2/27 - Xander | AMPS 329

Come on down a smidge Xander! How has the TR switch been? Probably nice to get the increases quicker.

So far I feel like I haven't been able to see the effects of it yet (just because of everything that's been going on), but absolutely yes, the quicker increases are so nice. His numbers are obviously not great but I felt really confident upping his dose yesterday rather than waiting around another 4 days for the same end result.
 
Looks promising last night and today with a lot of yellows! He's definitely responding to the insulin. Maybe he will settle in soon and get down to some blues (and dare we say, greens). If not with this dose, surely with the next increase he will see some blues/greens. C'mon Xander's pancreas--work with Xander and mommy!
 
Looks promising last night and today with a lot of yellows! He's definitely responding to the insulin. Maybe he will settle in soon and get down to some blues (and dare we say, greens). If not with this dose, surely with the next increase he will see some blues/greens. C'mon Xander's pancreas--work with Xander and mommy!

I'm a little concerned, because he was getting some yellows on the 1.5 too. The only real difference I see is that there are at least no more reds, and the AMPS have been coming down juuuust a little every morning. Was really hoping for more of a reaction after how low he's dropped on much lower doses! It's so weird to me, how inconsistent it is. Still really hoping that once he does start really reacting that the TR will help get that consistency.

Come on, little dude! :rolleyes:
 
I'm a little concerned, because he was getting some yellows on the 1.5 too. The only real difference I see is that there are at least no more reds, and the AMPS have been coming down juuuust a little every morning. Was really hoping for more of a reaction after how low he's dropped on much lower doses! It's so weird to me, how inconsistent it is. Still really hoping that once he does start really reacting that the TR will help get that consistency.

Come on, little dude! :rolleyes:
Okay, so I'm not sure that this is going to make sense, but...over the time of dosing and feeding their bodies with insulin, something is happening to Xander's pancreas. I know this because Jude was on 2.75, and he saw a few greens, then he increased to 3 and saw some lower numbers, but then he began dropping (so we had to decrease), back down to 2.75 and he saw more and more greens, and then lower to 2.50, 2.25, 1.50, etc., and each time he saw greens. As the dose lowered, the greens increased. It's kind of strange to me. They say here that their pancreas's get used to the lower numbers, and I do know that the pancreas can heal, overtime (which leads to remission). I've also heard people talk about "break-through" doses, which really start to bring the numbers down. Maybe X just hasn't hit his breakthrough dose yet?
 
Okay, so I'm not sure that this is going to make sense, but...over the time of dosing and feeding their bodies with insulin, something is happening to Xander's pancreas. I know this because Jude was on 2.75, and he saw a few greens, then he increased to 3 and saw some lower numbers, but then he began dropping (so we had to decrease), back down to 2.75 and he saw more and more greens, and then lower to 2.50, 2.25, 1.50, etc., and each time he saw greens. As the dose lowered, the greens increased. It's kind of strange to me. They say here that their pancreas's get used to the lower numbers, and I do know that the pancreas can heal, overtime (which leads to remission). I've also heard people talk about "break-through" doses, which really start to bring the numbers down. Maybe X just hasn't hit his breakthrough dose yet?

I think I understand what you mean! So basically even though Jude couldn't stay on 3 units, it may have been what "opened the gate" (so to speak) that allowed him to get some better numbers even from lower doses. Like we're just prodding the pancreas and saying "C'mon... do something" until the right poke finally makes it get up and get to work?
 
Yes! If you look back at Jude's chart, he was at 2.50 and 2.75 prior to increasing to 3U, but he wasn't seeing that many greens. Then, we increased to 3, and look at what happened to his numbers. He eventually began to slide down, further and further. We saw greens on 2.75 and 2.50 that we had not seen before he was at the 3U mark. We are seeing greens on 1.25 that we didn't see when he first increased to 3U.
 
Yes! If you look back at Jude's chart, he was at 2.50 and 2.75 prior to increasing to 3U, but he wasn't seeing that many greens. Then, we increased to 3, and look at what happened to his numbers. He eventually began to slide down, further and further. We saw greens on 2.75 and 2.50 that we had not seen before he was at the 3U mark. We are seeing greens on 1.25 that we didn't see when he first increased to 3U.

I see it! It's kind of crazy, it's like a switch flipped and he just started doing so much better. That's really inspiring! Thank you so much for sharing that, it was really helpful! I was starting to feel a bit discouraged today but this is inspiring and I hope that Xander's pancreas will finally just get the memo already too!

Just looking again. Jude had a 400+ only 3 days before he saw his last 300s since! That's nuts and so exciting!!!
 
I see it! It's kind of crazy, it's like a switch flipped and he just started doing so much better. That's really inspiring! Thank you so much for sharing that, it was really helpful! I was starting to feel a bit discouraged today but this is inspiring and I hope that Xander's pancreas will finally just get the memo already too!

Yes! That's exactly how Bhooma (@Bandit's Mom) phrased it: "it's like a switch flipped."
 
Back
Top