2/3 Rosa AMPS242 +7 73 +8 56 +9 66 +10 71 PMPS 129 +4 51 +4.75 39 +5.25 77 +6.25 122 +7.25 127

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry - I've got so used to each main marking on a syringe being 5 units, I assumed the one I used was the same - it's not - each marking on that is 1ml ;) Tiredness and stress caught up with me there I think!!

That does sound like a good idea - of course if she doesn't go too low on the 1.5 I could give her both shots. I'm just getting a feeling she's on a mission here to see how much she can have her dose reduced so she might still run into the lower end of acceptable at 1.5 I guess. But I could certainly use a good night's sleep - it'd be easier for me to stay awake with her in the afternoon than another overnight run.
 
Thank you - yes, it's certainly been 'interesting'. Rosa's definitely getting too attached to all this extra attention. We're still here though - just about to do her next test. Hopefully she's not dropping too far back down now I've taken the hc food away!
 
And at 122 so holding fairly level - I'm sure the honey has to have worn off by now...doesn't it?

I'm thinking of giving her some of her lc, testing again in an hour and if she's still good then getting a couple of hours sleep before her AMPS - does that sound reasonable?
 
I was told to hold the reduced dose for at least 6 cycles,

I think you might have misunderstood this a bit....there's no specific time you have to hold a reduction...If the reduction fails, you go right back up to the dose that worked. I think what you're thinking is that "after a reduced dose, the depot can continue to effect the numbers for up to 6 cycles"

A drop into the 30's on the 4th cycle after a reduction says "too much insulin" to me!
 
Ahh - I clearly did misunderstand that then. A lot of information to take in in a very short space of time - especially with Rosa who seems to have decided she'd really rather not need shots at all and is apparently determined to keep going lower and lower!!

Hubby woke up at one point soon after the 39 and came to ask how she was doing - he was pretty insistent that I have to give her a little less at least for a few days to see if it works for safety reasons (and for sleep reasons too) once he heard how low she'd gone.

If she does bounce, no doubt it'll be for the same 2 hours she's bounced the last couple of days - I don't think she liked the trampoline much once she tried it out! ;)
 
You could just put her food back down for her to help herself or not as she chooses and yes another test in an hour and if she's surfing or rising zzzzzzz
 
I just gave her some fresh food - fortunately we've found that our CKD girl will eat the food that Rosa thinks is 'too old' (if it's been out for more than an hour or two) so at least we're not wasting much. She's tucking into it nicely which is good - I'm hoping she'll either surf or have a little bounce to get her through to morning.
 
It really is annoying isn't it - a fresh bowl of food that they pick at and then decide it's not good enough any more. I was throwing it out until Shadow decided she'd eat it just fine - she's nowhere near as picky apart from really not liking her prescription food (which I have doubts about anyway - it's a crazy price and is higher phosphorus than some of the OTC brands I've found). I think with Rosa it's because she really was a dry food addict - she's been prepared to switch to wet but she's going to be picky about it!! :P And of course it gets her yet more attention if I have to keep switching out her food every couple of hours. ;)
 
And at 127 - looks like she's surfing quite nicely now. Safe to get some sleep do you think? Or should I get another test in an hour?
 
Thank you - I'm so glad...it might only be 4 hours, but every minute counts at the moment!! :) Thanks for your help again tonight - and Rosa says thank you for confirming she should get a dose reduction. :)
 
You're welcome. My hope is that you're sleeping soundly before I've even finished typing this - I think when they're dancing like Rosa it's not just every minute that counts but every second!
 
Woohoo! Look at Rosa go. Congrats on the reduction. Good job last night April. It's great that Serryn was around again.

A couple of note. From the Protocol Sticky:
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions

and from the Depot Sticky:
Practical experience on FDMB shows that as a generalization, the depot can affect up to 6 cycles. The time tends to be less when a cat is on a smaller dose, and more when a cat is on a larger dose. Other factors can apply as well, but using the generalization of 6 cycles is a good starting point until you have learned your particular cat's patterns.
 
Thank you all. Yes, I was pretty much asleep within seconds :) You're right - every second counts when she's been keeping me awake like this!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top