? 2/28 acro Kokkinoulis AMPS 70/dose from 7.5 to 5.0 in 3 days.New dose decrease before cabergoline?

Kokkinoulis

Member Since 2023
Dear all,

@Wendy&Neko, @Bandit's Mom , @Marje and Gracie , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)



Kokkinoulis’ BGs suddenly drop like crazy though big dose reduction from 7.5 to 5 iu in three days. The numbers in his ss in the last circles are min and max according to the libre. However, note that near 65-70 and above the same numbers are also double checked with the accu check, while at very low numbers the libre is about 8 to 12 mg/dl lower. The main reason for these drastic reductions was the fear of hypoglycemia and being away from home. It's also interesting that after eating the BGs numbers don't rise as much as before and immediately drop back down to low as a non-diabetic cat (I know he is not actually a diabetic cat but has diabetes due to growth hormone). Today I left in the feeder 4 big snaks every 2 hours with 2-3tbs mix LC+MC+HC and the same thing happened. I came home early from work because I was scared but he is fine.

I haven't started cabergoline yet. I'm thinking of starting it tomorrow and watching him closely for 2 days plus the weekend to see how he reacts.The vet said to take it along with food so I am thinking to give him with food before his evening pre-shot dose at 20:00 local time in order to be every day at home this hour with him in case of vomiting or something else.



Is it usual to mix cabergoline with food before pre-shot insulin?



I need your opinion how more should I decrease the dose of lantus before the first dose of cabergoline in order to avoid severe hypos?



Any tips and info about cabergoline uses or prevention of its adverse events (like vomiting) except of hypoglycemias?



Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-amps-111-dose-advising.287117/#post-3156661
 
Last edited:
Hi Shelly. Thanks a lot for your reply. Is it better Fistuk? If was normal situation with Kokkinoulis ( means little red in Greek) I had normally done 4.5 iu ...but he reacts very rapid to insulin now. Also stupid libre stopped,maybe due to many low it is not so accurate below 80 but give me an illusion of safety additionally to my glucometer and I can sleep with alarms at night. Moreover I can observe better his new patterns. Without libre at night and with a preshot number at 68 for an acro cat I decided to shot a token dose and I will test him
 
I'm glad you did a half dose tonight. I think some of the lower numbers you are seeing is from the higher depot from the back to back reduction. The reduced dose should help drain that overfull depot.

You don't need to reduce the dose before starting cabergoline. It doesn't start working that fast. You may see nothing in those three days you have off. I think your goal is to get to a good Lantus dose where his nadirs are 70 and above. That'll give you a bit of room for when the cabergoline does start to work. Note, in some cats it has taken 3 months to start working. But we can't say when it'll start working for Kokki as ECID, very different.

Kokki is a diabetic, just what is called a type 3 or "other" type of diabetes. Some acrocats have a working pancreas, some don't. For those that don't, the time in high numbers can damage the pancreas beta cells making them also like other type 2 diabetic cats.

Most people either mix cabergoline with food, or get a flavoured liquid they just squirt in the mouth. Or mix with a low carb treat like a Churu. Timing during the day doesn't matter.
 
Back
Top