2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMBG 90 +3 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hi again! Chyna is not interested in eating this morning and seems a bit grumpy, she keeps trying to hide and licks her lips so she must be in pain, although she does want petting when I do. Shes been peeing but I don't see poo yet. Preening a bit last night. Still purring when petted and a bit sleepy, which is probably from the painkiller? I gave her the bupe half an hour ago. I think I need to give her insulin, it looks like she is rising now, but do I just do a partial shot since I won't be home and I don't know if anesthesia is out of her system? Especially since she won't have her breakfast. Forti flora didn't work...I'm going to try parm cheese on another bit of food now:( Yesterday:

Chyna 2/27
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMPS 121 dose?

The bupe can be constipating. I'd make sure you're adding water to Chyna's food -- and maybe a little bit of oil or butter may help, too.

The anesthesia should be out of her system. Can you get another test? I'd like to see if Chyna's numbers are rising. I do think maybe a reduced dose if you can't get a test after you shoot may be wise. However, if Chyna doen't eat before you leave, I might skip.
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122

She's still not eating. I do add water to her food and have been adding a bit extra lately. Is Canola Oil ok? I only have that and margarine in the fridge. I did give her a bit of petroleum jelly, just a tiny amount though. I'll try do another test now, if she will sit still, I barely got the one earlier...

EDIT:
She went up 1 point, to 122...now she's laying there all sad looking. I guess no shot, since I have to leave soon:(
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMPS 121 dose?

Petroleum jelly is fine as is a bit of canola oil. It's not a for sure re. the constipation but just something to keep in mind. Any of the opiate-type painkillers can cause constipation.
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Not eating...

I would also put a call in to your vet. Was Chyna put on antibiotics after the dental? If not, there's always the chance of an infection.
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Not eating...

She's on antibiotics before and after. Although I can't get her to take it this morning either, tuna juice didn't work so I'm trying other ways...I called in late to work but do have to leave asap.
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Not eating...

oh chyna feel better
healing is a process, have faith in her lil sytem. hopefully she will eat when you get home from work.
sending eating vines.
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Not eating...

Definitely talk to your vetty...the AB could also becausing Chyna's appy issues. My civvie, Petey, had a dental several weeks ago, and the vet put him on Clavamox for a few days prior; after just two doses, he completely stopped eating (actually, I could tell he was starting to feel crummy after just one dose). We took him off the Clavamox after the second dose and he started eating again about 12 hours later. The vet ultimately ended up giving him a shot of penicillin (sp??) after the procedure, and he had no further appy issues.

Sending may "feel better" vines to sweet Chyna!!
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Not eating...

She did eat overnight, so hopefully this is just constipation. I guess with the kidney issues I just found out about that could cause appy to be off too, or the missing 4 teeth. Maybe I'm just a super worry wart, they did tell me she may be a bit grumpy and sleepy, and off on her appetite.

She was feeling super on the same antibiotic for the week before the dental, the day of they gave her a different one during surgery and then yesterday they had her back on the same one from the week before, don't remember the name at the moment. I will be home at lunchtime to see if she's eaten or is acting a bit better...or pooped, and then call the vetty if not. I sure do appreciate all the advice and support :-D
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Not eating...

My cat didn't respond well to pain medications. She felt so off ( and overstimulated- big eyes, drooling, pacing) that she didn't eat
or sleep. Just another possibility. Ask your vet...

or just a combo from all she's been thru.
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Not eating...

Sending fell better and appy vines to Chyna. The lip licking can be a sign of nausea, which is not unusual after anesthesia. Pepcid AC often helps, check w/ your vet.
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 Ate a bit.

Home for lunch, and Chyna ate a tiny bit (the 1/8 can with an ice cube of water that had a bit of canola oil in it, but not the dish with the 1/4 can breakfast with fortiflora). Still no poo but she did pee and seems much happier and affectionate, purring and rubbing. I put out some more food 1/4 can that she ate a bit of, hopefully she will eat more of it...not licking lips as much as earlier. I have to go eat lunch now and go back to work will post later and maybe call vet about pepcid:)
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMPS? 90

Yes, I think I'll skip the fortiflora unless she has the runs, I only gave her the one pouch yesterday...she didn't eat the one today. She's back to happy affectionate kitty tonight. She did eat almost the full amount of her "normal" day today (finally), which is usually 1/2 can total and was instead 1/4 can portion and 1/8 can later, she left the last mini meal alone. So I'm really confused as to how her BG went down since she's had no insulin? Does this mean anything good? I'm thinking I'll skip the shot again tonight...
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMBG 90 went down?

Well.......

One explanation is that maybe Chyna's pancreas is working. With a healthy pancreas, if you eat, it stimulates the pancreas to produce insulin. As a result, several hours after you eat, BG numbers come down.

Do you think you could get a +2 or +3 tonight? I'm curious to see what happens if Chyna's appetite is back to normal and what effect it has on her numbers with a skipped shot.

Was there any litter box action today?
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMBG 90 went down?

Oh, I'm trying so hard not to hope too hard! Especially with the kidney thing to tackle soon. Maybe it's just the antibiotics and such, I'm no expert like you guys know so much more, but the only insulin she's had since Sunday morning was the mini dose they gave her on Monday afternoon. Of course there was the anethetic on Tues...

The vet did say she couldn't believe how Chyna was still functioning so normal for so long having such a deep tooth infection in one of her big teeth, it was even in the small tooth next to it. No poo yet. Just pee sometime between 8am and 1pm. But she is purring and preening, and she ate maybe 1/3 of supper and her tuna water teaspoon with antibiotic. So her appetite isn't what it was yet but so much better than this morning. Yes, I can get a +2 or +3. Hopefully she will go to finish the supper soon:)
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMBG 90 went down?

oh hoping hard for you, it is possible look at ruben, chyna can do it, i'm feeling positive.
come on chyna girl, lets keep your mr.p working :mrgreen:
hoping for another party (anti jinx)
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMBG 90 went down?

Thanks Sam, I hope mr.p hears you ;-) Well I went to give her bupe, and she was eating the rest of her supper, so I guess I'll wait a bit so I don't cause too much Chyna cat or stomach upset:) Guess that means a +3 will be 2 hours after food...
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMBG 90 went down?

I hope Chyna continues to eat and feel better each day. It would be good for her to have some acidophilus. I use Renew Ultimate Critical Care when Gracie is getting an A/B. I use 1/3 capsule sid but you can use it bid.

Sending healing vines and paws crossed!
 
Re: 2/28 Chyna AMBG 122 PMBG 90 went down?

Rachel

Just was scrolling back through your condo and read that Sienne said the Fortiflora can cause constipation in some cats. It's possible the acidophilus might also so you might want to hold off on that and see how she does.
 
Thanks Marje:) Still no poo but she is acting pretty alert and happy tonight, I gave her a tiny bit more vaseline, I wasn't sure how much canola oil to give today to help along. Maybe this is normal for her too, she didn't eat for 2 days except a tiny bit Monday night at the vet. PM+3 didn't go down...but didn't go up much either. Not sure what it means, but I'll take it, it's still green:) I'm just happy she seems to be feeling better and eating some without enticements of parm cheese and such, just plain food. Think it's about time to go night night, hugs to all! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top