2/28 China PMPS 250,+3 217,+6 157 Vet called

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

China's been on the 1.5 dose for 10 cycles now and her mid-cycles have kind of been all over the place, but mostly higher than I'd like. Would love some opinions on what to do with her!

We started the Chlor Trimeton today. The Pill Pockets went over like a dull thud...ended up feeding it to the dog. China would have none of it, so had to use the pill gun, but while she was pleasantly stoned from playing with her nanner, her reflexes must have been a little "dulled" because it went in and down the first time!!! Of course she hasn't been pilled in forever, so I'm sure she'll figure out what's going on soon and be back to her normal self soon

Her appetite hasn't been normal the last couple of days either. Makes me worry even more about what might be going on with her. Haven't heard anything from the vet yet on the bloodwork they sent out yesterday either. This waiting is awful!!

Got to go over and visit with DM today. If the landlord of the apartment ever calls me back, we want to go ahead and get the lease signed before someone else takes it. She's really looking forward to it. We're supposed to get an AWFUL ice/sleet/snow storm this weekend, but today is pretty nice, so trying to get as much done as possible before we turn back into the frozen arctic again!

Hope you're all having a nice Friday and that if you're in the path of this storm, you're getting ready too! I sure hope this is winters LAST gasp!!
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228 Increase??

I hope that China's appy gets better very soon, and she gives you better #s. I also hope that someone will be by to help answer your dosing question for you. Have a good day, and please be safe.
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228 Increase??

Well, congrats on the first pill going in...hopefully the rest will follow as well and China won't mind/resist :lol: . Chyna hates the duck/pea pill pockets that we have to use, but once I roll them in purebites crumbles she will eat them ;-) . I hate waiting for results on bloodwork, it's so stressful! Sending comfort vines to you and appy vines for her. I hope you hear from the vet soon.

Paws crossed on figuring out a dose or ideas for China. I'm sure someone will chime in soon. Happy Friday Chris! :razz:
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228 Increase??

Pill pockets are great if the cat likes them. My hyper-t kitty that has to have a pill twice a day doesn't like them. I'm glad you were able to get the pill in China. I hope you hear back from the landlord soon. I don't know about the dose.
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228 Increase??

Chris --

I think this is your call regarding an increase. China's numbers aren't terrible and this flat yellow cycle may be an indication that you'll have an active cycle. My inclination would be to hold the dose for another cycle but like I said, it's a judgement call. You know your kitty.
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

Went ahead and held the 1.5 for tonight. Will see how I feel about it in the morning and see what her numbers do tonight. She did eat better tonight than she has the last few meals, so I'm choosing to be safe rather than up all night testing. I DO know my kitty!! :lol:

Vet finally called, but still don't know a lot more than we did to begin with. Her BUN is a little elevated, as is her cholesterol and triglycerides ....they are attributing those to the raw diet ???? Her other kidney values looked OK though, so the BUN being a little elevated could also just be a 13yr old cat I suppose.

Thyroid tests were normal, as were WBC and eosinophil so no big screaming infection or allergy, but they still think it might be asthma/allergy related so want us to continue with the Chlor Trimeton and see how she does.

The only test they didn't get back yet was the heartworm test, so still waiting for that one.

Thanks for the visits and the advice!

P.S.....just got off the phone....my uncle died Monday and we just heard about it. He'd fallen in December and didn't go to the doctor for over a week, and then they did some surgery that left him unable to swallow, so they put in a feeding tube. He'd gone from the hospital, to rehab and just got home last week. Monday, he shot himself in the head. Don't think we're going to try to go to the Visitation since it's tomorrow, over 250 miles away, and we've got a huge ice storm moving in tomorrow evening.

I think I should write a book, but nobody would believe it
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

Oh my God Chris!! I am so sorry about your Uncle. I think you are right that it wouldn't be safe to go to the visitation though. Prayers to your family and you.

I hope the vet gets China figured out soon and her appy picks up. Is heartworm prevalent in your area?

Comfort vines to you and health vines heading to China :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

I'm glad the test results were good, even if it is frustrating because you don't really have answers. I hope the Chlor Trimeton helps her. I'm so sorry about your uncle.
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

((((Chris))))

I'm so sorry to hear about your uncle. I hope the family that is there are finding ways to take care of themselves.

It's good that the tests are coming back with no significant results. It leaves you scratching your head but at least there's nothing major going on. If asthma is a consideration, have they done a chest x-ray?
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

Yes, unfortunately, we're in a high heartworm area, but China's been an indoor only kitty all her life. I know that isn't a guarantee though.

