2.4, Bijan, AMPS 500

bijer

Member Since 2022
Good morning everyone. We are newish to TR, and I just started Bijan on his 8th cycle of 1.25 dose this morning as discussed with @Bandit's Mom earlier this week here.

Q1: I wonder how to proceed and if increasing his dose makes sense to 1.5? or if we should hold for a few more.

We are definitely seeing more blues and greens these days but they are not as consistent in his pm cycles. The blues and greens are starting earlier in the AM cycles these days. He continues to shoot back up high before both the AMPS and PMPS. Although we are reading on a Freestyle Libre and I can't tell how high over 400.

thank you so much!
 
His numbers are definitely looking better! He is seeing nadirs in the 50s on this dose, so there isn't any room for an increase. What you could do is use food to prevent that sharp drops he sees which can also contribute to bouncing. Does he get small meals, especially in the first part of the cycle in both cycles?

Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

The bouncing will reduce as his body gets used to lower numbers. Already he is clearing bounces sooner and seeing blues and greens every day.

Btw, our experience has been that the Libre reads much lower in normal numbers, so we recommend cross-checking lower readings - especially those that affect dosing decisions - with a traditional glucose meter. Will he let you test him?
 
thank you @Bandit's Mom! appreciate how responsive you are ;) I am happy to hear that he does look to be going in the right direction.

Ok we will keep him here at 1.25. he gets hi meals at once but grazes throughout the day, especially in the first part like you are mentioning he tends to have a few bites then comes back for more after deciding he is infact still hungry. I have also noticed that dip so I do try to give him a snack around then (like 1-2 spoons fulls of his wet food or a few of those freeze dried nuggets).

I haven't tried testing him. I'll try it out and report back I remember reading that these libres cant be fully trusted so I think I would also feel better cross checking.

thank you!:rb_icon:
 
Back
Top