2/3 Leo AMPS 334, PMPS 314, +4 361

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lacie

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo here:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35802

Nothing exciting good or bad to report today, but still happy to see the yellow nadirs and Leo feeling pretty perky. Tonight's shot will be the sixth cycle at this dosage. I don't have to work tomorrow, so I'm going to stay up tonight and see what his nighttime nadir numbers are. If we don't hit blue, then tomorrow morning we increase by .25u to 4.25.

Onward and upward!
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314

Hi Lacie :)
I heard there was a Leo over here so I thought I'd stop by and introduce myself, I'm mom to a Leo too. That's him in the pic.. scritches to your boy!
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314

Hi Carolyn - thanks for stopping by! I've admired your guy's photo many times since I joined this board - he looks so regal and mysterious. Of course I'm sure he has his unregal and unmysterious moments, when he wants something!
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314

Is Leo's 4u a high enough dose to justify a .5u increase instead of a .25u tomorrow morning if his nadirs are consistently between 200 and 299? How high a dose is considered "relatively high" under the protocol?
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314 ?DOSE QUESTION?

Hi Lacey - I can't really answer the question, but this will at least bump you up in cue. Good luck with the dosecrease, whichever you decide.

Have a great night - hope you guys are doing Ok with the weather too.
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314 ?DOSE QUESTION?

Hi Lacie
I used to ask the same questions when Max was at a higher dose, whether I should go up
by .5 or .25
i don' have the answer for you but someone will.
Hang in.

Sorry I looked at your ss earlier in the day but I just wanted to ask about checking
for Ketones.
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314 ?DOSE QUESTION?

Here's the protocol:

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Maybe someone else will stop by. Here's another bump!
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314

Lacie said:
Hi Carolyn - thanks for stopping by! I've admired your guy's photo many times since I joined this board - he looks so regal and mysterious. Of course I'm sure he has his unregal and unmysterious moments, when he wants something!

Thanks for saying so Lacie, I'll be sure to pass that on to him ;)
Actually I think our boys look a good deal alike in the face!
Hope they get to ya soon, great to meet you!
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314 ?DOSE QUESTION?

Thanks for the bumpage, everyone. I'll default to .25 tomorrow morning if I don't hear anything.

And Randi, thanks for the ketone test reminder. Leo's never had them, so I've gotten slack about testing everyday, especially now that he's having some lower numbers. But anything above 230 is renal threshold so I'll wave a stick under him on his next trip to the potty.
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314 ?DOSE QUESTION?

I remember that feeling Lacie, getting a little lazy in the Ketone test.

I was lucky with Max though. I would put him in the litter box, tell him to make a pee
and then when he started I would put a little cup under him that he peed into.
Of course I would have to let him finish in the litter or he would wonder where it went to. :-D

However, ketones could turn extremely serious so better safe and vigilant.
Will check on you guys tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314 ?DOSE QUESTION?

I would suggest increasing by 0.25u. However, if you're not seeing much movement, you can increase the dose as soon as after 4 cycles. If you are going to be aggressive about dosing, you also need to be aggressive about testing. I'm just pointing out that if there's a point where you're increasing by 0.5u or if you are increasing after 4 cycles, you also need to monitor carefully in case Leo should decide that he's tired of a yellow nadir and opts for a lower floor.
 
Re: 2/3 Leo AMPS 334, +7 293, PMPS 314 ?DOSE QUESTION?

i'm going to suggest yet another option...
since the yellows you've been seeing have been high yellows, i would increase the dose by 0.5 unit and hold the 4.5u dose for a total of six cycles. continue testing frequently and as randi mentioned, test urine for ketones.
 
Thanks! Just got our +4 at 361, which is probably a spike from dinner (4% carb Wellness canned). Am setting the alarm for +6 and +8 tonight to get a feel for his nighttime numbers and will take one of your suggestions in the morning. I very much doubt that we'll see anything below 250 tonight, but there's only one way to find out. I'm free to do day and night curves for the next four days, so the timing is good.

Although his preshots haven't improved much, something is happening, because he's looking and acting better every day - nose is pink, snugglier, purring more, curls his paws a certain way he has, played this evening which he rarely does. He's a different cat from a week ago.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top