2/27 Willie PMPS 83, +5.25~61, +6~63, +7.25~50, +8~62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

good morning, Lantus Land! All is well in Willie's World... early shot today, 5:45 am :shock: . Working our way back to 5am as we get the opportunity, but there is no major rush. First breffis eaten with gusto, dug the bean out from under the covers for btb pets, then commenced 4 hours of btb cuddles. 2nd breffis mostly eaten now... Willie is deciding whether or not he would like to play. Using the LB as we speak, and now we are out batting around the catnip carrot, tossing it in the air and wrestling it. Warms my heart to think how far he has come.

I'd like to take a moment to discuss my decision to leave yesterday. First, it was a judgment call, it was mine to make, and while I understand and appreciate the perspective of others, and normally I would not leave under those circumstances, I know Willie's sensitivities to high carbs, I evaluated the amount of food he ate (which was quite substantial), and in my best judgment, I believed he would be safe.

Right now, my life revolves around work and Willie. There are exactly 90 minutes in the week that I set aside for myself... my (expensive, prepaid) tennis class on Saturday afternoons from 1:30 to 2:30 (with 20-30 minutes driving time to/from the gym). Right now, it is pretty much my only interaction with people outside of work. I will not apologize for making that a priority, even if others feel like I should not. At this point, had that cycle been a weekday or an evening, Willie would have had no intervention and the 36 would have been missed altogether. The same would have been true if I had left 2 hours earlier as planned to go to the store and get some time in at the gym before my class. Instead, I happened to stay home to catch up on condos.

It also raises some questions and doubts for me regarding where we are at in the protocol. People have expressed concern that Willie doesn't have a discernable nadir at the moment. This concerns me too. I am over the moon for the numbers Willie has been having, but it is just me in all of this, and I work a minimum 40 hour week. And I am not physically able to go days without a decent amount of sleep. This week, lack of sleep has made my usual monthly migraines much more difficult to control, which has affected work and my ability to care for Willie. While I am trying to set up a work at home day, it will be a set day of the week (most likely, Wednesdays). That still leaves 4 days where I am out the door by +2... +3 at the latest, and am lucky to be walking in at +11.5, if not right at PM shot time. My case load has made it more difficult for me to come home over lunch (as have gas prices). I am worried that if he continues the same numbers at 1.25u as he did at 1.5u, I am leaving him vulnerable both weekdays and nights.

Please know that I greatly appreciate the perspectives of everyone on this board. Even if I may, in a given situation, not choose to follow recommendations of the folks here (which is an exceedingly rare event), please know that I deeply value and respect those opinions. I am doing my best to balance the needs of a cat whose improving health has given him an amazing opportunity to heal with my own health and wellbeing needs. We're getting there, one imperfect step at a time.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday. As always, thoughts and prayers going out to our kitties and beans in need.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82

Good morning, Christie & Willie :YMHUG:
Great #s from Willie today & I hope you both have a wonderful Sunday.
It is a challenge doing this on your own, like so many of us are.. I am really jealous of those who have someone else to lean on & help.
Hang in there, you are doing a great job. If there is evey anything I can do.. you know I am just a ride away ;-)
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82

Hi Willie I can understand the need to take care of you its so hard to balance life and FD and you work fulltime I am off work at this time due to migraines and fatigue of which i see you have migraines too so sorry to hear that they have crippled me in the last 10 yrs with playing drugs this and drugs that and still nothing working I this is my 3rd time being off from my job as a tech and I quit this past time since i felt I had taken too many medical leaves but they want me back whenever I am up to getting there which is not yet hope things improve in your balance I know its so hard but Willie is sure looking great with his numbers ;-)
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96

Morning Wee Dub!!

I hear you on the Lone Caregiver thing...and I think you're doing great!

I never take the posts as being severe or judgemental...i think that folks here are putting the kitty first, and they know you are also putting him first...but i don't think anyone here judges us for living our lives! the FD is so consuming...you've got to have time for you also!

beautiful greens WW!
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96

Thank you, everyone. I tend to be a "I don't care what people think" kind of person, which would generally lead me to not address my choices yesterday in my condo. But I do so value the support Willie and I get here, and I do feel accountable to you all, and that is why I chose to say something. For what it's worth, part of it was directed at myself. I need to work harder to find the balance.

