2/27 Max AMPS 95 +1 141 +3 122 +4 70 +5 64 +5.5 92 +6 134 PMPS 412 +2 346 +3 286 +4 188

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Eye opener this morning. Max woke me up before the alarm went off. His BG was 90. Yay! I wanted to see if he was going up or down so stalled 15 minutes without feeding. He was then 95. Could have been meter variation, or he could be headed up…I don’t know, but he was starving so I went ahead and fed then gave him his 8 units as usual.Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...71-5-5-112-6-5-87-7-5-93.259902/#post-2918866
 
Bhooma or anyone, if you are around it's still kind of early in Max's cycle and he's already at 70. I gave him HC, but may need some help so just putting it out there for recommendations at this point. @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @FrostD @Wendy&Neko or anyone else who can advise. Thank you! He's dropping faster than I thought he would. I was thinking if I shot low he would have a low flat cycle.
 
Hmm not many other similar cycles to compare it to! On occasion he has nadired earlier, but sometimes later.

I'd have tried MC, but no harm no foul except his tummy. If flat next test (30 mins), I'd try MC. If dropped, more HC obviously. If you, no food.
 
Test in an hour? He's looking good on this dose :)
Okay thanks Bhooma. Yes he is. I kind of don’t want to go back to 7.5 so I’m hoping he will come up some and surf. That 7.5 wasn’t good for him at the time and we had a hard time getting him out of that red.
 
Hmm not many other similar cycles to compare it to! On occasion he has nadired earlier, but sometimes later.

I'd have tried MC, but no harm no foul except his tummy. If flat next test (30 mins), I'd try MC. If dropped, more HC obviously. If you, no food.
Yes he was at his cut off point so I don’t really want to go back to 7.5 that’s why I carbed him up. He is very unpredictable with his nadirs so I never know. We will just have to deal with the tummy later. Last time I gave carbs he did okay with his tummy so who knows.
 
If you need more hc what about adding honey or karo so his tummy Isn’t upset?
Yes I do that already most of the time. It’s just hard to know how much honey to add to make it HC or MC for him. I’ve added a drop of honey before and it didn’t help anything so I’ve started adding more, but sometimes I go overboard because I just don’t know. I may have done that today but I’m really not wanting him to take a reduction back to 7.5. He may be different now with the SRT play, but he did terrible before on 7.5
 
@Wendy&Neko I'd like to know your opinion about the reduction since he got to 64. Last time I took the reduction, he didn't handle that well and I think we built up some toxicity at that time. I really hope that doesn't happen again. I am becoming addicted to these greens. My psyche absolutely cannot handle seeing reds or worse :stop:. I know the SRT is a major thing to consider, but what do you think about going back to 7.5, or 7.75, or stay where we are?
 
He's in his bed for his 5 hour afternoon nap now. He's 134. Giving his ears a break until PMPS. I think he's going to keep going up from here anyway, hoping no too much.
 
Lovely cycle today.:D

The thing that is different about this time (below 70) vs the last one, is that he's been seeing a lot more green lately. If you look back at when he earned the reduction from 8.5 to 8.0, the same thing was happening. The previous time he was on 8.0 units, green was sporadic and he was bouncing a lot. Now he's flattening out. This could be an indication this is a good dose for him, but also that it won't be long before he'll go even lower. You call, based on how much you want to monitor, whether you reduce or not now. I suspect that lower numbers would be coming soon.
 
Lovely cycle today.:D

The thing that is different about this time (below 70) vs the last one, is that he's been seeing a lot more green lately. If you look back at when he earned the reduction from 8.5 to 8.0, the same thing was happening. The previous time he was on 8.0 units, green was sporadic and he was bouncing a lot. Now he's flattening out. This could be an indication this is a good dose for him, but also that it won't be long before he'll go even lower. You call, based on how much you want to monitor, whether you reduce or not now. I suspect that lower numbers would be coming soon.
Okay Wendy. Thanks so much. I’m going to go back and study his spreadsheet again. You’re so good at finding things I just don’t notice yet. Great advice. Thanks!
 
I hope I made the right decision. @Wendy&Neko He bounced to the moon.:arghh: I decided to keep him on 8 units for now and evaluate again once he clears this bounce. This is really a tough call but I think I can handle it better monitoring low numbers to determine if he really needs the reduction better than I can allowing him to build up that glucose toxicity again. I got what you were saying when I looked at his SS and you’re right. I am thinking we will end up taking the decrease soon. If we see more current trends like today, I will definitely reconsider this and take the reduction. I hope I’m right in my thinking. Max seems to always somehow read my mind though and prove me wrong. Hope he doesn’t dive on me tonight though. He got a nap today, I didn’t.:cat:
 
Hahahahaha, no but I think he needs one. I have no idea what he’s going to do tonight but he’s coming down again. I hope I can get at least a little sleep. I made myself a cinnamon dolce latte just in case I need to stay up longer lol. I just couldn’t do the reduction seeing that red number. I hope I made the right choice.:nailbiting:
 
Back
Top