2/3 Doodles AMPS 263 +4 302 +8 335 PMPS 284 + 4.5 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 2/2 Highest AMPS since December 6th...not soo good Doodles o_O A little game of chase this morning and I'll be heading out to the store before anyone else gets there. Just waiting to see a glimpse of daylight.

We've done the climb back up the dosing scale before...last time we climbed back up to 2.5. Just waiting for Thursday morning to give another increase unless a miracle happens and he shows something different. I still don't see any signs that "something" is wrong other than the total loss of good numbers. However if we don't see some improvement by the weekend I'll take him in for urine testing and teeth ex-rays to be sure. His labs from Dec. are in his SS.

Have a good day everyone and hope the kitties feel good today.
 
Doodles, what's up with those numbers? It just doesn't seem to make sense that he can go from being so well regulated for weeks on end to all of a sudden going back into the yellows and pinks. Sending lots of good vines your way + hoping that he will find his way back into the lagoon soon.
 
he can go from being so well regulated for weeks
I've been looking at his SS. He was on all wet and basically barley eating 2 cans (6oz) FF a day and he lost better than 1/2 lb. This is when I panicked and started giving him a little YAZC for the high calories and he gained that weight back. Thinking his weight being back up is contributing too the loss of the reductions. Now that we're back on all wet if he looses weight and gets back down toward the 16lb mark I'm not going to panic...maybe it's better for him anyway.
 
Trix used to fall out of regulation sometimes, too...however, I do think she did some bouncing around when she did it. Doodles so solidly fell out...it certainly stands out. How old is is insulin? I also wonder....in scanning your notes, it looks like the BGs may have started going up a day or so after you started feeding Stella and Chewy's...am I reading that right? I wonder if that could be the culprit, too. There were certain "officially" low carb foods that would make Trix's BGs spike, too...sometimes food is also an ECID thing in this sugar dance.

I hope Doodles finds the lagoon again soon!!
 
Max never got a spike from S&C so I doubt that is the culprit. He will go along fine and then spike for no reason after a long time of doing well though. I think the YAZC might be the cause and possibly a bit delayed reaction to it. I hope you see a slide down soon.
 
How old is is insulin
New vile started a week ago the day he started treading up and also the same day he had acupuncture. We reduced to 1 unit when he was due for an increase because we switched back to SLGS for a few days after me throwing in the wet food towel. Also believe I hit scare tissue a few times in the last week. I also find the huge difference very hard swallow and don't think he's bouncing at all just completely fell out for multiple reasons. Just hope he gets back on track soon and as mentioned I'll take him to the vet early next week if we don't see some improvement.
 
He's had a little YAZC almost all the way through those good numbers, the food isn't as bad as most make it out to be regardless of being dry. Hopefully we're past the dry now though. Going down in dose when he should've went up is a bigger contributor. Just doing our best to get him back down now...
 
I hope you get it all figured out. Sometimes I think it bothers us more than it does them. We are always trying to figure out what is wrong and they just go with the flow.
 
C'mon, depot! Tonight will be 6 cycles of 1.5 so hopefully Doodles gives you some nicer colors :cool::cool::D
Unless he throw me a 40 the increase comes tomorrow morning. It's all good, I have my theory and we'll get him back down. He's a super flat cat and just doesn't do big dives so it takes longer to bring him down.
 
Karen, I know how frustrating it is when they are doing so well and then, BAM! It sounds like you are very analytical and have a handle on the possible whys. Let's hope if you have go up again Doodles will find his well back into regulation. Sending safe low number vines to y'all.:cat:
 
That's awesome that he likes the Stella and Chewy's so much! I have been debating if I should give that a try too. My boys really like variety. And, just in case you haven't seen it Drs. Foster and Smith has it on sale at the moment for 30% off: Stella and Chewy's
 
That's awesome that he likes the Stella and Chewy's so much! I have been debating if I should give that a try too. My boys really like variety. And, just in case you haven't seen it Drs. Foster and Smith has it on sale at the moment for 30% off: Stella and Chewy's
Their sale is $23.99 and I get it for $21.99...thanks for looking out though. My new strategy is not to buy anything in bulk - lol. Even if I have to make multiple trips. The only wet he's eating these days is FF Beef & Liver...he's done with Sheba already.
 
So now I'm wondering.....since his levels jumped up just as you started the new insulin vial.....if it's a bad vial?
I'm wondering how willing the pharmacy where you bought it would be to "exchange" if you told them how much Doodles #s have gone up just since starting the new vial?
 
So now I'm wondering.....since his levels jumped up just as you started the new insulin vial.....if it's a bad vial?
I'm wondering how willing the pharmacy where you bought it would be to "exchange" if you told them how much Doodles #s have gone up just since starting the new vial?

Wish I would've kept the old one instead I tossed it out. It crossed my mind but could that really happen??? Exp date is 2018.
 
Wish I would've kept the old one instead I tossed it out. It crossed my mind but could that really happen??? Exp date is 2018.
I think it could happen. Actually....when I was stressing over Boomer's levels (not too long ago) Marje told me that she did have a bad vial (or pen) once.
 
