2/28 Mac AMPS 344 +3 280 +6 222 PMPS 118 +4 149

jillnc1

Member Since 2022
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko

I didn't expect Mac to fall this far today given no shot for last night's cycle.

I was committed to shooting tonight but I wasn't expecting PMPS to be this low. I am wondering if I should just go with .25 or skip again.

There is a chance his pancreas is doing better and kicking some in that it wasn't before.

looking for some advice. Need to shoot in next 15-30 minutes.
 
I guess based on these guidelines I should not given anything again. Ketones are good at .4.
If I don't hear otherwise I will skip again based on these guidelines.

A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketonesin the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher. Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide."
 
Last edited:
Can you get a test please? I assume it was just LC food? One of the suggestions when you get a lower than usual preshot is to stall (don't feed) and retest in 20 minutes to see if the number is coming up on its own.
 
Jill, im super late to the party, but just wanted to let you know that Lando had a continuous big drop once he got off his old food and was on LC only in the very very beginning. perhaps that is what is happening with Mac? It could also be that hes not getting enough calories in him. lets see if any of the more experienced folks weigh in.
 
Since he has had a diet change and you had to skip, I am going to suggest you reduce his dise to .75 in the morning and see if that will allow you to shoot twice a day without worrying about low preshots.

As Christie mentioned, the first thing to do if you have a lower than usual preshot bg is to stall, DON’T FEED, and check the bg in 20-30 minuteness to see if heading up enough to shoot.
 
Last edited:
Jill, im super late to the party, but just wanted to let you know that Lando had a continuous big drop once he got off his old food and was on LC only in the very very beginning. perhaps that is what is happening with Mac? It could also be that hes not getting enough calories in him. lets see if any of the more experienced folks weigh in.
Yes if that makes a difference he is getting calories but probably not his full requirement due to hand feeding.
 
Since he has had a diet change and you had to skip, I am going to suggest you reduce his dise to .75 in the morning and see if that will allow you to shoot twice a day without worrying about low preshots.

As Christie mentioned, the first thing tondi if you have a lower than usual preshot bg is to stall, DON’T FEED, and check the bg in 20-30 minuteness to see if heading up enough to shoot.
OK thanks for that advice. I will add to my knowledge base.

I like your idea of .75 and try to do twice tomorrow. I will do a +11 tomorrow in case it's low again and need help. that will give folks more time to respond. Just didn't expect it for today. Thank you!
 
OK thanks for that advice. I will add to my knowledge base.

I like your idea of .75 and try to do twice tomorrow. I will do a +11 tomorrow in case it's low again and need help. that will give folks more time to respond. Just didn't expect it for today. Thank you!
Good. By the time I saw the post it was too late. It’s a safe number to shoot but will require monitoring. Will he eat on his own? He might need hc tonight so don’t feed a lot at a time.
 
what would it need to be to have him "earn" the reduction? Just curious.
With SLGS he earns a reduction by dropping under 90. When you find you are needing to skip or shoot a token dose it’s a sign he’s getting too much insulin at the moment.
 
Since you didn't shoot tonight, I'd still check again before bed, although the skip last night already disturbed the depot, so you likely won't have much in terms of action. Hope his appy improves.
 
since diagnosed 2/10/2022 he has:

- switched to LC Wet food from full dry diet
- gotten off of 5mg daily prednisolone he had been on for over 12 months
 
Since you didn't shoot tonight, I'd still check again before bed, although the skip last night already disturbed the depot, so you likely won't have much in terms of action. Hope his appy improves.
Yes I will check later tonight like I did last night. I suspect AMPS will be in 300's again. I don't like using the depot up as I know that's what smooths the curve.
 
What higher carbs do you have? I’m glad you joined the pancreatitis board. Maureen and Stacey are really smart.
I have some 23%. Some Science Diet Sensitive Stomach wet.

I want to feed him more tonight. Since I didn't give a shot do you think it could still go down? Last night it went up into 200's by +3.
 
I didn't see the history but I hope you gradually reduced/discontinued the pred over a period of time. It's not good to stop altogether.
It was more abrupt than I expected to be and it was recommended by the vet. She wanted him off to see if that would keep him from having to go on insulin.

What would be side effects of going off too fast as I thought it was but the vet advised it? Thanks
 
I have some 23%. Some Science Diet Sensitive Stomach wet.

I want to feed him more tonight. Since I didn't give a shot do you think it could still go down? Last night it went up into 200's by +3.

No I misunderstood and thought you shot when I saw 1 in the units but that was for tomorrow. It would be good to have a food around 10-15% as well. If needed you can add a little karo or honey to lc to make mc until you get mc food.
 
No I misunderstood and thought you shot when I saw 1 in the units but that was for tomorrow. It would be good to have a food around 10-15% as well. If needed you can add a little karo or honey to lc to make mc until you get mc food.
So tonight I can feed him more of his regular LC correct? I have the Karo and I think some MC too, but need to doublecheck. I went to Pet Smart and tried to buy various LC, MC and HC. I bought a bunch of stuff to try and to have on hand. Trying to get him to like something. Thanks again!!!
 
Thanks! That is my goal Mar 1 AMPS only 254
I know but he might have other ideas. Don’t be surprised if .75 is also too much. If it is that’s a good thing.

Please start a new thread for today if you haven’t already. I haven’t looked.
 
I know but he might have other ideas. Don’t be surprised if .75 is also too much. If it is that’s a good thing.

Please start a new thread for today if you haven’t already. I haven’t looked.
Just posted today's now that I had +3. Thanks again for your advice and help.
 
Back
Top