you can add a column to your SS - but don't worry about that right now...

I'm just concerned that you're going to give the dose tonight 15 minutes earlier than you gave it this morning - since you were late giving the dose.

I see what you mean - you gave a reduced dose this morning since he was having such a flat - low cycle. That was kind of a one-off - so I'd go back to the regular dose UNLESS he's doing the same - low, flat cycle - tonight. He really didn't earn a reduction based on the numbers I'm seeing on his SS.

Sometimes it's just safer to give a little less IF the cycle is low and flat AND you have to leave the house for work - both of which were happening this morning. Now, the question is - what will his PMPS be and how available are you for testing this evening? If so, go back to your usual dose.

If not, then shoot lower...it looks like he has a history - generally of some pretty high PMPS numbers.

btw, I don't stay up very late in the evening - I'm up at the crack of dawn unfortunately - so may not be around on the forum when you return...I hope this has been helpful to you and you have a plan for the evening - if any other questions - please post with the '?' and ask for help!
 
If you right click on the very top of the column you'll see a drop down open up and you can add a column to your SS - but don't worry about that right now...

I'm just concerned that you're going to give the dose tonight 15 minutes earlier than you gave it this morning - since you were late giving the dose.

I see what you mean - you gave a reduced dose this morning since he was having such a flat - low cycle. That was kind of a one-off - so I'd go back to the regular dose UNLESS he's doing the same - low, flat cycle - tonight. He really didn't earn a reduction based on the numbers I'm seeing on his SS.

Sometimes it's just safer to give a little less IF the cycle is low and flat AND you have to leave the house for work - both of which were happening this morning. Now, the question is - what will his PMPS be and how available are you for testing this evening? If so, go back to your usual dose.

If not, then shoot lower...it looks like he has a history - generally of some pretty high PMPS numbers.

btw, I don't stay up very late in the evening - I'm up at the crack of dawn unfortunately - so may not be around on the forum when you return...I hope this has been helpful to you and you have a plan for the evening - if any other questions - please post with the '?' and ask for help!

He's at 140 right now and eating. I'm backing up the time that I shot this morning by 15 minutes, that's it. I shot at 7:15, soon it will be 7:00 when I plan to shoot.
 
Back
Top