2/27 all Mitzi's #'s read HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mara and Mitzi

Member Since 2014
I've yet to post on this part of the FDMB but I need everyone's advice ASAP before Mitzi's appointment at 250 pm.
Her numbers have been nothing but HI for the last couple weeks and I've attempted up to 7 readings an ear at a time and they still read HI.
I don't think the meter is the issue either cos I only started testing about a month ago and she's been like that from the beginning.
Her blood sugar has been extremely high since diagnosis.
Anyways, she's been EXTREMELY lethargic the last few days and started limping on her back leg (I think her left one?...not sure) two nights ago and today she's really havin' a hell of a time walking. Doesn't seem to be in pain but just isn't her normal self.
I thought it was possible she hurt her leg jumping down off my bed when I wasn't looking but I have no idea?! I usually have pet steps cos she can't really jump anymore (only down off my bed not up) but they're in the other room right now cos I was gonna clean them.
Someone on the Facebook page though said her cat lost his use of his back legs when his numbers were too high. Can that really happen?! I'm freaking out!!!
Mitzi will be 17 soon so she's not a young buck.
I tested her for Ketones and she's negative.
She's normally a HUGE PIG when it comes to eating and will scarf her food down in a matter of seconds just so she can go eat everyone else's food too but the last couple nights I've been having to put her in my bathroom so she will eat it cos she's not as interested. When she does eat it, it's super slow and not all of it. I'll sit there and encourage her to eat it and then she does but that's just not like Mitzi.

I tried to get her in to the vet sooner but they can't see her till 250 and don't seem as concerned as I am.
I was wondering what I should have her tested for?
I was gonna tell them to test her for Acromegaly, IAA, Hi-dose/Insulin Resistance, Cushing's and take a urine sample in case she has a UTI.
Should I have her tested for all of that or anything else? I need advice!!!
She's been getting 7 units twice a day, regularly and I feed her every 2-3 hours depending on how much she eats at a time.

Also, her pee is more yellow than normal. I know that because I catch her pee in a pan every day to look at it. You might think that's weird but I don't think so. Her pee is usually pretty clear and no smell and now it's yellow and a little pungent.

Should I switch her to Levimer? She's been on Glargine (Lantus) since she was diagnosed. It seems like she needs more units all the time with the Lantus.
 
Hi Mara;

I'm fairly new here too less then 2 months but have a lot of records and experience now so I am told. You are in good hands here with everyone being able to see your posts but they will tell you we need some of the details that you have|:

BG test numbers, type of insulin using, food type, weight of your cat, etc.

What you are experiencing is very common for feline diabetes - we all go through it and can help you but please post some numbers asap so we can see where you are at.

The BG levels being high are affecting her pancreas and therefore peeing lots and not feeling well so not eating.

Get the info asap and we will get you some suggestions.........

Hang in there..........you're in good hands here

Shawna
 
Have you tested for ketones? Your vet should also check for infected teeth, a UTI, etc. Ketones + infection + not enough food can lead to diabetic ketoacidosis which is very dangerous!
 
I think she test for keytones and they were negative............

I noticed your SS and yes, numbers are high but looks like you are switching the dose from 7.25 at PMS and 7 at AMS............they should be the same and maybe that's why the numbers are still high?? Not sure what time it is there at I am in Toroto area and it's 12:44 pm and assume your Vet appt is at 14:50 today
 
All the readings say "HI"...I haven't been able to get an actual number in forever. And when I was getting numbers they were in the high 500's.
She eats Fancy Feast and Friskies. All are lower than 10%.
She's fed every couple of hours so I know she's getting plenty of food. Not on the skinny side at all.
 
ANother question....how old is your insulin? I'm wondering if it could be toasty.

BTW....catching her pee isn't weird - here in LL, cat pee and poo are some of the most common topics of discussion :lol: , so you are among "your kind" here!

I hope you get some answers from the vetty today...sending along some prayers!
 
Hi Mara & Mitzi,

I'm new here, but I wanted to send words of encouragement to you both. Take a very deep breath and believe that everything will be ok. I've been caring for animals, many in critical condition, for a very long time :) I've learned from experience that dehydration has such a very significant impact. When I have an unwell animal, hydration is my first effort. I add spring water to all meals. Since you are going to the vet today, I would ask that they give Mitzi fluids - it will do wonders for her. Once she feels better, she will be much more likely to eat.

Regarding the high BGs, I'm learning with Tiger to measure his meals (always the same food Weruva Paw Lickin Chicken only 3-4% carb) and time them when the insulin action is at it's best. I also add taurine ("affects BG & insulin levels favorably, supports kidney function and reverses diabetic neurological damage"-possibly what you're seeing with Mitzi's back legs?) Vitamin B12/Methylcobalamin also for neuropathy. I also add natural vitamin E which is reported to have a favorable affect on BG.

There are many amazing, generous people here who will share their thoughts and support you & Mitzi.
 
Hi there,
IMMEDIATELY what jumps out about MItzi's spreadsheet--

YOU NEED TO KEEP MITZI'S INSULIN DOSE CONSISTENT. DO NOT KEEP MOVING MITZI'S INSULIN DOSE BETWEEN .25U EVERY DAY. Her pancreas is not healing and cannot figure out what you are doing when you move the dose of insulin up and down like that.

