2/28 Lincoln AMPS 83, +2 182, +5 238, +9 380, PMPS 358, +4 90, +5 59, +6 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lincolns Mom

Member Since 2016
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-27-lincoln-amps-286-3-349-5-342-9-362-pmps-347-2-281-3-211.173953/]2/27

Long night up with Lincoln... but kept him safe.. holding on to green this morning...

Question... i know its better to hold the same dose but what if i shot 7.25 in the AM and 7 in the PM wouldnt the depot be somewhere inbetween?? we know 7 isnt enough for him and 7.25 likes to take him into water with the sharks... just a thought

Miss Savannah slept with me when i got an hour here and there last night... and this morning was grumpy after meds... put her in the litter box and got her to pee... and then she went under my couch again... i came out from taking care of Lincoln and she was out... and under the couch on the sheet was another big pudding poo... but this one has a bunch of hair in it!!! and her tummy doesnt feel as pushed out and hard after!!! hoping this means we were actually able to help her pass the hairball!!! will continue to watch over her and hoping she goes back to a firmer poop but this morning happy to see what i saw even in my sleep deprived state lol

Hope this finds everyone in a good place this morning and our little Kitties doing well and keeping safe[/URL]
 
Nice numbers for Lincoln last night. I hope he keeps surfing today. It's not a good idea to shoot different doses at AMPS and PMPS because the depot will constantly be adjusting. When you shoot the lower dose, the depot will drain and then when you shoot the higher dose, part of that goes to refill the depot. do you have any calipers? You can try and in between dose and that will make it easier to measure and be consistent.

I hope Savvy got rid of the hairball. Sending prayers.
 
To my knowledge giving two different doses will only cause wonky numbers as Lantus craves consistency. However, there are other protocols for Lantus used outside of the one followed here. I'm not sure how you can continue to be up all night long like that though. Maybe try a fat 7u?

Glad to hear Savvy may have passed the hairball and hope she feels better soon.
 
thats my concern too Karen... i dont know how long i can keep this up... thats why i asked about the two dosages... he isnt surfing but keeps dropping and i have to test and feed more to keep him up... i will try just a 7F tonight... i long the greens for him but i need more then 30mins sleep at a time
 
I second the suggestion on calipers. I don't know if you are using the BD's, assume so cause it's what we have. But I found the zero line was all over the place, as much as 1/2 unit from syringe to syringe. Some kitties are very sensitive to small dose changes and it's much easier with calipers to dial a consistent in between dose.

I do feel for you and the constant overnight. Neko did that to me for three months in a row. I was desperate, tried everything. Finally even switched to Lev, which seemed to help a bit.

Still giggling at you being happy to see poo under the couch.:p
 
@Wendy&Neko yes they are BD ultra-fine II 3/10 ml cc do you still have the math on doing this with calipers?? my dad has calipers i can borrow them if i ask

and yes i laughed at the being happy to see poo under the couch too :rolleyes:
 
I used 1.5 mm per unit on the BD's, some people used 1.4 mm. Not really important that you use the same as me but rather are consistent between doses. The way I figured it out was to select several "good" syringes, then measure 10 units on them. Take the average and divide by 10 to get the one unit amount.

You can buy calipers at Canadian Tire. My DH got me mine at the local metal tool store for a better price.
 
got calipers and apparently what i thought was 7.25 is more like a skinny 7.5... so now that i know what 7.25 is supposed to look like going to try that for a while... feeling a little dumb right now... thank you all for suggesting the calipers
 
I've thought of using callipers before but I read the instructions and I was totally confused/overwhelmed. :rolleyes:o_O
I'm happy to hear that Savvy passed the fur ball that was upsetting her. Funny on the under-the-couch poo that made you so happy!
Lincoln, can you give your Bean a break and do your greens during the day please?
 
gravy plus a drop of honey and a few crushed temptations given to slow down the drop and hopefully start a surf...

that said... i go to get his bring me up dish ready... im tired... which makes me clumsy... so of course i drop the open bag of temptations... i am sure i got them all but Lincoln jumped down likes its Christmas... i think he looked really disappointed that i cleaned them up so fast on him... would have been one way to get sleep lol
 
Lincoln, you silly cat! Why must you do your lagoon visiting at night? What's so great about a moonlight swim, anyway? You are being very hard on your loving mamabean. Beans are not nocturnal like cats are you know (well, some of us are). Please confine your diving practise to daylight hours.

Before having cats, who would have ever thought finding poo would make us so happy? :rolleyes::p I'm glad Savannah seems to be doing better. Sending vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top