2/3 , AMPS 389/+2 358/+6 310/+8 389 PMPS 390 Help?

Cookee

Member Since 2022
This morning AMPS 410.

Whats happening here? We are up to 3 units AM and 3 Units PM.

So discouraged. We had a single drop yesterday in the low 300, everything else is about 350.

He was doing well on prozinc average was 150 on 2 units….

What kind of doses does everyone else get with Glargine?
 
Hi, when did you start him on Lantus? Was it the PM of 1/30?

The Lantus depot takes a week to build. It does look like Cookee needs more insulin but it's hard to say without any tests in the PM cycle. Many cats go low at night and bounce in the day. Would it possible to get at least one test before bed every night? Just to rule out any lows? If you test only in the AM, you are only seeing half the picture.

If you look at our dosing methods and pick one, we can advise you accordingly:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you are feeding only low carb wet food and can get at least 2 tests per cycle (one preshot and one mid-cycle), I would recommend you follow TR. It will allow you to increase doses as fast as every 3-5 days and get Cookee to a good dose soon.

 
I have been conservative and doing the SLGS due to the lack of testing. I was hesitant to change anything quicker than a week, but with these reading, I feel like its better to get him out of the 300-400 range asap. I would be happy with averages in the low 200 at this point.

Definitely can get a nadir again tonight, I did get one last night +3, did not record it yet 378. I wont have access to the spreadsheet till after 7pm tonight.

Wife is going to do a nadir today likely +5-6
 
Back
Top