2/29 Doodles AMPS 292 +2.5 286 PMPS 250

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 2/29 Doodles is still stuck and off to the vet we go around +5 today. I'm nervous about giving an AB for a mysterious possible infection but guess we'll do it. His WBC 2 weeks ago was 6.7 and well with in the normal range in fact at the low end. I'm still kind of thinking the 2 new viles from the same pharmacy/ lot numbers isn't working. No matter what I feed or how I feed him the numbers have been the same. I feel like a broken record and my condo's must be getting annoying o_O

DH is insisting that his AB be injectable so if I come home with pills we probably will stop speaking for a while. It's been pretty tense around here lately.
 
Sending tons of good vetty vines. I can see where your DH is coming from, but at the same time you don't want to use an AB that's not going to do the trick! So, hopefully the vetty will have a good solution that will work well for ALL of you.
 
Doodles 2/29 Doodles is still stuck and off to the vet we go around +5 today. I'm nervous about giving an AB for a mysterious possible infection but guess we'll do it. His WBC 2 weeks ago was 6.7 and well with in the normal range in fact at the low end. I'm still kind of thinking the 2 new viles from the same pharmacy/ lot numbers isn't working. No matter what I feed or how I feed him the numbers have been the same. I feel like a broken record and my condo's must be getting annoying o_O

DH is insisting that his AB be injectable so if I come home with pills we probably will stop speaking for a while. It's been pretty tense around here lately.
Try not to be nervous.... this is a good thing. Doodles will forgive you (someday lol :rolleyes:)
Seriously... Hoping this vet has passion and wants to find the root cause. I know mystery AB suck but it is often the most accepted route after all the BW has been done -If nothing from the AB they will probably want to do imaging tests (ultra sounds/scans etc....)
I have seen AB work for no reason that makes sense. 1 thing I will say is if doing a AB for mysterious reason I would try to get the most broad spectrum as we have no idea what we are treating. I like Baytril but it is a bit more specific .... I would ask about pre filled syringes of clavamox or whatever else they use for broad spectrum. I am not sure how you feel about convenia as that is probably the first thing they will suggest. If he has never had it I would think twice but many of mine have (rescues and my boys) and they have had no issues but I am hearing some have reacted.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
If you have any hesitation trust your gut:)
 
I'm guessing that pilling Doodles is a problem? I know some cats are quite a bit more difficult to pill than others!
By any chance is there anyone in your area that uses lantus that might allow you 3 or 4 doses of it? I know how expensive Lantus is in the US!
 
I just got this "pill shooter" for Rico-
I have not tried it yet tho but it was like 6$ on amazon with great reviews. So far we don't need it but 1 day we will-:stop:
 
Try not to be nervous.... this is a good thing. Doodles will forgive you (someday lol :rolleyes:)
Seriously... Hoping this vet has passion and wants to find the root cause. I know mystery AB suck but it is often the most accepted route after all the BW has been done -If nothing from the AB they will probably want to do imaging tests (ultra sounds/scans etc....)
I have seen AB work for no reason that makes sense. 1 thing I will say is if doing a AB for mysterious reason I would try to get the most broad spectrum as we have no idea what we are treating. I like Baytril but it is a bit more specific .... I would ask about pre filled syringes of clavamox or whatever else they use for broad spectrum. I am not sure how you feel about convenia as that is probably the first thing they will suggest. If he has never had it I would think twice but many of mine have (rescues and my boys) and they have had no issues but I am hearing some have reacted.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
If you have any hesitation trust your gut:)
At least the AB will rule out one possible reason for Doodle's BGs.
 
I know this is for Karen but I have bought them and they do have a bit of non diabetic friendly ingredients --not sure it would influence that much but mine hated them. They looked at me like "seriously'?:confused::confused:
I've had success and failures with them. I had a cat who managed to eat around the pill lol. But I've never had a serious problem pilling any of my kitties.
 
Try not to be nervous
You do make me feel better...thank you.
sure how you feel about convenia
I have mixed feelings. She mentioned it and agreed that many don't like it but has not had any issues with it. Basically I'll have to trust her and DH is tired of me trying to play doctor.
clavamox or whatever else they use for broad spectrum
I see it comes in a liquid that you mix with water and food....at least that what I read from the first google :)
 
this is interesting....
I am not going to say it is good or bad but as I said I have used it with good results-
I had a rescue that actually got it 2x a month---if we went longer she had terrible skin irritation. Ran tons of tests and nothing showed even a fungus test. BW was normal.
From what I understand it is best for skin conditions but for many cats pilling is not a option. I am able to pill my boys but if I wasn't (Rico :confused:) He would get a shot-
AND STOP looking at google!! you will go insane!!!!
 