But on to more important things!!! For your (partially sideways.... darned android!) viewing pleasure, may I present The Epic Battle of Willie vs. the Spider Ring, Part 1. It lacks music and text, which I will be playing with... but it does give you exciting battles of wills (the stare downs!), high action batting (where WILL the spider go?!?), and an ending full of "I am DONE with you. I SAID GOOD DAY!!!" drama.

Enjoy!
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

ROTFLMAO!!!


Tootsie(2).jpg
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

I think we are all human. It is good for people to be able to speak their minds though. Especially if people are following along and lurking vs participating. So I would always err on the side of caution and advise without assumptions. You are the bean. You are a big participant here. And people feel comfortable voicing their recommendations. I bet you wouldn't have it any other way. I know I wouldn't.

Just want to say I would be overwhelmed if I was working outside of the home. I admire those of you that have to balance so much.

I can't advise on dosing and protocol. I want to send some hugs your way too.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

Cute - I love the video, and I see he has his nanners there, too. Willie is a gorgeous kitty seeing him in full force! He keeps looking up at the camera every so often. It sounds like a very tough balancing act with you doing a 40 hour week, and you're doing a great job. Beautiful numbers today! Enjoy your Sunday.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

Willie is adorable!!!!!! I notice his mask so much more in the video. What a sweetie!! He's also bigger than I thought.

What the heck is he playing with - I can't make it out on the video. I wonder if I could get these spider things up here.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

Christie & Willie said:
Yesterday's Condo

I'd like to take a moment to discuss my decision to leave yesterday. First, it was a judgment call, it was mine to make, and while I understand and appreciate the perspective of others, and normally I would not leave under those circumstances, I know Willie's sensitivities to high carbs, I evaluated the amount of food he ate (which was quite substantial), and in my best judgment, I believed he would be safe.

Right now, my life revolves around work and Willie. There are exactly 90 minutes in the week that I set aside for myself... my (expensive, prepaid) tennis class on Saturday afternoons from 1:30 to 2:30 (with 20-30 minutes driving time to/from the gym). Right now, it is pretty much my only interaction with people outside of work. I will not apologize for making that a priority, even if others feel like I should not. At this point, had that cycle been a weekday or an evening, Willie would have had no intervention and the 36 would have been missed altogether. The same would have been true if I had left 2 hours earlier as planned to go to the store and get some time in at the gym before my class. Instead, I happened to stay home to catch up on condos.

It also raises some questions and doubts for me regarding where we are at in the protocol. People have expressed concern that Willie doesn't have a discernable nadir at the moment. This concerns me too. I am over the moon for the numbers Willie has been having, but it is just me in all of this, and I work a minimum 40 hour week. And I am not physically able to go days without a decent amount of sleep. This week, lack of sleep has made my usual monthly migraines much more difficult to control, which has affected work and my ability to care for Willie. While I am trying to set up a work at home day, it will be a set day of the week (most likely, Wednesdays). That still leaves 4 days where I am out the door by +2... +3 at the latest, and am lucky to be walking in at +11.5, if not right at PM shot time. My case load has made it more difficult for me to come home over lunch (as have gas prices). I am worried that if he continues the same numbers at 1.25u as he did at 1.5u, I am leaving him vulnerable both weekdays and nights.

Please know that I greatly appreciate the perspectives of everyone on this board. Even if I may, in a given situation, not choose to follow recommendations of the folks here (which is an exceedingly rare event), please know that I deeply value and respect those opinions. I am doing my best to balance the needs of a cat whose improving health has given him an amazing opportunity to heal with my own health and wellbeing needs. We're getting there, one imperfect step at a time.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday. As always, thoughts and prayers going out to our kitties and beans in need.

Christie,

I do understand your desire to balance your life, and it IS difficult when you are the sole caregiver. I am fortunate enough to have my DH to fall back on, and it definitely helps. I also understand that you think you have adequate data to feed HC and know that Willie will rise and be safe. I would caution against assuming that HC will boost numbers every time.....many times I have seen caregivers (including myself) feed HC and think the numbers will rise, only to be surprised when the numbers stay the same or fall instead. Leaving a cat in the 30s without retesting after feeding is very risky. You are hearing from folks with a lot of experience, the concern is justified and I would not dismiss it. Their (and my) top priority is Willie's safety.

