2/4 George AMPS 456 +2 476 /+11 450 PMPS 504 +2 414 +5 369

Gill & George

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Morning all,:coffee::coffee::coffee:
Vines and prayers for all you kitties and beans in need.

Still in Red, this is getting boring now George.:(

Eating fine seems himself.
On the plus side looks like we can go skiing for the day, will get a +2 before we leave.

Surf safely kitties.
 
Have fun skiing today. Sorry you got such a permission slip from George to go.:rolleyes:

Per TR, you could go up another 0.5 units after six cycles if nadirs remain above 300, though sometimes we fast track after four. Let’s see what he does the next two cycles before deciding if he needs a fast track,
 
Thank you all for your kind thoughts.
We've had a good day on the hill BFG ate all his snacks and was hungry when we got home and did a +11, I gave him a teaspoon of LC because he was hungry and I felt sorry for him, not recommended since it influences the ps test, but given +11 was 450, for one time only I gave in to his big eyes and persistent MAaawr.:oops:

Anyway PMPS 504, :rolleyes: don't even get me started.

Looks like the indulin is not touching the sides.

We have a quandary, a delicate balancing act, the steroids will be wearing out come Wednesday (3 cycles away) but he's been in high numbers for a number of days, and there's every chance glucose toxicity may have set in, so I doubt he's going to go back to normal BG's when they wear off. My gut tells me he is going to need some insulin su okpport to get him back on track.
The longer he's in high numbers the harder we are going to have to battle, and at his age and for the sake of his kidneys, I want to get him under the renal threshhold and ideally surffing those greens asap.
If a return to the falls is on the cards great, but tight glycaemic control is the first objective.

So my thoughts at this stage are, that I will continue with the dosecreases, in a relatively aggressive manner.

For any reading, this is because George is a long term diabetic, out of remission, we normally have to be a bit more aggressive with kitties that relapse if we hope to get them back to the falls. Also it's not our first rodeo and I can be available for him 24/7 e testing as often as necessary.

So @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie , what do you guys think?
Take him up 0.5u tomorrow am or wait 6 cycles (assuming I don't see yellow)
I will of course be on high alert, and ready to take whatever action necessary, watching for any signs of the Steroid waning.
 
Sorry to see George back on the juice, Gill.
Just curious... how much does George weigh?
6.75kg, so this is a small dose for him based on weight. Earlier in the year when his teeth were bad just a smidge of juice got him back on track, and since his dental in April he's been better than ever.

+5 is 369, so some downward movement hopefully this is steroids wearing off.



Btw Jill thanks for clarification in Judy"s post.:bighug:
 
6.75kg, so this is a small dose for him based on weight.
Hmm, that would put him at 1.68u if using the TR calculation for initial starting dose. Increasing by 0.5u would put him at 1.25u.

Because of not knowing when the steroid might wear off... just a thought... take him up by 0.25u after every 4 cycles until you see some marked improvement. That would give you a little more control/a smaller depot to deal with if the steroid suddenly wears off.

Not knowing when or if the steroid will wear off quickly/without warning is a little concerning.

Whatever you decide, I know you'll do whatever it takes to keep George safe.
Good luck!


To those following... this advice is strictly for Gill and George.



ETA:
Btw Jill thanks for clarification in Judy"s post.:bighug:
You're welcome!
 
I like Jill's plan. It approaches aggressively with a smaller depot to deal with should the steroids wear off suddenly. And because you are home 24/7 he'll be in good hands.

Glad you had a good day on the slope.
 
Yo, Deputy George, come down a bit more. The lagoon awaits.

Great that you could get a good day of skiing. I hope that the steroid is finally wearing off. Good luck with the dose increas(es). Sometimes you just have to go with your intuition. :)
 
You will know soon enough if the steroid wearing off will make a difference. You can always move faster if you don’t see a significant change soon.
 
I agree, too, with the dose increase and also that you can speed it up a little more if you need to, if numbers stay high, because you are there to test and feed.

Down you go nice and slow George!
 
Back
Top