Karen

Gus got Covenia injection about year ago for possible UTI and he tolerated it well. Since than I discovered dr Lisa's post and freaked out. Every time there was talk about AB I would refuse covenia injection and request different AB and question the vet about safety of the injection. All responses were I use it in may practice and had not have case of bad reaction. But I still was not convinced and refused it until I started to search for more info. It was only one vet cited possible adverse reactions dr Lisa and I was unable to find another independant vet or a person.
 
Good luck at the vet.

If you are really worried about the insulin, can you ask your vet about skipping a shot or two and seeing what happens? Maybe that isn't a good idea, but even if you halved the dose, it should make a difference. Dunno...
 
Max has been given Convenia twice in the last few years. The first time was after a dental. The last time was when he seemed in distress. Still I am afraid to use it only because should there be a reaction there is no way to reverse it. For example, I know cats that have had serotonin syndrome from murtazapine but at least cyproheptadine can cure it. When I asked my vet about an antibiotic in case Max has a kidney infection, he mentioned Convenia, but I refused it. He hasn't had a fatal reaction in his practice, at least that he knows about. The vet on the lymphoma list also believes it is useful and the "hysteria" unfounded. Just my two cents.
 
We're back. Doodles has lost a 1/2 oz since January 25th probably because his numbers are so high. It's certainly not from lack of eating as his appy has been good. We went ahead with the Covenia shot and will be holding his dose unless a reduction (HAHA) is earned of course. This way if the AB does kick in and he starts coming down I can catch him. If it does nothing and no improvement we'll be switching to Levemir in 2 weeks.

Thank you for all the vines and prayers! This bean is exhausted from anxiety so going to try and lay down for a bit. :bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad you are done with that and can get some rest. Let's hope that shot will do the trick and that Doodles will be feeling great and throwing you some green in no time.

Begin Rant :)
The scientist in me insists on standing up and saying we do not know if Doodles lost 1/2 ounce! Not only are scales not likely to be accurate or reproducible to that level, but even if they are, there are way too many things that could change his weight by that much and more that do not really qualify as weight loss. I don't know what Doodles weighs, but lets say 10 pounds = 160 ounces. 1/2 ounce is like a TB of water, and would be 5/1600 or 0.3% of his body weight if he weighed 10 pounds! He could have peed more, drunk less, or even shed hair and get 1/2 ounce difference. The humidity or temperature in the office could be different than last time. It really is just not significant, so don't worry about it. If this happened every week for weeks, that would be different. I seem to detect you might be a worrier so I wanted to mention that. :p
Okay, end rant. (Can you tell this is one of my pet peeves?)
 
You do make me feel better...thank you.

I have mixed feelings. She mentioned it and agreed that many don't like it but has not had any issues with it. Basically I'll have to trust her and DH is tired of me trying to play doctor.

I see it comes in a liquid that you mix with water and food....at least that what I read from the first google :)

Clavamox is a suspension so you mix the entire bottle which usually the vet does. Then draw doses when you need it. Haven't used it in a long time though. Actually just threw a bottle of it out that expired in 2004.!!! How it wasn't thrown when we moved I don't know.
 
FWIW, convenia does make ME nervous, but one of my business partners just used with one of her cats who had a mystery infection, too (he was lethargic, not eating, etc), and it does seem to have helped him - he is much better now. It will be interesting to see what happens with Doodles' numbers. C'mon, Doodles....you can do it!!
 
I'm too late to send best wishes for the vet visit seeing it's already happened, but paws crossed that the Convenia does something... anything... to show a difference in Mr Doodles. Hope the household calms down a bit :bighug:
 
I'm glad you are done with that and can get some rest. Let's hope that shot will do the trick and that Doodles will be feeling great and throwing you some green in no time.

Begin Rant :)
The scientist in me insists on standing up and saying we do not know if Doodles lost 1/2 ounce! Not only are scales not likely to be accurate or reproducible to that level, but even if they are, there are way too many things that could change his weight by that much and more that do not really qualify as weight loss. I don't know what Doodles weighs, but lets say 10 pounds = 160 ounces. 1/2 ounce is like a TB of water, and would be 5/1600 or 0.3% of his body weight if he weighed 10 pounds! He could have peed more, drunk less, or even shed hair and get 1/2 ounce difference. The humidity or temperature in the office could be different than last time. It really is just not significant, so don't worry about it. If this happened every week for weeks, that would be different. I seem to detect you might be a worrier so I wanted to mention that. :p
Okay, end rant. (Can you tell this is one of my pet peeves?)
so this means I may have lost 5 pounds?;)
 
Karen, sending thoughts of comfort to you and sweet Doodles. May he feel better and may you get some much needed rest from what has likely worn you to your core. Hugs from me and Latte.
 
Thank you Kari, you are always in my thoughts and prayers. Extra smoothes for Latte from us too.
We will gladly take them. She is getting her vocalization back. Much needed around here to break up the silence. Mocha was not a talker but when she played. Latte has so much more to say apparently. She still goes in and out of grief. She is a blessing to have around...she relates to my loss and I hers. Pray tomorrow is better for sweet Doodles and you Karen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top