2/27 Ben AMPS 398 not forever

A Fae

Member Since 2021
Hello, we have been in remission for months. Ben has been happy and healthy and 2 friends moved into the tree outside our window, Mr & Mrs Squirrely. I had been checking BG occasionally with it staying below 120. I started having more time between BG checks, still being in the normal range. At some point I had pretty much forgotten about Ben's diabetes.
All of a sudden I noticed Ben had gotten larger and seemed not quite himself. It's been about 5-6 months w/o insulin. This weekend I realized I better check his B/G.
Sure enough it was sky high at 365. The next one +2 was 311 +12 was 501 OMG I gave him 2 units since it was so high. Then I kept getting error reading on HiM on my meter, testing me it was working. It must have been too much blood on the strip. I had to breathe and wait. +7 it worked he was 260. Shot 2 units. +2 was 187. I think this is right since BG is coming down but not too low.

Now AMPS 398 shot 2 units. Here we go again. Oh well, I have enough glargine in the fridge that's working and 200 test strips. And I am much calmer this round and educated thanks to this wonderful site and much research.
I have not started spreadsheet yet but will do that soon, relying on bg meter for now. I have an alarm set for every 4 hours to check bg and give insulin.
For me, I was adopted and had no idea my DNA dad was Native American until my DNA revealed it. I recently got his death certificate which indicated he was of The Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa of Montana. They got fed recognition Dec 2019, 6 years after his passing. I'm working to find out if his name is on any of my paperwork. If it is I am going to register, as I am the last generation able to register with 1/8, 12.5% Chippewa, we are Métis from Red River in Canada. I just have a need to scream this to the moon and back. So, let your kitties know where they're from:cat:
 
Hi @A Fae, it's good to hear from you. Sorry that Ben has fallen out of remission. Have you been able to figure out why? How are his teeth? When were they last checked? Any other health issues that could have kicked him out of remission?

Is this Day 2 back on Lantus? 2U is a large starting dose. The depot will take a week to build. I guess you will be following TR?

You can use the same spreadsheet. You just need to add a tab for 2022. I can help with that.
 
Back
Top