2/27 Mac AMPS 302, +3 181, +5.5 135, +6.5 119, +7.5 123, +11 167, PMPS 152; +3 247

Looks like depot might be kicking in.... He has been eating small amount LC almost every hour (pancreatitis-syringe fed).

Tested an hour later, still dropping. Continue to test or do I feed anything other than LC? Based on small amount of data I have for last 4 days, his nadir is usually at about 5-6.


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-26-mac-amps-301.259896/
Gave a little MC food to try to stop the drop and smooth the curve. Newbie so not sure if that is what I was supposed to do.
 
He’s clearing the bounce quickly. I’d get another test in an hour. If still dropping are not on the way up test at +11 so we know if he’s on the way back up at pmps. Nice cycle today.
Could you help me understand what "Clearing the Bounce" means? Thanks!
 
I did a search , here is an explanation about bounces

Bounces are the result of numbers dropping into a low range, dropping fast, or dropping into a range your cat is no longer used to. A bounce is the result of the liver and pancreas releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. Bounces can last roughly 3 days/6 cycles -- in other words, while they are annoying for us, they are a normal response and eventually they stop happening or are not as dramatic as your cat gets used to spending time in lower numbers.

Mac's BG were high so he's clearing the bounce now by going lower
So he's clearing the bounce quickly like Elise noted
 
Jill on your spreadsheet where you put an arrow +6.5 in the +7 cell (square) you can do it this way in the +6 cell Like this 119 then a space @+6.5. and color it in manually if you have to whatever color it should be . Just a suggestion :cat:
 
Jill on your spreadsheet where you put an arrow +6.5 in the +7 cell (square) you can do it this way in the +6 cell Like this 119 then a space @+6.5. and color it in manually if you have to whatever color it should be . Just a suggestion :cat:
Thanks for the advice on how to do that! Done!
 
So what does PMPS need to be to shoot as he has been going lower into blue the last 2 evening cycles? Thanks!
 
Blues are good, glad to see more of them on the spreadsheet. The goal with SLGS is nadirs between 90 and 149, so looks like you are there at the moment.

The only "need to be preshot" number for those following SLGS is above 90 for those with experience. For brand new people, we suggest 200 as the cutoff. In between there, you work down what preshot number you are comfortable with, based on data so far.

A lot can happen between +7.5 and PMPS. You might want to get a +11 and post it here, to give people time to respond and help if needed.
 
Blues are good, glad to see more of them on the spreadsheet. The goal with SLGS is nadirs between 90 and 149, so looks like you are there at the moment.

The only "need to be preshot" number for those following SLGS is above 90 for those with experience. For brand new people, we suggest 200 as the cutoff. In between there, you work down what preshot number you are comfortable with, based on data so far.

A lot can happen between +7.5 and PMPS. You might want to get a +11 and post it here, to give people time to respond and help if needed.
will do! Thank you @Wendy&Neko,
 
PMPS - 152/154 - tested twice just to make sure. I am leaning towards skipping shot for the night given his reactions during last night's cycle. Advise if you think I should go ahead.. I am not sure I can stay up all night tonight.
 
How late can you stay up? It’s a safe number to shoot. You can feed higher carbs if he gets too low and you need to go to sleep.
 
You could also shoot a token dose of .25. He might come down during the first part of the cycle but then should level out. What do you think? Your other option would be to skip.
 
I had read this in Q & A. I guess I could do option 3 and still decide to do no shot or a token shot right? I have stayed up a lot the last few nights so can't pull an all nighter tonight. so I think I will go ahead and feed him and make a decision in a couple of hours.

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?

"A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise. In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketonesin the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher. Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide."
 
If I choose to feed and then retest and decide in 2 hours, should I give him some MC food or normal LC?
 
Feed lc. If you wait two hours your shot time will be no sooner than 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. Can you be off schedule that much? If not I would either shoot .25 or skip.
 
Feed lc. If you wait two hours your shot time will be no sooner than 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. Can you be off schedule that much? If not I would either shoot .25 or skip.
Ok. If I go with .25 in two hours (now 1) can I still give at 8:30 am?
 
If you shoot in two hours your next shot will be 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. To get back on track you can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. That’s why at this point I would skip if that doesn’t work for you.
 
If you shoot in two hours your next shot will be 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. To get back on track you can shoot 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. That’s why at this point I would skip if that doesn’t work for you.
Ok I understand. I would like to stay on schedule so I will skip. Maybe I will be braver next time. Thanks for your help!!
 
One thing they might help. If anyone tells a member to shoot a lower number than they are used to, we stay with them until it is safe to stop testing. So you won’t be alone. We will coach you.
 
Back
Top