Also, please understand that while it is your choice to leave the house with your cat in the 30s, it is a situation that cannot go unaddressed here. As Karrie pointed out, there are newbies and lurkers here who may not realize that feeding and leaving isn't the way 30s are normally handled, and may therefore put their cats in jeopardy by following your example. That is not something I want to see happen, and I feel we must do what we can to make sure others understand that it is putting your cat at risk.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

hi christie. as laurie said so eloquently, willie's safety is our number one priority... yours, mine, and everyone else who offers any suggestions or advice. "do no harm" is something we take very seriously. while ultimately the decision is yours to make, to not address a situation where a kitty drops into the 30s and isn't tested for another 2 hours for whatever reason would be irresponsible on the part of those who have loads of experience with this sugar dance. we've seen caregivers fight hard to get numbers up despite giving their kitties gravy, hc, and/or karo. other kitties (like mine) can as much sniff low carb food and their numbers rise 50 points. :-D

until willie becomes more predictable in his response to both food & insulin and you have the data to back it up , i urge you to use extreme caution when dealing with such low numbers. err on the side of safety. we're not singling you out. we suggest the same to all who are relatively new to this dance.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

I hope you don't feel like we're chastising you. Finding that balance, especially when you are the sole caretaker, is very hard. I'm the one and only when it comes to Gabby's care and I agree with you -- not having someone who can help with testing and shooting has limited what I choose to do or not do. My purpose in posting yesterday was to make sure you had all of the information in order to inform your decisions. As Jill noted, while her Alex is carb sensitive, I'm one of those people who, on occasion, has had to fight to bring Gabby's numbers up. It can be very anxiety provoking when you are feeding HC and your cat keeps testing in the 30s or 40s and it's something I would prefer others not experience. That said, knowing what factors need to weigh into your decision making is important. Bottom line -- I'm glad Willie was OK and you got to your tennis lesson.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

Thank you guys. I hope you all know that my purpose in posting today was solely to provide an explanation for why I took the risk that I took. I understand and fully support the posts that were made last night... the last thing I want would be a newbie or lurker to do the same without an understanding of their cat. I've been doing a lot of experimenting recently (not all of which has shown up in Willie's SS) to help me more fully understand his carb response. I was not as eloquent as I could have been this morning... the +7 was obtained last night as a result of a 1:30 am phone call from DS letting me know some guy had broken down her door and the police were there. I wasn't exactly my chipper self this morning. :)

Please know how much I appreciate all of you!! Gotta run... got a boy with fuds ALL over his nose!!!
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +3~80, +4~82, +5~96 Video!

Hey Christie - not too much I can add to what has been said. can I ever relate to being the one and only one to care for my FD kitty, aka Mannie. it is tough, even more so when I was working fulltime, had an hour commute both ways, left Mannie at +1 and did not see him again until ps of the next cycle. It is tough, no doubt, and do we ever worry. When those times show up for us to take time for ourselves - well yep, been there too. I know how it is. Everything else is, like you, devoted to my guy.

I think you've made such progress with Willie - he is doing so great. I enjoyed the video - had a chuckle over the phone the sideways thing - mine does that too, especially when I don't want it to... darn phone!

Nice numbers Willie!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You rock dude!

psssttttt - Willie! Grab your stuff dude - we are off to NYC, and a party for Do Lou - it's his birthday! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +5~96, +7~60, +9~108, +10~60 Video

Thanks to all who watched the video! Willie is a big boy.... he's very long!! He was playing with one of those kids spider rings that they always sell as party favors around halloween. I've also found them at some cat boutiques. Cats love them because they can catch the pieces on their paws, bat them in the air, etc. Every year, I wait for Halloween stuff at Walmart to go 75% off (and there are always tons of spider rings left!), and we stock up for the next year. They are easily lost under sofas, radiators, etc.

Trying to make cat food at the moment and failing. Willie, who hates being on anybody's lap, well, ever, is currently peacefully napping on mine. I don't have the heart to disturb him!
 