YOU MUST TELL YOUR VET WHAT YOU HAVE BEEN DOING WITH MITZI'S INSULIN DOSE!!


I'm not a vet but it sounds to me like Mitzi is dehydrated. You will for sure want them to test to see if she is DKA. If I was you, I would REMEMBER print out Mitzi's SS and make sure to bring it with you to her appointment.

If she is dehydrated, with such high numbers, you will NOT be able to rehydrate her by adding little bits of water to her food. She is going to need fluids with an IV, if the vet tells you that MItzi is dehydrated.

If the vet wants to keep her in a hospital for a few days and rehydrate her with IV fluids, I would let them do it if Mitzi were my cat. It's critical, life and death, that she is hydrated.

I hope that your vet can determine what is wrong and help her right away.

I will say some prayers for you and Mitzi today.
 
The insulin is very new. Hardly used so that's not an issue.
Thanks for all the well wishes. I'm trying to stay positive!
Where would I get any of those vitamins and how would I know how much to give her and when to give them to her?
I'll be sure to tell them to give her fluids, too! Although, I don't think she's dehydrated. I always add water to her food just so it's extra soft and easy for her to eat.
Gotta hop in the shower though. I'll check this again in a little bit! Thank you all!
 
Methycobalamine (methyl B-12) is available as Zobaline which is specifically formulated for diabetic cats. With high numbers, there's a greater chance of diabetic neuropathy developing and this vitamin will help.

How has Mitzi's dose been increased? In what amounts has her dose been increased and how often?

You noted she was diagnosed in June 0f 2012. Has she ever seen better numbers and over what period of time have you been seeing high numbers like this? If Mitzi's numbers have typically been lower, there may be an infection present. This could be a urinary track infection or a dental problem. Any source of infection or inflammation can raise BG numbers.

As others noted, Lantus likes consistency. Because Lantus is a depot type of medication, every time you change a dose, it effects the insulin depot. If you are giving a different amount of insulin at the AM and PM shot times, the depot never has a chance to stabilize. The result is wonky numbers. With these kinds of numbers, typically you want to increase the dose every 3 days at the minimun.
 
Another possibility is your meter is on the fritz and take it with you to the Vet and have him test with his and then yours. Maybe you have to reset it.

Also - YOU cannot see dehydration which is also a killer in humans. It's hard to detect and if your cat is continually peeing and loosing fluids it is not the water they need, it's the vital nutrients that are also not getting into the blood that are needed since the pee carries them out. Water is essential, but also the IV fluids will have nutrients that are delivered directly into the blood stream which we cannot do with just giving water.

Let us know how you make out at the Vet

Shawna
 
Oh my gosh! Thanks you guys for clarifying about dehydration and IV fluids!! I've been caring for animals so many years that I inadvertently was too brief in my comments.

Mara & Mitzi, I'm so sorry! I definitely didn't mean to imply that adding water to food was an alternative to IV fluids. (Adding water to my cats food is my daily effort to provide extra hydration.) My recommendation to have the vet give Mitzi fluids was based on your description of her. "EXTREMELY" lethargic the last few days" (along with other details you provided) was of great concern and it was very irresponsible of me not to say so...I worked for quite a few years at an emergency pet hospital. I'm so glad others commented and provided necessary details. I've learned a valuable lesson!!

I give Tiger 500 mg per day of Taurine which I buy at a local health food store. Sienne and Gabby provided wonderful information in their post on a methyl B-12 specifically for diabetic cats!

I echo the others thoughts on consistent dosing. I put on "magnifying glasses and a miner's headlamp" to draw my insulin! (LOL) Before doing this, Tiger was getting some wonky high numbers.

These amazing, exceptional people will support you and Mitzi through this! I'll be thinking of you both. XOXO for sweetheart Mitzi.
 
Wanted to update everyone on Mara and Mitzi. Mitzi is in renal failure and at the ER. Its is going to cost her $1500. Are there any places that can help her with this? Mara is a college student and has no funds.
 
I just sent those to her. She is going to do a new post tonight after she gets in. She said they told her they wont know what stage yet till tomorrow, she could have a UTI and Pancreatitis. But all those tests will be back tomorrow. She picked up what she can in a low PS wet food for her and taking her Lantus to them. They are also going to give a short acting along with her Lantus. Her BG was 691. She is going to have lots of questions. I have sent her links to Tanya's site and the sorted PS list by Dr. Lisa (along with the financial help sites).

So lots of healing vines to Mitzi and Mara for a speedy recovery!!!! :YMHUG: Mara and Mitzi :YMHUG:
 
Mara just called me back and Mitzi does have pancreatitis (they used the SNAP test). So I sent her the Primer on Pancreatitis that Marje did :smile:
 
Thanks, Donna, for posting the primer. I was just going to post it for her.

Sending Mitzi many healing vines.

Donna....if Mara can get a copy of the bloodwork and post it, I can help her decipher it and if there is renal disease occurring, I can tell her how bad it is.
 
Hi Mara,

We're all thinking of you and Mitzi.. and we are all sending you both tons of kind, compassionate thoughts. When you can, please let us know how you and Mitzi are doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top