+2: 311, +4: 138, +4.66: 117, +5:116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Active Member
Momma Bean's wide awake now!

Woooooohoooooooo!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:



PMPS: 332
+2: 311
+4: 138
+4.66: 117
+5:116
+5.5: 114
+6:147
+7: 272
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

I just saw that on P's SS and figured there would be a post to follow soon! :smile: That's a big drop from +2 to +4 so you may want to grab a 1/2 hour reading just because we have no idea what P's going to do with that.
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Definitely. I'll be monitoring a lot closer than I planned to tonight! This is so exciting!
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

WooHoo! Keep an eye on P for a bit to make sure he doesn't drop too low. I know you're excited, I'm excited for you! dancing_cat flip_cat
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Still going down...117, 40 minutes after +4... nailbite_smile

Looks like I'm going to be feeding some numbers.
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Good! If that is a +4, then you have a couple hours yet before nadir, might want to get another test then, just to see how far he's going to drop. If he should get a little too low, you have higher carb food right? Got a hypo kit made?

Usually nadir is about +6, give or take. Can be earlier or later, depends on the cat. Lucian's nadir changes, but it's usually a little later than most, between 6 & 8.

Always a good thing when they are below renal threshold. That's what I'm working on with Lucian. I don't care if he's on insulin forever as long as I can keep him below 250, he's safer from organ damage.

So good to see P down in good numbers! flip_cat
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Not necessary to be feeding yet, but you have what you need just in case right?
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Melissa and P said:
Still going down...117, 40 minutes after +4... nailbite_smile

Looks like I'm going to be feeding some numbers.

Ok, he's not rocketing down, so that's good. It looks like he's slowing the drop down a bit. Just for purposes of smoothing him out a bit, I'd suggest feeding about 1 tsp. of his regular low carb food. I know P just ate but hopefully he'd like a small snack. You don't want to overdo it in case you have to keep feeding him small amounts. Let's start with that. :smile:

Just FYI, I do this all the time with Eddie even if he's not anywhere near the 50's just to slow him down a bit or to smooth him out a bit or if I can't monitor and I'm unsure if he's going down some more.
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Jen, remember the first time Eddie dropped below 100? I know I bugged when Lucian did! He had been so high, then boom, scared me to death. But you get used to it after awhile huh? :-D Had my share of hypo night watch, both with Lucian and others on the boards.
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

nckitties3 said:
Jen, remember the first time Eddie dropped below 100? I know I bugged when Lucian did! He had been so high, then boom, scared me to death. But you get used to it after awhile huh? :-D Had my share of hypo night watch, both with Lucian and others on the boards.

Yep! The second successful ear test I ever got was a 98 at +4. I was freaking out. :-D I've got a handle on smoothing numbers with LC food, but I'm glad you're available just in case P dips lower than we want. :smile:
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

P nadirs have been later lately around +8, or even +10.

I'm super excited, but also pretty weary. I've got MC food, HC food, and maple syrup and honey. I memorized the hypo protocol and Jen told me what to do to feed lower numbers. I'm ready.

I agree with you about the renal threshold. That's all I'm striving for at this point. Haven't even tried to concern myself with remission yet.
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Lucian only went to 80 his first time under 100 and I was STILL testing every 30 mins. :lol: 6 months later I was shooting a 60! :o You get to know your cat after a while.
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

When you get a second Melissa, can you edit your very top post for quick reference as to your readings? Something at the top like this:

+2 = 311
+4 = 138
+4.66 = 117
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

He can always eat, Jen. lol I fed him 1tbsp of his regular food.

+5: 116

Here's what I'm most worried about: what the heck do I dose in the morning? I won't be home to monitor until a little after his +6...
 
Re: We got our first blue!!! 138!

Ok good on the +5. He's smoothing out a bit. That's probably the +4 meal showing up.

Let's see where he goes tonight. If he gets a little close for comfort, perhaps back off a smidge for the AM dose particularly if you can't monitor. If he surfs in these blues, you may want to hold the dose to see if you can get a repeat. Will he graze on wet food or does he hoover it?
 
I'm just thinking out loud but that +4 meal is kind of a nice little bit of insurance since we don't know for sure what P plans to do with these new numbers. You might consider a smidge of a shave to like 3.75 or something if you can't monitor and if there's not a way to leave food out in case he dips a little low. It also depends if he goes lower tonight, and what his pre-shot looks like in the AM. :smile:
 
I'm pretty weary of holding the dose, since I won't be here to monitor. But I do want to hold the dose, because I want to keep these good numbers. I keep tossing around the thought of coming home after my first class, so I can check in on him and give him some food. I think I may do that.
 
I think it would be safest to hold really only if you can try to catch a +4 and feed. My concern being that P may be rather unpredictable for a while. If I were in your shoes, and I were shooting Eddie, I think I'd hold the dose if I could catch a +4 and feed. Of course, that assumes he doesn't go down much farther tonight, and that you don't get a lower than normal pre-shot. :smile: It's also possible that P may give you a pretty wicked bounce off these lovely blues tonight.
 
