Kokkinoulis
Member Since 2023
Dear all,
@Wendy&Neko, @Bandit's Mom , @Marje and Gracie , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Kokkinoulis’ BGs suddenly drop like crazy though big dose reduction from 7.5 to 5 iu in three days. The numbers in his ss in the last circles are min and max according to the libre. However, note that near 65-70 and above the same numbers are also double checked with the accu check, while at very low numbers the libre is about 8 to 12 mg/dl lower. The main reason for these drastic reductions was the fear of hypoglycemia and being away from home. It's also interesting that after eating the BGs numbers don't rise as much as before and immediately drop back down to low as a non-diabetic cat (I know he is not actually a diabetic cat but has diabetes due to growth hormone). Today I left in the feeder 4 big snaks every 2 hours with 2-3tbs mix LC+MC+HC and the same thing happened. I came home early from work because I was scared but he is fine.
I haven't started cabergoline yet. I'm thinking of starting it tomorrow and watching him closely for 2 days plus the weekend to see how he reacts.The vet said to take it along with food so I am thinking to give him with food before his evening pre-shot dose at 20:00 local time in order to be every day at home this hour with him in case of vomiting or something else.
Is it usual to mix cabergoline with food before pre-shot insulin?
I need your opinion how more should I decrease the dose of lantus before the first dose of cabergoline in order to avoid severe hypos?
Any tips and info about cabergoline uses or prevention of its adverse events (like vomiting) except of hypoglycemias?
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-amps-111-dose-advising.287117/#post-3156661
@Wendy&Neko, @Bandit's Mom , @Marje and Gracie , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Kokkinoulis’ BGs suddenly drop like crazy though big dose reduction from 7.5 to 5 iu in three days. The numbers in his ss in the last circles are min and max according to the libre. However, note that near 65-70 and above the same numbers are also double checked with the accu check, while at very low numbers the libre is about 8 to 12 mg/dl lower. The main reason for these drastic reductions was the fear of hypoglycemia and being away from home. It's also interesting that after eating the BGs numbers don't rise as much as before and immediately drop back down to low as a non-diabetic cat (I know he is not actually a diabetic cat but has diabetes due to growth hormone). Today I left in the feeder 4 big snaks every 2 hours with 2-3tbs mix LC+MC+HC and the same thing happened. I came home early from work because I was scared but he is fine.
I haven't started cabergoline yet. I'm thinking of starting it tomorrow and watching him closely for 2 days plus the weekend to see how he reacts.The vet said to take it along with food so I am thinking to give him with food before his evening pre-shot dose at 20:00 local time in order to be every day at home this hour with him in case of vomiting or something else.
Is it usual to mix cabergoline with food before pre-shot insulin?
I need your opinion how more should I decrease the dose of lantus before the first dose of cabergoline in order to avoid severe hypos?
Any tips and info about cabergoline uses or prevention of its adverse events (like vomiting) except of hypoglycemias?
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-amps-111-dose-advising.287117/#post-3156661
Last edited:
