2/4 Hershey PMPS (239)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
I hope y'all are having a wonderful Saturday!!!

Hershey's PMPS left ear (250) so off PS lately retested right ear (239). So, we're going to shoot .5u, according to sliding scale.

We shot :15 early this morning, could that explain the big difference in PS's? (But, it's been 12 hours since the last shot.) And, any thoughts on how to bring down that PS when he seems to drop too low with .9 u?

Thanks, y'all!

Libby
 
I do not think the 15 mins early shot this morning is contributing to the lower PM preshot. There is SO much that can take place in a cycle, that it is next to impossible to determine what makes preshots vary on the same dose. Some of the factors that can contribute to different cycles are insulin absorption, duration of the insulin, exercise, metabolism, carbs eaten.....plus many more things. Don't get to focused on the preshot numbers. You and Hershey are still very early into this dance, and it "normally" takes a lot of trial and time to get kitties regulated and into consistently good numbers. The objective is to keep Hershey in good numbers for as much of the day as possible. The renal threshold (bg reading that keeps damage from happening to the kidneys) is 280. I try to use that as a guide, for where I want to keep Kitty lower than for as many hours as possible during a day.

The PM preshot looks good! Who knows, maybe it is the beginning of lower preshots!

Good Luck! You are doing Great!
 
Thanks, Kim! I noticed Kitty is tid, how in the world do you make sure you're home every 8 hours? Some days hitting that 12 hours is difficult at best.

Glad this is starting to get a little easier...so much still to learn...

Libby
 
Tonight will be a great learning experience, once we see how he does with the .5u on a bg of 239, was it enough or not enough, then the next time you get a similar PS you will know if you need to go up or down and adjust the scale accordingly.

On 1/28 you shot .8u into a 201 and it was a little too much so if tonight is not enough you would go with a dose in between like a .6u or .7u. Does that make sense?
 
Yes, Robin, that kind of makes sense. I was torn about the .5 or .6 because you said 200 - 249 and 250 - 299, but the two tests were back to back (no waiting) and we got 250 (so .6) and 239 (so .5). So, I went with the lower one (after last Sat night), but which would you have gone with?
 
Doug tested PMPS +5 and got (30), but didn't think he got enough blood. Immediate retest (75). Will recheck at +6 to keep an eye on him. Lower PS, lower dose, lower +5...who knows??
 
I'm guessing the 30 raised someone's blood pressure!

If he levels off in the 60s or 70s, that would be a great cycle. Or +5 may be the nadir this cycle. I'll be around for a couple of hours.
Carl
 
Yikes I was typing out a long too much information post and lost it.

I'm glad you didn't shoot more.

I can stick around for the next test too.
 
+6 (91) - I have no idea what that means... :? But, at least it means he's safe this cycle. I just hope his numbers don't go too high. Not planning to test again unless I hear otherwise from y'all.

THANKS for sticking around!!!
 
Looks Great to me! It means his nadir happened at +5 tonight! Don't worry about him going to high tonight-- it looks like you had the perfect dose. You have to put as much emphasis on the nadir or lowest number as you do the preshot--- truly, maybe more emphasis!
 
One more note.....there really isn't much difference in a 75 and a 91. Given the meter variation, they are practically the same number, so it looks like he is holding steady!
 
What makes it so much earlier some cycles than others? And, sometimes it doesn't seem to last the whole 12 hours, know what I mean? Is there anything we can do?

Heading to take a nap before shot time. Hoping to bump it up :15 (2:30) so Doug can stay home and test at +6 and still get to church on time.

I-)
 
I have always thought that an early nadir means the dose was too high but I'm not sure about that. I've heard conflicting advise about that.
 
Don't be too disapointed, last night was a great cycle and valuable information for the future, today is probably a little liver action because he hasn't seen a green in almost a week, Hershey usually clears them in a few cycles.
 
It is impossible to determine if it means anything with just one mid cycle test, sorry! IF, today's numbers were consistently in the 300s and you had a high cycle, that could just be a left over "bounce" from yesterday's lower numbers. You also could have had an early or late nadir-- who knows?! You are doing fine!

I am not someone to give a lot of dosing advice, but if Hershey was my cat, I would reduce the dose-- it looks like the .8 might be a little strong. You pmps is lower than you amps, and the same appeared yesterday on you am cycle with .8.

Just my thoughts! Like I said, I am not a dosing expert! My Kitty loves insulin and guzzles it, so small doses are not my area of experience.

Good Luck!
 
Thanks, Kim. We ended up shooting a skinny .8u. We'll be home all night, so we'll prob check him +4 just to see how he's doing. Wish this dance came with an instruction manual!! :smile:
 
I think he's still coming down off the bounce. I see you shot a skinny .8u and think that is fine.

Kim is right that the .8u yestarday AMPS gave you that nice yellow PMPS so the .8u might now be getting close to max dose going forward.

Looking back on your ss it seems to take him 3 cycles to clear so I suspect that his #'s will continue to come down and we will see his true numbers again soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top