2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/39 pmps 465 +3/361

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

punkin was so high this morning - i'm thinking bouncing from yesterday's greens - gave him his shot, usual food, gave him .2 bupe (second dose, every 12 hrs), left 1.5oz of regular LC in the feeder and headed off to work.

the child i work with had "issues" so i was home again by +2.5. checked him just before the feeder opened at +3 and he was 97. i opened a can of 7%, gave him the whole thing - 3oz. he ate that and then more of the LC left by anya. waited 40 minutes and checked him again - 54.

gave him 1oz of HC and will test again at +4.

wondering if this is the bupe and pain relief. and how in the world i will know what to do tomorrow. if my work day hadn't ended early i wouldn't have been home til +4.5 . . . his nadir isn't usually til +5.5ish.

he doesn't want to be held, but he's back to being purry. i'm open to ideas about how to proceed.

eta: after 20 minutes he's at 43. gave him 1oz HC + blop of karo - should i run for the vet or keep trying with carbs?
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 pain relief maybe?

Wow! Nice catch! I have no advice but wanted to say hello. The bupe must be working to lessen Punkin's pain.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 pain relief maybe?

Wow punkin! Way to scare your mommabean. So much for that bounce! :roll:

No advice here, Julie. I'm glad you made it home early today though!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43 advice pls

10 minutes from the 43 - he's at 42. maybe it's not long enough for the karo to kick in yet. i'll test again in 10 more.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43 advice pls

Julie...how far is the vet? I wouldn't mess around, rub more karo on his gums, take it with you and go to the vet. Better safe than sorry!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43 advice pls

thanks!!!

i think it might be stopped - he's at 42 and i'll keep checking. i was just freaking out a bit that i couldn't get him to stop plummeting.

he's had 1 can of med carb and nearly 1 can of HC in the past hour and 40 minutes. i slowed on the HC and added in karo because i was afraid even punkin could fill up and i wouldn't be able to get him to eat.

i'll keep checking.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43 +4.2/39 +4.5 42

So glad you came home!!!! Sending good thoughts your way. Come on Punkin, come up.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43 +4.2/39 +4.5 42

So good that you could get home! I guess things really do happen for a reason! Now, Punkin, you get those numbers back on the rise and stop scaring your momma!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42 +4.75/47

*whew* i think we're fine now. he's at 47, which i'm fine with. the freight train mode was what was scaring me.

nothing happening here. back to our regular programming. :-D :lol:

heehee but for the few minutes we get it, mr green is popping back up on punkin's condo.

thanks for all the checking in. it helps to not be alone. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43 +4.2/39 +4.5 42

Ok, but he's staying quite low, he's not coming up even with the HC+karo. He's your cat, you know him best. I would want/expect to see a rise with all the HC + karo...not a surf. That isn't much room for safety....I would really want to see him out of the 40s, Julie.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42 +4.75/47

i'll check him again in a couple of minutes laurie. i know - he just sucked all those carbs in and kept on going. :shock:

as long as he's not continuing to drop, i'll keep him home. if it starts back down again, though . . .
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42 +4.75/47

I'm with Laurie. PLEASE keep testing every 30 min.. I find with Gabby it takes at least 30 min. for HC to kick in. I'd be much happier seeing Punkin in the 80s -- at least.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57

he's at 57.

don't worry, there's no where i'm going except by my furry purry little friend. when i go to the testing spot, even after all this, he comes over and looks at me. right now he's gone into the kitchen and is waiting for me. purring. what a guy! i need to go give him a reward for yet another poke. think i'll just give him the rest of that can of HC - otherwise i'll end up throwing it out and he loves it.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57

another thought - this could also be more SRT action. that's how it has worked - a sudden drop to the greens as more tumor cells die.

perhaps we'll make the dose adjustment tonight as we've done for the SRT. drop it in half for the subsequent shot to let the shed drain a little, then come back in at a new lower dose in the morning. i wonder what the "new lower dose" should be though. this has taken a lot to stop him this morning and my plan is to continue the bupe from now on.

