2/27 Eleanor PMPS 553? 276? +6 321 6 a.m. Update

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/27 Eleanor PMPS 553? 276? +6 321 Help Please

Aw, Julie...you're not doing anything wrong.

And while I know this is not much comfort...it sometimes takes time to get them responding to the insulin. :sad:

It's hard to see them in the blech numbers, and it's so easy to question ourselves...
but once you see Eleanor hit that breakthrough dose...your confidence will soar, and you'll know your on the right track :-D
And some may not agree, but my belief is that whether she shows it or not...Eleanor KNOWS you are trying to help her.

Hang in there, girl...and we'll hang in there with you! :YMHUG:

celi
 
Thank you Celi. That 553 and 321 really got me. Last night was awful with the ear sticks too, back to her screaming and hiding from me. Okay this morning though. Sigh.
 
Re: 2/27 Eleanor PMPS 553? 276? +6 321 Help Please

I use a Contour meter. With any meter, you can get an occasional wonky test. On occasion, it seems like the Contour will hiccup. Most likely, the difference in tests is due to either too much or not enough blood on the strip. I've found with the Contour that you will get an error message if there's clearly not enough blood but there are also times when you don't. You were wise to re-test if you think the numbers don't make sense.

It looks to me like Eleanor is on a slow bounce from the blues on the evening of 2/26. Some cats will have a sharp bounce -- they spike up during the same or the next cycle. With other cats, the rise is far slower. You'll just need to give this some time for the bounce to clear.

Right now, it also looks like Eleanor isn't getting enough insulin. Once the bounce clears, you should consider raising her dose. She's not on a large dose by any means. You just haven't gotten to a good dose yet. I would encourage you to stick with the protocol and increase her dose every 6 cycles (except when you have to clear a bounce). She'll get there. It just takes patience on your part.
 
Given all those tests you did, I would guess that you had a bad strip with that 553.

For the nadir, it may or may not occur at that +6...that's one of the things about FD, the nadir can be a moving target, so don't put too much stock in that one number at that one time.

You're both in an adjustment period right now...we've all been exactly where you are standing, so we understand, and we're here to help and support you. Remember, you're never alone in this thing, so when you're frustrated, scared, upset...post away! We'll all help you get Eleanor into good numbers, and before you know it, this will all be second nature to both of you.

Try and have a great day!!

Amy
 
It does take a lot of patience, and a lot of time for both of you to adjust to the protocol, and to get a feel of what to do, how to do it, and so on. We all have been frustrated a time or 2, or more. Follow the advice of those experienced, including Sienne, and you'll get there. :) Just hang in there. :) You're doing great!
 
Yes, it is very frustrating, no doubt about that. That's why this board is invaluable. I really don't know how we could have made any progress with Zener without. Keep asking questions and asking for support. We are all in this together and want to help. You are doing great! Eleanor is lucky to have you taking care of her. Please tell her that I think she is very beautiful - that very white coat is stunning. :-D
Liz
 
seconding everyone else's comments. learning how your own cat reacts to insulin is the most frustrating part of the beginning. everything seems crazy and you don't understand why the cat is doing what it's doing.

i agree you probably had a bad strip. i had a vial that had about 4 bad strips out of the first 10 - i sent the vial back and they sent me 40 new strips. if you get a number like that which seems to be too out of whack, what you did was exactly right - test again. hopefully that won't happen too much. maybe test again with a new strip and the same meter next time.

it gets infinitely easier as you keep plodding on. hang in there!!!! don't hesitate to post here to ask more questions and/or get a hug! we're all in the boat with you.
 
Hi Julie, I know this is yesterdays post, and maybe I missed your "todays", but i wanted to quote Sienne about the different readings… something I thought could be, but didn't know for sure and my DH didn't think it could be right… so Sienne said,
Most likely, the difference in tests is due to either too much or not enough blood on the strip.
I just find it interesting, and now I can prove I was right to DH :lol: Thanks Sienne for that info. Actually, my DH is a bit obsessive, (so am I), so he sometimes puts a new strip in the same meter and using the same blood/poke, and gets two different numbers! I don't know how he does that, cause I find it hard to even get enough blood sometimes for one test!

Hope you're having a good/ok day…raining here, so its yuk for me and this pain.
 
Hi Julie, I don't think I've visited Eleanor's condo yet, so just want to say welcome and hang in there. We have all been through what you are going through. Here's my technique for minimizing bubbles in the syringe (you may already know this, but it may help someone else):

Avoiding air bubbles in the syringe

1. work the plunger back and forth a few times to loosen it up.
2. push the plunger all the way in FORCEFULLY and hold it there.
3. still holding the plunger all the way in, insert it into the insulin vial or pen/cartridge, ease up on the plunger, and SLOWLY draw out more insulin than you need (about 1 unit more).
4. with the tip of the needle over a paper towel, slowly TWIST the end of the plunger until you reach your correct dose. (Twisting is easier and more accurate than pushing).
5. give the shot. Make sure that you keep pressure on the plunger until you withdraw the needle from your kitty (sometimes a drop of insulin will remain in the needle).

The key here is step #2, forcefully holding the plunger all the way in. This expels any air that might be hiding in the syringe.

I like the Monoject 31-gauge syringes with 1/2-unit markings. You can buy them at a good price from American Diabetes Wholesale (which is one of FDMB "partners". Use the "SHOP" button at the top of the FDMB screen, but if you want to read about the Monojects, here is the link to ADW's website):

http://www.americandiabeteswholesal...t-ultra-comfort-insulin-syringes_2552_178.htm

Getting started with everything you have to learn and do when caring for an FD kitty can be overwhelming. It all gets easier!

We are very glad that you and Eleanor are here,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top