2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak --

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37727 Yesterday

Morning! This AMPS is Cowboy Cookout food influenced! Now I know that the Merrick Cowboy Cookout does raise her bg! Does anyone else feed this particular food and notice the same? The carbs are fairly low, but I believe it's the ingredients. I can always use it as a mc or hc food. All P's in place this morning plus no Chatty Kathy this morning, so possibly she's back with Karrie and Maverick! I found her mouse on a pole toy strung across the kitchen floor when I got up, so possibly when I didn't get up, she placed it where I would see it when I make coffee. I have two am appts., one being the physical therapy for the neck osteoarthritis, so I'll visit some condos and then catch up this afternoon. I never thought I would be so looking forward to pt, but am staying positive that it will help.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158 ATrak

OMG was Chattie Kathy here? ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile If I could see her, I'd strangle her.

Good luck with PT!!!!!!!! Hope it provides you with some relief Ann. Maverick won't touch the cowboy cookout. I can't remember who said it increased their kitties numbers now though.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158 ATrak

Hope pt helps you a lot--I have same & RA so I understand your discomfort!
Look at that nice AMPS today!! Hope you see some green-Hugs! Feel better!
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158 ATrak

Thanks Karrie, me, too! I really think we should pass Chatty Kathy onto some others so they can enjoy her! :lol:

Thank you so much Roni. I think Maggie will see green today as her numbers were influenced by the Merrick Cowboy Cookout. Sienne thinks a fat .50 may help her numbers more, so maybe tonight after we see her numbers.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158 ATrak

Karrie and Maverick said:
Even with the numbers being alphatrak numbers?

Hi Karrie, yes, my thought, too with the fattened dose. With the Relion her numbers would be much lower. I'll check with Sienne later in the day. I wonder if it would help if I used both meters. I thought her numbers were nice on the AT, but she doesn't get below 70 to earn a decrease. She has gotten a couple low 70's though! I'm one that doesn't like the real low #'s. I have to review the protocol for the AT. I've been going by the Queensland protocol with a section there on the AT.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158; +1 130 ATrak

I have not tried Cowboy Cookout for Putty although I bought a few cans....I think I was afraid it would raise his bg also.
Looking good Maggie. :mrgreen:


Good luck with your pt appt.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158; +1 130; +6 79 ATrak

+6 at 79
Maggie came down nicely while I was gone. I was a little worried as I knew I'd be gone all morning, and she usually has an early Nadir. I did the regular half unit. I left food, and most of it was gone upon returning.

Hi Miriam, I can tell you for sure that the Merrick Cowboy Cookout does raise her bg, so it might be nice to use as a mc carb food when needed. I believe, but not sure, that Michelle and Mannie said it also raised Mannie's bg. There are some other Merrick BG (before grain) foods that are much better for our kitties. Maggie sometimes likes the Chicken bg 1 Merick. So far I can only find it at Petco stores here.


PT went really well, and I think it's going to help. After the evaluation I had cervical traction which will help the nerve root pressure in the neck, heat packs and massage. It was an easy session the first time. Next time will be some exercises.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158; +1 130; +6 79 ATrak

So glad that your PT went well, Ann! I'm so happy to hear that it appears it will help with your condition (aka "not jazz hands." :lol: ).

Maggie is looking great today! Hope the dose adjustments work! I haven't tried the Cowboy Cookout yet... we just opened a can of Thanksgiving Dinner (12%) to get Willie's numbers up this morning (mixed 50/50 with raw), and he seems to like it pretty well. We've got Grammy's Pot Pie too!

Enjoy the rest of your day!
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie AMPS 158; +1 130; +6 79 ATrak

Hi Ann and Maggie! You are looking good today little one.

Affirmative on the Cowboy Cookout. It does raise Mannie's BG, not alot, but enough that I do notice. He loves it, but I don't always feed it to him. I will feed it if we have a low PS # and want him up a smidge, or if I need something to help slow a drop. Mannie really does like the Merrick line - Grammie's Pot Pie is a favorite, but as with the CC it's only fed when his numbers are low, or the drop is a little fast. I've used the Merrick BG line too - he likes them just as well, and I think (??) they are in the 2-3% range. It's the same here: only Petco carries them.

have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak Dose Question

AMPS 158
+1 130
+6 79
PMPS 106

Question for Sienne or anyone else who has advice/thoughts. Maggie's numbers are very good today. The AMPS is Cowboy Cookout food spike, but she came down nicely when I was gone all morning with lc food left for her. She wasn't the best eater this morning. Sienne asked my thoughts on fattening the dose, but I'm not sure with the numbers she had today. I've had three 70's on different days, but they were mid 70's. She was so hungry that I took her PMPS early, as any number after this will be food influenced. I think she may have gone under 70, but I may have not caught it, or I gave hc because I had to leave and missed one by being gone. I'm probably not making much sense here, so congrats if you can understand it. :?
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak Dose Question