Attachments

  • seepin willie.jpg
    seepin willie.jpg
    439.3 KB · Views: 1,543
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +5~96, +7~60, +9~108, +10~60 Video

Is your DS okay? not looking for details, but sounds worrisome...
 
Re: 2/27 Willie AMPS 158, +5~96, +7~60, +9~108, +10~60 Video

*sigh* she is, Celi. She's 25, hangs out with a less than desirable crowd. Apparently, a girl was in her apartment, picked a fight with someone and was asked to leave. The girl was waiting on a ride in the lobby, and when that friend showed up, she asked the guy to break down the door... apparently taking offense that she had been asked to leave. My sister is, bless her heart, a bit of a gangster thug wannabe. Thank god she doesn't own a firearm (which she has in the past), or the two people would be dead right now. Instead, she had a knife, but thankfully it didn't come to that. They completely broke down her door frame and a section of the wall. Against my wishes, she stayed there last night, though at least her boyfriend was there.

I was already worried. She was mugged just over a year ago while walking down a poorly lit street at 10pm. The police never did much to catch the guys who did it. She works at Subway (a few blocks from both of our apartments), and apparently the guy who mugged her has been coming into the store recently. Apparently, the lure of $5 footlongs is too much to resist? The guy is onto the fact that she knows it is him. She has contacted the police, and has alerted co-workers to get his name/vehicle info the next time he comes in (he always pays with a credit card). She has been told to follow up with the robbery unit tomorrow. I have convinced her that she needs to be worried that he now knows where she works and roughly where she lives... and that she regularly walks between the two places, often at night. The intersection the store is on would make it very easy for him to sit in another parking lot and watch for her leaving, then follow her.

It is utterly remarkable that two sisters can live 4 blocks apart, and yet live such vastly different lives. *sigh* I'm the only family she has here, and my folks sent her here a couple years ago for me to "fix" her. She's done a lot of one step forward, two step back action... with my family praising her for the steps forward, and blaming me for the steps back. She is a good kid, but she's just not getting to the right path.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie PMPS 83 Video!

The sin of being responsible. Everything falls on you.

Better that than the alternative though :)

Hope your sitter grows up soon :-D maybe by 30.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie PMPS 83 Video!

Whew, what a couple of days you have had girl! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED the video and the picture. He is a gorgeous little man! As far as what happened yesterday, I am a newbie here as you know and I would not have been influenced one bit by you leaving. We all are smart enough to make decisions for our own pets and can hopefully separate what someone else does from what is best for our own babies. I too am Java's only caretaker and I have resigned myself to a schedule which has me leaving after AMPS and being home before PMPS. I have skipped a class when I thought he needed me, but that was after getting home from the ER. I go to school four days and week and am taking 19 credits. The way I look at it is I do the best I can and If i hadn't found this board, I would be shooting blind. We all do the best we can and you shouldn't feel bad for taking an hour a week for yourself. I don't think anyones intention is to make anyone feel bad, this just becomes a community where everyone has feelings for all of our babies and we all want to help. Everybody loves Willie! I want you to know I have s special place in my heart for you two for staying up with me the first night Java went cliff-diving! That meant a lot to have someone checking on us til the wee hours and I really want you to know that. You are AWESOME and Willis is also! Hugs to you both! I hope your sister gets her **** together, I was also one that didn't make great decisions at one point but you grow out of it.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie PMPS 83, +1~86, +2~77, +3~72, +4~73

Hi Christie,
Very nice day for Willie. You asked about the PT - I liked the picture you had much better. I didn' do a good job of describing what ails me. :lol: It is for the neck pain - cervical spine osteoarthritis. What I thought was a stiff neck turned out to be more of a problem. I'm looking forward to the pt. Have a nice night.
 
Re: 2/27 Willie PMPS 83, +1~86, +2~77, +3~72, +4~73

yikes on the sister situation...

hope it sorts itself out soon...

look at the Wee Man go!
 
Re: 2/27 Willie PMPS 83, +1~86, +2~77, +3~72, +4~73

Hey!! Wee Dub we lubs you & your momma bean & no one would say anything to offend..
We here all walk the tightrope that is the sugar dance! We worry about each other..So... we watch out for one another & our babies. You are doing the best you can do-
Please dont go anywhere, we want & need you right here!--Got it?? Many Hugs & lubs from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top