2/4 Gobbles PMPS 297 +2~299 +6~294 +10~330

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: ? bounce 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

You've got the idea! The liver releases counterregulatory hormones and glycogen, the latter being a stored form of glucose. These compounds cause blood glucose to rise.
 
Re: ? bounce 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Great Sienne, thanks. So then as he regulates, we will hopefully see less extreme bounces...?
 
Re: ? bounce 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Les extreme and less often is what we hope for.
Carl
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Yep, hopefully those bounces will lessen....but, unfortunately, sometimes they do come back, too. Trix was nice and flat for a good long time, then took us on a rollercoaster ride again. These FD kitties like to keep us guessing.

I'm sure Gobby will clear that bounce in no time. Have a great day, Kat!!
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

It just now dawned on me (found an opened can of 18%) that last night, at 2 AM (I never get up in the middle of the night to check BG esp. since I take heavy-duty meds at night), I accidentally opened a can of FF 18% w/gravy and dumped it in his dish--he literally inhaled a good T. of it before I caught my mistake--wouldn't that contribute to his AMPS 482? And I know that his +10 was in yellows, but he still had insulin in him....
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Yes, the 18% would have played a part in the higher AMPS. Mostly, it would be from the bounce, though.

Have you done any tests since this morning?
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

No Dyana, I haven't...(bad Mom!)...I am planning a +5, which will be in 10 minutes...I know that the more tests, the better, but earlier he was so crashed (from the high number I'm sure plus had a big diarrhea) that I thought I'd just leave him alone. He got up for a while, picked at his food, but had a little bit of a gait :( It is amazing that yesterday he ran and today he is in the dumps...being careful on steps, walk, take a break, walk, take a break...classic neuropathy I assume (though no walking on his hinds)...
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Poor Gobbles. Hopefully with the B12 and getting regulated, his neuropathy will lessen.

I probably would have gotten a +2 today even though he is high because you suspect he got into HC food and once it wears off, you might see numbers coming down. Also...sometimes when you get a really high number, it can be the high before the break. I'm always on the lookout for that really high number with Gracie because I know it's possible she could clear the bounce at any time after it and come down fast. No one likes to mess with a +2 when the PS is high; but I think it's always a good idea for lantus users to check it.

eta: and could you please try and remember when someone has responded, to take down the extra wording in the subject line like "! please read". If it's still up, we're going to assume your question didn't get answered. And another quick favor to ask please...how would you feel about putting that after the numbers....for some reason, it's more eye catching there than before the date. Thanks so much.
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Maybe his little HC Gravy SuperBowl Party has him feeling a bit icky, too. I know the gravy can be too rich for some kitties, and if he really indulged, maybe it upset his tummy a bit.
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Dyana said:
Have you done any tests since this morning?
+5 = 216 -- Heck of a lot better than that nasty 482!!! I'm going to zoom in to his "can" picture--that can has got to be in there somewhere because the pic was taken after Gobby stacked them...
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Marje and Gracie said:
Poor Gobbles. Hopefully with the B12 and getting regulated, his neuropathy will lessen.
He's been on the zobaline a few weeks (previously was on xobaline for a few weeks)....is it okay to give him two, instead of one, per day? I took the ! down a few minutes ago :) in the future i'll put any ? or ! after his numbers..Gobby said thanks for your empathy
 
Re: ! please read ! 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Maybe his little HC Gravy SuperBowl Party has him feeling a bit icky, too. I know the gravy can be too rich for some kitties, and if he really indulged, maybe it upset his tummy a bit.
LOL SuperBowl Party--that's funny Amy. I was speed-shopping at Walmart when I bought the last batch of cans (was getting road rage in the store, agoraphobia and had to take a xanax...ha ha) and grabbed something I shouldn't have (though if I caught it when I was putting the cans away, I would of marked the % on the top of the can and put it way in the back of the cupboard with his hypo kit)...
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216

Thanks very much, Kat.

I don't know about the zibeline....I haven't had to use it... sorry :smile:
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216

I don't blame ya....I can't even drive through the WalMart parking lot without an anxiety attack...I won't set foot in there. If you have a Target near by, they usually have Fancy Feast at a pretty decent price. I can actually get mine at Wegman's for 50cent a can...the best price I've seen anywhere, but I know Wegman's aren't everywhere.
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216

I try not to go there, esp. first of the month...but I was almost out of relion strips...got a box of them there and then ordered 4 boxes online!!!
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216

Nice come back Gobbles cat_pet_icon

TheBowHuntress said:
I'm going to zoom in to his "can" picture--that can has got to be in there somewhere because the pic was taken after Gobby stacked them...
So, he knows his colors, and says them, and stacks the cans too :lol:
I don't know what agoraphobia is, but I hate grocery shopping too, as it's always so crowded. I get in and get out as quickly as possible :roll:

I would get a +6 on this.
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216

Our local grocery store is a big one and a nice one (they treat their employees well) and is the only one within miles around, and it's always crowded there, and I always think of the over population problem of humans whenever I go there.