no way to know exactly what's causing this when he has multiple factors that could be doing it.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57

That's an exciting possiblity! How did you decide on the previous reductions? Do you go with a percentage?
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57

That is an exciting thought. :smile: Punkin sure is a complicated boy. I'm glad you were able to stop that freight train, Julie.
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3/97 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57

we jokingly called it "dialing for doses." first shot after a lower number (we didn't use 50 for punkin, something under 100, but we just looked at the overall trend and decided he needed a decrease) we cut about in half. then we came back up at some amount underneath to go on with.

on 10/31 his am dose was 13.0u. he had a run in the 60's/70's (that was 5 weeks post-SRT) and we gave him 7.0 in the evening and came back up to 12.5 the next morning.

it's just guessing, or perhaps experience-based guessing would be a better term. but i was home full-time at that point to monitor him. now i'm not.

+5.5 75 much better. i think i'll grab some lunch for me now. he's still purring. :-D
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/7

Phew! I am soooo glad you came home. That was quite the punkin freight train!
Liz
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/7

Wow, that was a bit of excitement today! So happy you came home. I have no idea about dose, but you sure do know your cat, to be able to figure all this out. :shock:
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +3.5/54 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/7

Wow! Great catch. So glad you were there with him. Just when you least expect it... How great that you came home early.

Have a great day Julie now that your heart has been jump started!!!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

punkin I know I said get back to the lagoon soon but next time perhaps you could walk don't run!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

Rupert hands his diving crown to Punkin! wow! hoping for nothing but dark greens for you for the rest of the day!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

:shock:
jeepers Punkin!

julie & punkin said:
it's just guessing, or perhaps experience-based guessing would be a better term.
We did a whole lot of that after BKs IAA broke. . .it's nerve jangling to say the least. I would always err on the side of caution with my BCSs, particularly when we were at the higher doses.
If the decision turned out to be too conservative - I had the bottle of R in the fridge. ;-)
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

Yikes! That was too much excitement, Punkin! So glad you were able to be there, Julie! Punkin, settle down now, please!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

Wow, good catch. Maybe your student picked up that Punkin needed you home!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

Wowza, punkin! You must have gotten tall enough for the BIG kid roller coaster! Glad he was giving you some green, Julie, and glad to see you have him back in a place where you can breathe ;-)
 

Attachments

  • roller cat.jpg
    roller cat.jpg
    45.7 KB · Views: 1,475
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

What an amazing day & quite a drop there mr punki!!!!
Holy Carp!!! But what an amazing cycle-WHOOO HOOOOO!!!!
So dont be surprised if the Bounce is substantial!! No worries, this is so great for you!
Great catch ! Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

Yet another nail-biting event in LL! Well done, Julie and Punkin. :-D I am happy happy to see all those green numbers!
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 6/87

Punkin, you plannin' to stay at the lagoon for a while tonight? We can have a nice surf, but not in the 30s and 40s. OK?
Your pal,
Rusty


What a day for you, Julie. Good luck on figuring out what to do next!! Great catch today,

Ella
 
Re: 2/29 punkin amps 390 +4/43-39-42-47 +5/57 +5.5/75 +10/28

Dear Julie and sweet Punkin

I'm so so so so sorry for being so absent. Life has been a little crazy. BUT I finally started my new job, Fiona is done with chemo and doing good, Ollie is settled in life in our house - I've thought about you both soooo much. So I'm just sending some much belated hugs and good wishes and hoping to be much better about checking in here!!!!
xxxxx
patti
 
poor little guy - i can only imagine what his body feels like. he doesn't act like it's bothering him too much, but a day of 390-39-465 in 12 hrs has gotta feel yucky. i got a little skeered and overcarbed him, but he survived and we go on. that's life.

we held the dose to shoot through the bounce and will reduce in the morning. i'm hesitant to go to bed tonight, but will keep track of him.

nice to see you Patti! no worries on anything - glad you've got a new job!
 
Ouch on the bounce! It's a little late now Mr L, where were you when Punkin was imitating a freight train?!

What goes up must come down. Have a great night, Julie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top