2/28 Mike's Buddy PMPS#326 +4 206 +7 96 +8 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
Well, theres that 300 stuff again. He is so good about getting tested and being given shots, I love this guy! :-D

Given 1.25u and is now chowing down on some FF beef. So patient he is about waiting to eat after he is given his insulin, I should have that kind of patients. :smile:

So question for the pros; Should we increase another .25 or do one more shot?
 
Wow, a nice surprise over the last eight hours. Have not tested yet since this morning. Doctors appointment and then a flat tire..Arg! Now a migraine wants to intervene with the day. Well, at least Bud's numbers were decent this morning.
 
Looking great, Buddy! Sorry you seem to have caught the migraine that the LL'ers have been passing around for the past week! Hope you can get some rest and it passes soon!
 
Hi Mike, nice numbers overnight! It looks like Buddy refilled the shed and cleared the bounce. Sorry about the migraine, no fun! I see you are wondering about a dose increase...could you update your SS please so people can see what Buddy has been up to for the last couple of cycles?

A little housekeeping....I'm a pest, sorry! We post a link to our previous condo in the first post of our new condo, it makes it easier to go back and see what has been going on previously. Here's the link to your last condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37747 Also, we open one new condo per day, not one for each shot. We usually start with the AMPS and when we get to PMPS, we go back to the first post and take out the AMPS info and put in the PMPS info...that way, each day is all in one condo. I know your schedule is different, you shoot your PMPS very early in the AM hours...but for ease of understanding, I would consider that part of the previous day since you are calling it a PMPS, not an AMPS, does that make sense? I think some of your questions have been missed since your condos aren't linked together and you are starting new condos twice a day, so following these suggestions will help you get answers.

Mike&Buddy said:
I have a free feed gang, but as for Buddy I wanted to know about the food before test routine. What has been the best routine you have done before a shot? Do you feed two hours before or more, less? I always thought it was best for Buddy to feed 2 hours before a shot, do you think or should be more or less since his numbers tend to hang around the pinks of late? It's just a thought here and I wanted to see if it would make a difference or not on his pre-shot check numbers and show maybe something different on his checks before each shot. Since Buddy may eat just before I get home at night I was wondering if maybe there might be a pattern difference? Example; he decides to finish off what is left in the bowl a hour before I got home. Would it really throw the pre-shot reading off much?

Also, the internet and phone company gave me a break on the fees, Yay! I may go another week or so and catch up..maybe!
I saw this question in your last condo. The short answer is yes, it can make a difference in the PS #s if he is eating close to shot time. You may notice that some of us feed most (or all) of the food early in the cycle, before nadir. Once you get past nadir, the insulin's effect is waning, so food usually helps push the numbers up more quickly, leading to higher PS numbers. (The exception to that is if a kitty has a functioning pancreas, in that case, the food helps bring numbers down.) It's always suggested to not feed within 2 hours before shot time, because the number you get at PS is food influenced. With all of that said, if you are free feeding, and you are not home to pick up the food, it's going to be hard to make sure he doesn't eat late in the cycle! You will just have to do the best you can. Many people (including me) use timed feeders to deal with this problem. You can have it open at preset times so you can control when Buddy is eating, and some feeders allow you to set them to close at a certain time to make sure he doesn't have access to food after a certain hour.

Glad to hear the internet/phone company is giving you a break!
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Mike, nice numbers overnight! It looks like Buddy refilled the shed and cleared the bounce. Sorry about the migraine, no fun! I see you are wondering about a dose increase...could you update your SS please so people can see what Buddy has been up to for the last couple of cycles?

A little housekeeping....I'm a pest, sorry! We post a link to our previous condo in the first post of our new condo, it makes it easier to go back and see what has been going on previously. Here's the link to your last condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37747 Also, we open one new condo per day, not one for each shot. We usually start with the AMPS and when we get to PMPS, we go back to the first post and take out the AMPS info and put in the PMPS info...that way, each day is all in one condo. I know your schedule is different, you shoot your PMPS very early in the AM hours...but for ease of understanding, I would consider that part of the previous day since you are calling it a PMPS, not an AMPS, does that make sense? I think some of your questions have been missed since your condos aren't linked together and you are starting new condos twice a day, so following these suggestions will help you get answers.

I saw this question in your last condo. The short answer is yes, it can make a difference in the PS #s if he is eating close to shot time. You may notice that some of us feed most (or all) of the food early in the cycle, before nadir. Once you get past nadir, the insulin's effect is waning, so food usually helps push the numbers up more quickly, leading to higher PS numbers. (The exception to that is if a kitty has a functioning pancreas, in that case, the food helps bring numbers down.) It's always suggested to not feed within 2 hours before shot time, because the number you get at PS is food influenced. With all of that said, if you are free feeding, and you are not home to pick up the food, it's going to be hard to make sure he doesn't eat late in the cycle! You will just have to do the best you can. Many people (including me) use timed feeders to deal with this problem. You can have it open at preset times so you can control when Buddy is eating, and some feeders allow you to set them to close at a certain time to make sure he doesn't have access to food after a certain hour.

Glad to hear the internet/phone company is giving you a break!

Updated Bud SS, will be shooting in about 30 minutes. I just got up form a nap, gesssh what a morning this has been and this headache still is lingering. And then I have to go deal with work. I think this is a typical Monday blues. I will try to figure out the condo posts, my multi-tasking skills are being taxed of late but thank you for pointing that out. As for posting PMs in the wee AMs should I make a note of it for others or post (in reverse?)...

Thank you!
Thank you!
 
I would hold the dose for now, he's seeing some greens. He will likely bounce from the lower numbers overnight.

If you need help with linking the condos, post and ask, ok? I'm not sure I understand the other question about the PM shots and posting in reverse?
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
You did fine! You shot the same dose, 1.25u, right? When I said hold the dose, I meant that you should keep the same dose for now.

Oh, whew!! Thanks! Yes, same dose....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top