Haha, yeah, I've already been thinking about not being surprised if there's a bounce. And I'm sure it'll be pretty wicked if there is one.

I'm just concerned that if this was insulin resistance, shouldn't I be lowering? Ugh. I'm just weary.

I'm going to come home after my first class. I've made up my mind.
 
Melissa and P said:
Haha, yeah, I've already been thinking about not being surprised if there's a bounce. And I'm sure it'll be pretty wicked if there is one.

I'm just concerned that if this was insulin resistance, shouldn't I be lowering? Ugh. I'm just weary.

I'm going to come home after my first class. I've made up my mind.

That's the million dollar question. How fast will P come down the scale? We won't know for sure until we see it. It may take some time to work his way back down the scale, or he may work his way back down rather quickly. First you want to focus on getting a dose that is getting him good nadirs and then adjust from there as warranted. You'll want the numbers to be your guide. So far this cycle, while it's a good cycle, the dose is not too much, so there's not necessarily a reason to reduce quite just yet. It may take P some time to get adjusted to being back in these healthy numbers, but seeing these blues tonight is definitely a H-U-G-E step in the right direction.
 
Hey Jen, wouldn't the dose also depend on his preshot in the AM? I mean, if he's at 250, would it be wise to give 4 U?

I'm asking because I'm not familiar with the ins and outs of PZI. Because Lucian's issue is duration and not effect at this time, I just wondered how Melissa should handle it if P is much lower than what she's used to in the morning.
 
nckitties3 said:
Hey Jen, wouldn't the dose also depend on his preshot in the AM? I mean, if he's at 250, would it be wise to give 4 U?

I'm asking because I'm not familiar with the ins and outs of PZI. Because Lucian's issue is duration and not effect at this time, I just wondered how Melissa should handle it if P is much lower than what she's used to in the morning.

YES! It does very much depend also on P's pre-shot. If P's in the 200's at pre-shot, I'd dial it back to maybe 3, maybe even less. P's tough since his patterns are all pink tutus, so it's tough to guestimate what he's going to do with a dose. I know Melissa struggles in the AM because there's not always someone on to advise on dosing when she's shooting.
 
That's true, that's why I'm always asking you and Sue in the evening if you have any ideas of what the morning dose should look like. It depends on my schedule that day, whether or not I feel comfortable shooting full or shaving some. Since I'll be coming home for his +4, I think I may try 3 if he's higher 200s, and shave it a bit if he's lower 200s. By the way, do we consider shaving to be close enough to 2.75 to call it 2.75? When I was giving 3.5, I was just eyeballing it. I don't have syringes that can dose 0.25. My u100s can dose 0.2, so should I use those instead of shaving my u40s?
 
OK, it helps me to know these things too, in case I can help. Basics, I got, specifics with PZI, I'm still learning.

I, very much, believe in being cautious if you can't be there to monitor.

Lucian hit 282 at +10, so he had his shot and I'm hitting the sack. Probably would have been better at +9. He seems to be stretching his cycles a bit. I may start shooting at +9 if that works for him. he would have been at a more acceptable level then.

Melissa, anytime you need help and there isn't anyone in PZI, please go to Tight Regulation, there is always someone there that can help you. Talk to you later, hang in there!
 
I didn't know you were using U40's. That's tough. If it was me, I'd eyeball it, but that's me. :lol:

Good night!
 
Ok, so please try to ask for help on dose in the AM if you're below 350. :smile:

That said, here's a thought: since P got roughly a 250 point drop on the 4u off a 350 pre-shot, maybe you might consider a scale something like this in case you get a pre-shot you're not expecting, IF YOU CAN MONITOR:

200-250: 2.0u
250-300: 2.5u
300-350: 3.25u
350+: 4u

This is based loosely on some proportionate math. Unfortunately, it's not quite that simple, but at least it has some logic behind it.

For simplicity's sake for now, I'd eyeball the half and quarter units using the u40's.
 
+7: 272 - Looks like he's working his way back up to those pink tutus. I'll definitely ask for help in the morning if he's below 350.

Thanks for making that scale. It looks pretty good to me.
 
Looks like P is getting ready to bounce but that's to be expected. :) His pancreas/liver will probably view those 100's as scary and release glucose and hormones that will make him rise. He's shown us that he's good at clearing those bounces, though, so hopefully by AMPS, he'll be ready to move for you again! Bounciness does get better as the kitty gets used to seeing healthy numbers again.

So exciting to see P in the blues tonight!!! I hope this is a sign of good things to come for you two!

I'm going to be tied up during the day at work quite a bit tomorrow, but I'll check in on P's condo tomorrow as often as I can. :) Congratulations on those beautiful blues!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top