? 2/4 Fred AMPS 440, +8 348

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
Hello again,

Would appreciate some eyes on Fred's spreadsheet for the last few days, and let me know if I should be increasing his dose? I'm thinking I should. If so, should I increase by .25 or .50?

Fred is just not himself. He has lost another 6 ounces since last week. :-((( I also think he has a little URI.

Thank you!!
 
Here is the link to your previous post here, for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-2-fred-pm-4-389-amps-374-5-348.242495/

In that post, Elise mentioned that dry food means following SLGS for dosing. Do you mind adding SLGS to your signature? That will help us help you faster. With SLGS, you hold each dose for 7 days, then re-evaluate it. You are half way through that 7 days now, so need to hold for another 3.5 days. It looks like Fred is bouncing from that lovely 139 yesterday. If you need to increase (TBD), it would be by 0.25 units.
 
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee Yes, I'm sorry. I did see the dry food note. With everything I'm trying to take in and coordinate to try and get Fred broken out of his high numbers, it kind of blew past me. My apologies.

I went back and re-read the rules for both SLGS and TR. I'm not sure I'm able to do full on TR, but in the outline, it does not specifically mention no dry food. It does say to feed wet or raw, but I can't see anything that "forbids" any dry. I guess I'm wondering why a low carb dry food would exclude a cat from TR? I understand no dry is best...I've always been aware of that, but the fact that Fred and Sadie were hoarded, and still maintain that mentality, have made that an extreme challenge. But as I'm feeding them a homemade raw diet that has 1-2% carb content, as well as the 50/50 mix of Dr. Elsey's and Young Again, that would bring his total carbs up to about 4-5%. Ultimately, aren't carbs carbs? Some of the wet foods that have been recommended, i.e. Weruva, have carb content of up to 8%. Would it not be better to ultimately have a lower carb content be it wet or dry?

Just thinking out loud...thanks again!

P.S. Yes, Fred was high yesterday, and I'm hoping it was just a bounce. The AM 139 was like some kind of crazy chimera...I've never seen a daytime one before! I hope it wasn't just because he vomited. :facepalm:
 
From the Sticky Note, this is a requirement: Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.
The research that led to the TR protocol was done with cats being fed a low carb canned or raw food diet. TR is more aggressive than SLGS and with being more aggressive, there are safety mechanisms in place. Dry food metabolizes slower than wet or raw food, so we cannot be as aggressive in dosing with dry in the picture. Anyone with a cat on dry food must follow SLGS. Safety is our main concern.

Under SLGS you would not have increased today, but rather waited a couple more days.
 
Thank you for your explanation. It's just torture seeing him in the high numbers, and knowing he does not feel himself.
 
Back
Top