I'm still wondering about their opinion that the raw diet would be the cause of the only numbers that weren't "normal". Doesn't sound right.

If we'd had a little more notice, we might have tried to go to the service, but since it's tomorrow, that's too much to try to get ready for overnight. We could have stayed at a hotel, but again, without a little more notice it's just too hard to make those kinds of plans with the time we have. (and if this storm is as bad as they're saying it might be, we might be stuck there for a long time...and I'm not dragging China with me)
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

(((Chris))) I am so sorry about your uncle. The snow storm coming does sound like a bad one, I hope "they" are wrong.

There have been studies comparing blood work results on dogs fed raw vs. kibble, and the raw fed dogs showed slightly higher BUN and PCV although still in the normal range. For an explanation, look here. The article quotes the study if you want to follow up with that. I read somewhere that the original reference ranges for blood work were developed on kibble fed animals. Cholesterol and triglycerides are often higher in diabetic cats.

Paws crossed for negative results on the heartworm test. Glad to hear she's eating better tonight.
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

Chris, I'm so sorry to hear about your uncle. Please extend our sympathy to your family.

I don't know much about those tests, but it sounds like the results are OK. Good luck with holding the dose.

Stay safe in the big storm,

hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

I am sorry to hear about your Uncle. I hope China is doing well and you get some good news soon from the Vet. Waiting is the worst
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

(((Chris)))

I am so very sorry to hear about your uncle what tragic news for you. It's so sad!

Wendy is correct that diabetics often have higher cholesterol and triglycerides. I do not agree with the vet that it is attributable to the raw diet. You can probably get the triglycerides down with a good quality fish oil like Nordic naturals for small pets omega 3. The high protein can cause the BUN to increase.

Sending you prayers.
 
Re: 2/28 China AMPS 268,+3 279,+6 228,PMPS 250 Vet called

I'm glad you had good vetty results, I'm hoping the heartworm is negative too and that all she needs is a dosecrease for a little while or just the new asthma/allergy meds.

Chris, I'm so sorry to hear about your uncle. Many hugs and prayers being sent to you :YMHUG:
 
Thanks for the visits and vines everyone. I'll be sure to pass them along to the family. It's a little shocking to hear someone in your own family has done something that drastic, and in such a dramatic way.

Oh, I did forget to mention...China's glucose was 149 ...after riding in a car for an hour, howling most of the way and with an upset tummy. Sure is strange that when China's under stress, her numbers go down, but China always has marched to the beat of a different drummer.

Wendy, thanks so much for the link to the info about the blood tests. It makes a lot of sense that the BUN would be higher on the high protein diet.

Sienne, no, they didn't take a chest x-ray yet. They wanted to get the blood results first and then go from there. If the Chlor Trimeton doesn't help, that's the next step. We're trying it for 10 days to see if it'll do any good.

Marje, thanks for the suggestion. I'll have to look around for a good source of fish oil. Do you just mix it in with food?

Tonight's numbers aren't any better, but I'll see where she's at in the morning. I'm too tired to think about it tonight.

Recap

AMPS 268
+3 279
+6 228

PMPS 250
+3 217
+6 157
 
The Nordic Naturals is available on Amazon and they make a bottle that's for small animals. The dropper is calibrated based on weight so it's easy to measure. You just mix it into China's food.
 
I am so sorry about your uncle Chris. Something similar happened to my family about a year ago. Very sad.....'

So far the vet report has not been too bad. Hoping the heartworm test comes back negative.
 
My deepest condolences about your uncle...prayers to you and your family.

And, more prayers for a negative heartworm test. We're thinking of you :YMHUG: !
 
sienne and marje,
I believe I read on dr lisa making food, that she now says use the cheaper fish oils. she used to recommend salmon oil. says the lower chain fish oil has much less stuff in it. salmon oil has a lot of fishies eaten to get to the upper chain.
did I say this as clear as mud
 
Dian - The Nordic Naturals, like the Ascenta Feline Omega-3 that I've used, are made from sardines and anchovies.
 
Chris, I am so sorry to hear about your uncle. Saying prayers of comfort for you and your family. I know you'd like to be there for your family, but with the sounds of that storm, I think you made the right decision.

Regarding China, sounds like you've gotten some good advice from the wise ones here on LL. I simply offer :YMHUG: Also, thank you for checking in on Shasta today. She says thank you, too. Well, she licked her lips...that's close enough! :-D Be safe this weekend and demands lots of kitty snuggles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top