? 2/27 Malcolm's curve

Malcolm & Heidi

Member Since 2023
2/27- I'm currently doing a curve for my vet for tomorrow to figure out what to do next. And it's been in the 300s all day. In fact, he's been in the 300s since they upped his dose. It seems like every time they up his dose, his numbers go up. I'm so frustrated. He hasn't had a 200 number since I had his dose at 3.75 He's now on 4. I just don't understand why he keeps going up every time we up his dose. I'm giving him about 2 3.3 oz cans of fancy feast mixed with 1/2 a Sheba each time. I recently started doing this since I read Sheba isn't enough nutrients. (He won't eat more than two cans. And even that is hard to get him to do so. That's what I add Sheba because he likes those) Can someone please look at his spreadsheet and maybe make some sense? Thanks
 
Last edited:
He definitely needs more insulin. Did he have a history of DKA?

If you are feeding only low carb canned food and no dry food, you want to follow TR so that you can increase doses faster (in 3-5 days vs 7 days with SLGS). You don't want him hanging around in such high numbers if he is a DKA kitty.

I would take him up to 4.5U tomorrow.

Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15-malcolm-amps-306.286699/
 
2/29/ I upped his dose and his numbers have been a little bit lower. But I also had a 400 at +9 this evening (at 6:30 pm) My question is, is it normal for them to get extremely sleepy right after a shot? He has basically passed out in a deep sleep not long after the shot, and it has me worried! I'm going to test him again in a little bit to see where his numbers are. He was 363 at 9:00 pm. I gave him his shot at 9:30 pm. It is now 10 pm and he's completely passed out.
 
Last edited:
Also, my vet reccommended giving him mirataz for 5 days to increase his appetite since he's not eating as much as he should be (he eats about 2 3oz cans of fancy feast and I add one 1/2 of a Sheba on top each time. And sometimes give him a 1/2 of one as a snack. I'm wondering if because he's not eating as much as he should be and that is why his numbers haven't been lowered? I'm going to start the mirataz tomorrow morning.
 
Back
Top