2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS~96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt)

Member Since 2010
Good Morning All!

So, I'm not sure if my cat had my phone tapped and heard my extensive call to my vet but as you can see her numbers decided to go back to agreeing with the insulin and getting on track... for now.

2/27 PMPS ~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, 2/28 AMPS ~ 96 - This is on .65 units of Lantus (I did a slight reduction last night and this morning from .75 to .65 due to some really low preshot numbers not documented in her SS thinking perhaps that caused a rebound? I know it's just a guess so we'll see how that plays out)

Also, If her numbers continue on this path should I still have her get a full physical with blood work and dental? She's due for a physical in about 4 months anyway and she's never had a dental so maybe it's a good idea - I just wanted to get some opinions because I'm new at the whole dental game and honestly don't know anyone personally who has ever done it but I trust you guys (hence being back on the board) so advice would be appreciated. The appointment is still set for Friday - full blood work, dental (with pre-blood work for anesthesia) and physical. I just don't want to put my baby through any pain if it's not needed. Maybe I'm the one who will be more freaked out than anything. nailbite_smile

Thanks!

Erica and Chigga!
 
Re: 2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS

Hi Erica, I'm so glad you got the data, I don't see anything there that indicates too much insulin. I would continue to get a couple of tests in the PM cycle daily if you can't get any spot checks during the day. I would also pick a dose and stick with it...Lantus likes consistency. If you are more comfortable with 0.65u, that's fine.

I would keep the appointment Friday for the physical and dental. I know it's nervewracking, everyone worries about dentals, but it easily could be the reason that Chigga came out of remission. To be perfectly honest, it's usually more difficult to get the cat OTJ the second time around, so I would do everything you can as promptly as possible to remove any variables that could be causing higher BG. JMHO
 
Re: 2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS

Laurie,

Consistency may have been what caused the high number in the first place - so you're right. I'm going to stick with the .65 unless protocol indicates otherwise. And you're also correct about keeping with the vet appointment. This way I can know where she's at with blood work and have a healthy mouth and who knows - maybe it'll help her BGs.

I know you said it's more difficult to get a cat OTJ the second time around but it's not impossible, is it?

Thanks for the advice, much appreciated!

Erica
 
Re: 2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt) said:
I know you said it's more difficult to get a cat OTJ the second time around but it's not impossible, is it?

Erica

Not impossible at all :-D :-D

Binks came back from the Falls for a couple of months...
and he's OTJ again...frisky and happy. :mrgreen:
(You can take a look at his "new SS" link in our signature...)
With the great guidance we got here on the forum...we were very aggressive the 2nd time around, and it worked beautifully.

I vote for the dental as well, though...sometimes that's essential for them to stay OTJ.

celi
 
Re: 2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS

Thanks, Celi.

Congrats on the 2nd round OTJ! I hope to follow in your footsteps! Gonna follow through with Friday's appointment and get down to business with testing more frequently. Saturday and Sunday I'll do a full curve to get some more data. I'm glad to be back on these boards!

Erica
 
Re: 2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS

We're glad to see you...though we wish it wasn't due to higher numbers :sad:
 
Re: 2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS

I'm glad you made the vet appt..Many times cats come back from OTJ due to dental problems, or very slight inflammations...Looks like the .65 is working well--
We have paws & fingers crossed for a good outcome & easy transition back to OTJ!
Hugs from us! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/27 & 2/28 Chigga PMPS~111, +2~107, +6~82, +11~98, AMPS

No, it's not impossible! But like Celi said, it pays to be aggressive the second time around. That's why it was suggested that you not stop the insulin, but gather data to assess dose and adjust if necessary instead.

I'm glad you came back too, Erica! Hopefully, the vet visit, dental and a little support for his pancreas will get him back to the falls. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top