2/3 Luciole AMPS 320, +4 290, PMPS 268 +2 301

Lara & Luciole (Lu)

Member Since 2013
This is Lu's 3rd day on Lantus and I'm wondering if I should increase from 1 unit to 1.25 or 1.5.
Apart from a great AMPS yesterday, she's having some some high #s.

As well, I'm going to try eliminating the foods that might've sent her up yesterday.
 
This is Lu's 3rd day on Lantus and I'm wondering if I should increase from 1 unit to 1.25 or 1.5.
Apart from a great AMPS yesterday, she's having some some high #s.

As well, I'm going to try eliminating the foods that might've sent her up yesterday.
Welcome back although I’m sorry you have to be back but Lu is lovely.

You are hopping the dose around too much ;)

Your starting dose was 1u and you needed to give her at least 10 cycles for the depot to fill under TR unless she drops below 50. I’m not sure why you gave 1.25u her very second dose. I do understand why you gave her a reduced dose last night.

It’s extremely important to try and always get a +2 and before bed test every night.
 
Thanks, Marje. I was concerned that my starting dose of 1 u might've been too low, so I increased it by a quarter unit.
Then I saw the great AMPS and thought I overdid it and was worried about a hypo.
However, then she went high yesterday. I gave her a few Temptations cat treats, which were the only carbs she got. Otherwise she's been getting low carb food.

So, I'll keep her on 1 u for 10 cycles. I plan to always get +2s, and +6s.

The first night I was extremely exhausted and didn't get a +2 because of the recent passing of a cat. Two months of palliative care and sleep deprivation and I was out like a light. But for that one day only.

Thank you very much, more than words can say, for all the help you gave me for several years during our last go-round!
 
Thanks, Marje. I was concerned that my starting dose of 1 u might've been too low, so I increased it by a quarter unit.
How was it determined?

However, then she went high yesterday
It’s that old bouncing! :cat:

The first night I was extremely exhausted and didn't get a +2 because of the recent passing of a cat. Two months of palliative care and sleep deprivation and I was out like a light. But for that one day only.
I am so very, very sorry. That’s so difficult to go from one needing so much care to another. Grab as much sleep as you can when Lu is high.

Thank you very much, more than words can say, for all the help you gave me for several years during our last go-round!
You’re welcome! My honor and it’s what we are all here for.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
How was it determined?

The starting dose wasn't determined based on anything is what I'm thinking. Perhaps that's what my vet typically does? So that's why I was second-guessing.

It’s that old bouncing! :cat:

Yep, it's all coming back now! Basketball high-tops at the ready.

I am so very, very sorry. That’s so difficult to go from one needing so much care to another. Grab as much sleep as you can when Lu is high.

I'm all caught up on sleep now, and thank you so very much. By comparison, diabetes is a relief! And Lu is the best patient, with such a lovely character.

You’re welcome! My honor and it’s what we are all here for.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I've told people about the FDMB for years. It's a best example of what the internet is for. And I told a veterinary hospital about the Tight Regulation protocol, and they peppered me with questions, and then published it in the local newspaper as if it was their own discovery, their own scholarship. (!@#+%%) But if it helped people, it's all good (except for ethics).
 

Attachments

  • bighug.gif
    bighug.gif
    3.4 KB · Views: 79
Perhaps that's what my vet typically does? So that's why I was second-guessing.
Lara, what is her weight? The starting dose should be 0.25u/kg of ideal body weight so if she’s not underweight, that’s how the dose would be calculated. For example, a 4.5 kg cat would start at 1u (rounded down from 1.13u).

Basketball high-tops at the ready.
:smuggrin::smuggrin:

And Lu is the best patient, with such a lovely character
That’s great. It makes the dance all that easier.

And I told a veterinary hospital about the Tight Regulation protocol, and they peppered me with questions, and then published it in the local newspaper as if it was their own discovery, their own scholarship. (!@#+%%)
Wow….sad a professional would plagiarize especially something that was published in a feline journal.

We’ve made some changes to info needed in the signature block and you can read it here. Thanks for helping us by updating your signature with that info.
 
I just weighed her, and Lu's weight is 3.2 kilos/7 lbs. She's small to begin with, but has definitely lost weight. So she's getting too much insulin, if anything!

Here's my question: Should I stick with the 1 unit for 10 days, or reduce the dosage, given her weight?

I'll get my signature updated right away. Thank you for letting me know, Marge! And you mean that some things have changed in 8 years?! I'd better do some review of the site. :bookworm: I'm just annoyed that treating feline diabetes isn't yet at a par with human diabetes.
 
Last edited:
I just weighed her, and Lu's weight is 3.2 kilos/7 lbs. She's small to begin with, but has definitely lost weight. So she's getting too much insulin, if anything!

Here's my question: Should I stick with the 1 unit for 10 days, or reduce the dosage, given her weight?

I'll get my signature updated right away. Thank you for letting me know, Marge! And you mean that some things have changed in 8 years?! I'd better do some review of the site. :bookworm: I'm just annoyed that treating feline diabetes isn't yet at a par with human diabetes.

I would leave the dose as using 3.2 kg would calculate out as 0.8u and it’s ok to round it up to 1u. You can drop the dose to 0.75u if she drops below 50. Since you’ve done this before, I have faith!!!

Thanks for updating the signature. Actually....lots has changed! If you go into the Health FAQ, you’ll see alot of new information. Actually, you’ll see members using continuous glucose monitors on their cats. There are now also oral medications which can be used as long as the cat has never been on insulin. It’s getting there.
 
Marje, I will never forget you virtually holding my shaking hand as I gave my first dose of insulin to River when his numbers were low! :bighug:

BTW, he lived for several years post-diagnosis, to be over 17 years old. His leaving for the Bridge had nothing to do with diabetes. :cat:

I need to look into the glucose monitors and get caught up. Thanks for letting me know!

I'll hold steady with 1 unit and see what she decides to do as she builds up her depot. Thanks x a zillion for getting us started on a good path!
 
Marje, I will never forget you virtually holding my shaking hand as I gave my first dose of insulin to River when his numbers were low!
That’s a very scary time so I was happy to be there and help you and your darling boy.

BTW, he lived for several years post-diagnosis, to be over 17 years old. His leaving for the Bridge had nothing to do with diabetes.
That’s so fantastic. You were doing the right thing with FD.

I'll hold steady with 1 unit and see what she decides to do as she builds up her depot.
Looks like she’s just having a little bouncy bounce but hopefully we will see good BGs when she clears it.
 
Back
Top