I called and they said - call the manufacturer they can't do anything but I can always buy a new one.
Hmmm well they weren't too helpful! I wonder what the manufacturer would say. I know how expensive insulin is in the US so just buying another bottle to try it is an expensive option and there may not be a problem with your current bottle.
 
It's probably a very slim chance that it's a bad vial; it's really too bad there isn't a way of testing it's potency.
I might be tempted to pay the vet a visit and have blood/urine work done.
We think alike. I made an appointment for Tuesday next week. She's out today and booked until then. Unless he shows me reasons for an emergency that should be fine. He's acting normal, not as cranky as yesterday. Eating, P&P is fine, appy is good. I did double check with the AT so it's not my meter either. Hopefully we'll see some sign of improvement by next week and we can cancel. Last resort would be to buy a new vile but agree is it's a slim chance! Thanks Judy.
 
Their sale is $23.99 and I get it for $21.99...thanks for looking out though. My new strategy is not to buy anything in bulk - lol. Even if I have to make multiple trips. The only wet he's eating these days is FF Beef & Liver...he's done with Sheba already.
Check the price at Chewy.con as most times it's the best I found.
 
ugh... so sorry for all think Karen... I know how frustrating it is.
Sometime sit seems even tho we are doing everything "right" they still throw us a curve.... hang in there my friend :bighug:
 
Karen - so sorry Doodles is driving you crazy. :bighug: I hate it when there are so many variables to consider. Next time (if there is one), I would consider getting pens instead of a vial. If it's gone off, it's a lot smaller amount to throw out. It is possible that the pharmacy mishandled the vial. I always keep the old cartridge (pen refill) around until I'm positive the new one is fine.

As for food, definitely ECID. I don't know if you could go a day without Stella and Chewy's and see if it made a difference. If it didn't, you'd have eliminated one variable. I had thought the same as Amy when looking at the SS.

And sometimes the cat's insulin needs just varies. A great example is Libby's Lucy's SS. Libby had to go up over 4 units, got down to 1 unit, then had to go up to 4.25U again before Lucy finally "got it".
 
so many variables

I'll work on getting the pens and certainly won't toss the other one again. Trying to stay level headed here and just waiting for a "sign" that the juice is working . Tomorrow morning is another increase, another on Sunday if needed, vet on Tues. If none of those work then new vile. DH is ready to pull out the YAZC again but I keep saying no and not sure we could go without S&C but can try. I'm sick to my stomach and worried about his neuropathy coming back.

Ok, going to breath. Tomorrow is another day.
 
Gave him 2 oz FF @ +4 and walked away after 1/2 oz. Now he's a Stella & Chewy Monster :rolleyes: so for not he's answer the question about not feeding it.
 
Sanofi won't do anything either because Lantus is not approved for pet use.
Did you call them? When I had an issue with that one pen, Novo Nordisk replaced it with an entire new pack of pens and they knew it was for a cat. They sent me a SASE to send back the bad pen.

Or....tell Sanofi it's your insulin. ;)

There can be so many reasons why numbers can start going up: weather changes, insulin, or just needing more insulin for whatever reason. Gracie always seemed to have "seasonal" issues. Jan- Mar were not good months for her BG no matter how we stayed on top of the numbers but then she'd just click in the spring and start churning out great numbers....until winter. Then back to worse patterns.

You just have to avoid getting attached to a dose, take the dose up per the protocol, get him checked out.

Good luck!!!
 
Did you call them? When I had an issue with that one pen, Novo Nordisk replaced it with an entire new pack of pens and they knew it was for a cat
I called Sanofi, spoke with customer service and someone in medical. They would do the replacement for a human but not a cat.

avoid getting attached to a dose
Increased this morning

get him checked out
Do I need to call and get an emergency appointment or is Tuesday OK? Other than his bg's he's acting fine.
 
Did you call them? When I had an issue with that one pen, Novo Nordisk replaced it with an entire new pack of pens and they knew it was for a cat. They sent me a SASE to send back the bad pen.

Or....tell Sanofi it's your insulin. ;)

There can be so many reasons why numbers can start going up: weather changes, insulin, or just needing more insulin for whatever reason. Gracie always seemed to have "seasonal" issues. Jan- Mar were not good months for her BG no matter how we stayed on top of the numbers but then she'd just click in the spring and start churning out great numbers....until winter. Then back to worse patterns.

You just have to avoid getting attached to a dose, take the dose up per the protocol, get him checked out.

Good luck!!!
I suggested the season change the other day--I noticed last weekend many of us L n L folks seemed to have higher numbers or flat number--
interesting that you mentioned that.....
Hang in there Karen.... your not alone :banghead:
 
I called Sanofi, spoke with customer service and someone in medical. They would do the replacement for a human but not a cat.
Increased this morning
Do I need to call and get an emergency appointment or is Tuesday OK? Other than his bg's he's acting fine.
I don't think you need an emergency appt if he seems fine. You know him best so I think it's up to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top