Is it time for another test, yet?
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Probably premature for me to be asking, but I can't find information re: insulin change, on the boards. Gobbles has been on Lantus now for 10 weeks as of yesterday. His numbers are still erratic. I am helpless as I can't make his BG normal. So I was wondering, at what point in time is it time to try a new insulin? Like I said, probably a premature question, but I just want him better :( and don't know what else to do....yes, I'm being patient and I trust all the information and help everyone gives me, but it is breaking my heart seeing him (at times) unwell... I pray for him alot and if anyone out there is a praying person, would your pray for him, too?
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Thanks Kat!

So you are asking about switching to lev. I think it's too soon. You have to give lantus a chance to work. Gobbles is not doing anything any different from other newly dx cats.

There is a common misconception that switching to lev will automatically stop the cat from bouncing. I encourage you to look at Gracie's SS. There are tabs at the top so you can see she bounced on lantus and she bounces on lev. I do think lev is a better insulin for her and at some point, it might be worthwhile to try it for Gobbles. But I think you should be more patient.
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

You could try Levemir, but I think I would give Lantus another month.

I'll keep Gobbles in my prayers.
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Sorry Kat, I was corrected. It would be best if you gave Gobbles more than another month on the Lantus to see how it does and for you to get to know how he is responding to the insulin. It takes time, and patience pants.
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Marje and Gracie said:
Thanks Kat!

So you are asking about switching to lev. I think it's too soon. You have to give lantus a chance to work. Gobbles is not doing anything any different from other newly dx cats.

There is a common misconception that switching to lev will automatically stop the cat from bouncing. I encourage you to look at Gracie's SS. There are tabs at the top so you can see she bounced on lantus and she bounces on lev. I do think lev is a better insulin for her and at some point, it might be worthwhile to try it for Gobbles. But I think you should be more patient.
I looked at Gracie's SS--so you were using Lantus for about a year before you changed, then. Wow. Yes, I see the bouncing. I see you called Gobby "newly dx'd"; that is actually comforting. I assumed that a "newly dx'd" cat would be one with a dx in the last few weeks. So then there's no "set" amount of time to give the Lantus to work. Sorry I broke down.
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Dyana said:
You could try Levemir, but I think I would give Lantus another month.

I'll keep Gobbles in my prayers.
:) A few more months then. Same as I told Marje, Dyana: So then there's no "set" amount of time to give the Lantus to work. Sorry I broke down.
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Oh, I sometimes get close to breaking down and getting frustrated and praying for my cat. And I've been at this a while.
 
Re: ? bounce 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482

Carl & Bob said:
Les extreme and less often is what we hope for.
Carl
Let's hope! (I had a breakdown again--now where is your b*tch slap smilie?) Is there a prize for the whiniest CG???
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Dyana said:
Oh, I sometimes get close to breaking down and getting frustrated and praying for my cat. And I've been at this a while.
Shows how much we love our cats, perhaps...Ill put your kit on my prayer list next to Gobbles cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

hi kat. marje asked for more eyes on gobbles' ss to address your question about switching insulin.

when i look at gobbles' ss, i see a kitty showing a very typical response to insulin. he's responding just like all the other newly diagnosed kitties who haven't made a beeline to The Falls after a change in diet and a brief period on insulin.

there's a huge learning curve associated with insulin therapy. at this point, you're still learning how to interpret his response (ECID) and how the insulin works. i know seeing those higher numbers is frustrating, but hang in there. stick with the protocol and you'll see those numbers coming down. you can already see the greens coming with more frequency!

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256 ? Insulin

Thank you Jill. I'm relieved to hear he's "typical" as far as he's a lot like some other new dx'd kits...I look, look, look at his SS--seems like he really has no set pattern yet and sometimes his numbers are even kind of backwards (if I am not making sense, I mean like on 1/28 & 1/29 where he's going from a high number to a higher number in the cycles.). I just went to his SS and made the page smaller so I could see more days at once, and there is some green and blue....not a whole lot....but some
 
Re: 2/4 Gobbles AMPS 482 +5~216 +6~256

sometimes, as much as we want one... there is no explanation. i've given up trying to figure out what's behind every single high number alex throws. on 2/2 she threw an unexpected high of 202 in the PM cycle. next morning her amps was 242! i don't know where those numbers came from. maybe a high before a break??? who knows! she's remained in low blues and greens since then.

my point is learn to ignore some things. if they become part of the normal routine... that's when you want to start tearing your hair out trying to figure it all out... or better yet... ask for some experienced eyes to take a look.

try to take things in stride. there's no quick fix here. there will be ups and downs. try not to let them affect your emotions... and that's not to say it's easy. each and every one of us has cried a river of tears at some point or another.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top