pjstroop
Active Member
Hello LL!
WCR: Tired... grumpy... What more can I say! He was feeling so good yesterday and now is back down again.. Right now he is spread out on the dining room table sunning his pancreas. Hope it helps! He also started biting and itching at himself last night.. Guess the new antihistamine isn't working anymore.. :? He still has a real good appetite.. and is not drinking water.. so that is a good sign.
I know that we have lost regulation completely and we are working it like we are back at square one..(almost two years ago). Tank.. Tank.. Tank..
Health update: He has been on antibiotics and the new antistamine for 9 days now **sigh** I thought that we had started seeing some improvement last Friday evening and that he was just hanging out in RBC for a couple days. However, the last few cycles are very flat and high.. and of course I am stalking him for a ketone check due to the high numbers.. Ladle is ready!
Tilly says:
if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).
Question??? Should I be increasing Pepper's insulin by .25 (not a drop.. like I have been doing)? Or, is he considered a higher dose kitty (currently on 2.0f units) and I should be increasing by .50 units? Just dont want to keep him in the higher numbers due to the health risks.. kwim.. and want to make sure that by being the tank that I am also increasing dose the right way.
Thanks for any suggestions!
Off to
WCR: Tired... grumpy... What more can I say! He was feeling so good yesterday and now is back down again.. Right now he is spread out on the dining room table sunning his pancreas. Hope it helps! He also started biting and itching at himself last night.. Guess the new antihistamine isn't working anymore.. :? He still has a real good appetite.. and is not drinking water.. so that is a good sign.
I know that we have lost regulation completely and we are working it like we are back at square one..(almost two years ago). Tank.. Tank.. Tank..
Health update: He has been on antibiotics and the new antistamine for 9 days now **sigh** I thought that we had started seeing some improvement last Friday evening and that he was just hanging out in RBC for a couple days. However, the last few cycles are very flat and high.. and of course I am stalking him for a ketone check due to the high numbers.. Ladle is ready!
Tilly says:
if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).
Question??? Should I be increasing Pepper's insulin by .25 (not a drop.. like I have been doing)? Or, is he considered a higher dose kitty (currently on 2.0f units) and I should be increasing by .50 units? Just dont want to keep him in the higher numbers due to the health risks.. kwim.. and want to make sure that by being the tank that I am also increasing dose the right way.
Thanks for any suggestions!
Off to