Wonder what impact not feeding the cowboy cookout would have also. Were you just feeding this once per day or more?
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak Dose Question

Hi Karrie, I just did it after her PMPS so she wouldn't drop and I could catch some sleep. I had to get thru two appointments this morning. I normally don't feed it every day. Once I noticed it spiking her bg previously, I stopped using it.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak -- Dose Question

Hi, Ann & Maggie..
Looking good as always..
I dunno bout the dose question & the ATrak leaves me @-)
I know the one meter that is low (from my experience) is the Advocate..
I use the Relion & like it a lot. Good luck with any dosecrease!
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak Dose Question

Ann & Maggie11 said:
AMPS 158
+1 130
+6 79
PMPS 106

Question for Sienne or anyone else who has advice/thoughts. Maggie's numbers are very good today. The AMPS is Cowboy Cookout food spike, but she came down nicely when I was gone all morning with lc food left for her. She wasn't the best eater this morning. Sienne asked my thoughts on fattening the dose, but I'm not sure with the numbers she had today. I've had three 70's on different days, but they were mid 70's. She was so hungry that I took her PMPS early, as any number after this will be food influenced. I think she may have gone under 70, but I may have not caught it, or I gave hc because I had to leave and missed one by being gone. I'm probably not making much sense here, so congrats if you can understand it. :?


Hi Ann

I have early morning thoughts! :-D ~O)
my thoughts are, the 70's you have are a bit spread out - does that make a difference? It may...I'm wondering if they need to be a little closer together, I'm not too sure about that.
I see you do some follow up after you see numbers in the 70's - keep doing that - try testing within the hour (if you're home of course) just to see how long Maggie hangs in the 70's.
And of course if you do go with the fat, as suggested yesterday, it may be better when you know you can be home and monitor a bit.
Hope that helps.
have a good day!
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak -- Dose Question

I have early morning thoughts!
my thoughts are, the 70's you have are a bit spread out - does that make a difference? It may...I'm wondering if they need to be a little closer together, I'm not too sure about that.
I see you do some follow up after you see numbers in the 70's - keep doing that - try testing within the hour (if you're home of course) just to see how long Maggie hangs in the 70's.
And of course if you do go with the fat, as suggested yesterday, it may be better when you know you can be home and monitor a bit.
Hope that helps.
have a good day!

Morning Ronnie & Luna,
Thanks for your thoughts. Yes, probably the 70's do need to be closer together, and when I do see a 70 or lower number, I do keep monitoring. After some indecision, I went with the regular half unit last night, as I figured it would be better to err on the side of caution. That helps and have a nice day.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak -- Dose Question

My thinking was that you've got both pre-shot and mid-cycle numbers that are above 150. I think there's some room to bring the entire level down.
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak -- Dose Question

Sienne and Gabby said:
My thinking was that you've got both pre-shot and mid-cycle numbers that are above 150. I think there's some room to bring the entire level down.

Thanks Sienne, I see. This week is busy with appointments. On a day when I know I'll be home to monitor, I'll fatten her up, I mean the dose - Maggie is fluffy enough! :smile:
 
Re: 2/28 Maggie PMPS 106 ATrak -- Dose Question

Just wondering if you feed her at the same times each day and night.....and if you are feeding her 4 hours before the preshot times or if it is closer. If you feed within 2 hours, that might not be enough time to bring the numbers down Ann.
If you are leaving a good 4 hours between the last snack and the preshot, then maybe a tiny bit more juice will bring her preshots down as Sienne said...
Experimenting with the time of the meals is a fun thing for you in your spare time! :lol: See if the +8 snack works to bring her down, or it you move it to +7 if that gives you lower numbers. Food timing and dose amount will adjust those higher numbers...
Sometimes, we have to go up in dose in order to come down. It usually takes a little bit of time on a higher dose and then a dosecrease is earned...
 
Hi ya Pat,
No, usually there is not a four hour time lapse between food and her pre-shot, so these numbers may be part food influenced. I think I will start experimenting with the three and four hour withholding of food. Boy am I ever going to get the sad face look from Maggie. I'll just have to hide in another room. Thanks and have a nice day.
 
Maggie is fluffy enough!
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Do you have to fit that food that you'd normally feed later into the other feedings?

You'll have to post a feed me I'm starving picture. I posted one of Maverick when we withheld food for shot time. It was hard. He failed the trial though by not eating enough earlier on, so I never get the starving face.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top