2/27 Junior AMPS 245, ? dose change

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys .. I don't feel comfortable in giving out advice .. but Junior really seems to like the blues and yellows doesn't he? have a great day guys!
 
Good afternoon,

Thanks for the reply, and I understand if you don't want to advise!

and he does like his blues & yellows!

Junior & Kay
 
Hi Kay, nice to see you. :smile:

First I have a couple of questions, what meter are you using? I'm guessing you are following the SLGS protocol?

From the curve, it looks like Junior is pretty flat. It would be good to get a spot check here and there, particularly in the PM cycle, because every cycle is not the same. I'm not really comfortable suggesting an increase without some other spot checks. Would it be possible to get a spot check today sometime, and in particular, tonight?
 
Hi laurie,

Freedom Lite is his meter.

and I can test when I get home tonite, it would be his 6pmps, I don't get home til 5.30pm and then after that.

Day spot checks are impossible, except on saturdays sometimes, and sunday afternoons due to work, work, and more work. plus I live a distance from work.

will work on some night checks, every 2 hours, or more often til bedtime?

thanks laurie for your help & time

Junior & Kay
 
Oh Kay....I hate to tell you this, but several members have found that the Freedom lite is not a reliable meter...it reads low when kitties are higher. I would strongly suggest that you get a different meter and at least compare it against your Freedom meter. I use the Relion confirm, the micro is also very good, and they are both inexpensive to use and reliable. Many people also use other meters and love them....if you put "meter ?" in your subject line, you can get more suggestions. When I saw Junior's SS, I was afraid that you were using a freedom...the data looks typical. :sad:

I understand about daytime data, many people are in that situation. That makes the evening data even more important, so whatever spot checks you can get would be helpful...+2 and a before bed test would be good. I would suggest that you get at least a before bed test every night. Any tests are helpful, random data helps to fill in the SS.
 
Laurie I can't beleive it...

well, I can, but...I have the Relion I think Confirm, maybe Micro, not sure which, at home as a back up, haven't used it yet, but it will be used tonite.

I hope this works, I would hate to think I caused him to be like this, I thought more money, better product, not so...

my baby will get more pokes tonight, can I read off the same poke using 2 meters?

thanks again for your input!

Junior & kay
 
oh i'm so sorry too. we had the freestyle lite - and when i tested the same drop of blood i got 256 on the freestyle and 400 on the relion confirm. there are probably a dozen of us that have had that bad experience - i've had to nearly double punkin's dose to get him back into about the same numbers in the month since we switched to the relion confirm. it's very upsetting.

i also thought punkin was just very flat. often the day was spent in the 200's - but with the new meter i'm seeing bouncy numbers instead. it kinda throws everything i thought i knew about him out and i feel like we've started over.

but buck up, all is not lost. you will be able to get back on track with him now that you know. we'll be glad to give you a hand.

re the testing - you don't need to test every evening every 2 hours. if you get a +2 that will tell you where junior's BG's are headed - flat, up or down. then if you can, get a before bed test every night. random spot checks let us fill out the picture of how junior's doing. personally, i like that better than a once a week curve.

yes, you can test the same blood drop with 2 meters. that's what i did.
 
I'm so sorry Kay, I hate to be the bearer of bad news. We also have a Freestyle Lite, it was a back up. I know it's a nice meter...it's very disappointing. It's not your fault, so please don't beat yourself up. Like Julie said, now you know and you can move forward!

I'm glad you already have the relion back up...at least you don't have to run out to get a new meter! :-D
 
Sorry about the meter thing. It's not clear whether it's the meter or the change in the way the strips are constructed. Either way, the data aren't holding up. I would encourage you to get as much data using your Relion as possible. At this point, if the numbers look vastly different, which has been people's experience, it's going to be almost like starting over with regard to dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top