2/26 Moses PMPS 84 +.5~83 +1.5~161 +5.5~246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Moses

Active Member
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7425

Yesterday PM Recap:
PMPS 191
+3~105
+4~149

Oh! I thought we'd see green last night! But low, we did not :sad: And I just caught Moses picking on Ivan (my cactus) again. Bringing out the Squirt Bottle, hold on. Okay, Moses fled. Anyways, it's Friday! I'll be gone tonight, so I won't be able to test him too much... but I'll be back in action Saturday.

*Question - I found a treat at my pet shop that could be safe for Moses. It's called Grizzly NuTreats Salmon Cat Treats, here's the link: http://urbanleashandtreat.com/shopping/Treats/Cat-Treats/Grizzly-NuTreats-Salmon-Cat-Treats.html. It seems that it's mostly fish, it's grain free, and I'm not sure what the carb content is. But it's crunchy! And it could work great for Moses trick training :mrgreen: Before I try it, I'd like your input; especially if you know a lot about diabetic cat nutrition

This is Moses being a bully to my little red lion, I caught him in the act. Here's the ruffian:
http://picasaweb.google.com/ericastep5/CatInHeadlights#5442395925044097906
caught.jpg


Happy Friday! Guard your nice things! :lol:
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 +7~172 Treat Question

:lol: OMG I thought that said grizzly nuts! :lol: :lol:

always wonder about treats that come in a bottle made to look like vitamins, gonna go look again, they do sound like they are freeze dried thou...

cute pic of Moses!
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 +7~172 Treat Question

Grizzly NuTreats are the crunchy, healthy way to spoil your cat. Generous bits of smoked wild salmon create the flavor your cat craves. Wild salmon delivers solid nutrition with essential amino acids, vitamins and trace minerals. No grain, starch, sugars, glycols or artificial flavorings added.

Premium, all-natural salmon treats for cats.
Grain-free super-nutritious cat treats.
Made with only North American ingredients.
Enticing, delicious and all-natural smoked salmon recipe.
Naturally enriched with kelp and alfalfa.
Nutritious fish protein with essential amino acids.
Oven baked - crunchy treats.
Grain-free - no fillers.
Bits of smoked wild salmon.
Over 3% fish Omega-3 fatty acids.
Also great for ferrets.
Stays fresh in a flip-top bottle.
Size: 3.2 oz. (Minimum of 150 treats.)
Ingredients:
Salmon protein, smoked salmon, salmon protein hydrolysate, salmon oil, porcine gelatine, kelp, mixed natural tocopherols, rosemary extracts.



looks ok to me, have heard good things about omega oils for kitties,,,not sure about these: tocopherols, rosemary extracts thou
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 +7~172 Treat Question

Afternoon Erica!! Looks like a nice treat!
Cute Pix of Moses--Numbers are looking pretty good today!
Moses looks like Moonie's brother Copper--Love those black cats! cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
Happy Friday! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

I've never had this low of a PMPS before?

And now that it's here... I'm freaking out... even though I know I can have BOS or wait or do a CS dose.... what do ya'll say???

Totally weird!
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

hey Erica

u could stall 15 min and retest

are u in to monitor tonight?
strips, foods?
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

You have 3 options here.
Stall...don't feed and retest in 15 minutes.
You can give a BCS dose.
Or skip the shot.

Personally I would advise the first option. Are you home to monitor tonight....do you have strips and hc food....not that you will need it but it is always good to be prepared.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

I don't really have tons of strips.... I've got some food, though.

oh yes, okay, I won't feed him his 6:00 dinner yet.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

(((Erica & Moses)))
I am newbie too, so I cannot give advice - but if it were me - I would shoot definitely. It looks like you shot this # on 1/29 & he went up after PM shot...
Good luck with whatever you decide - there is no right or wrong answer.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

Okay.. I'm waiting for 15 minutes to roll around. It's so weird!!! I've never seen him hit 84, except for last month, randomly!

So unexpected!
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

Nicole & Baby said:
(((Erica & Moses)))
I am newbie too, so I cannot give advice - but if it were me - I would shoot definitely. It looks like you shot this # on 1/29 & he went up after PM shot...
Good luck with whatever you decide - there is no right or wrong answer.


by the way, on 01/29, Moses was on .75u...currently at 1u...hang in there Erica and let's see what the next number is
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

He had been running around a lot today. A billy goat on the couch!

Maybe the pukus from yesterday? Weird!

Okay, test time....
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84

You just made my heart skip. I saw that 17 and thought it was BG not the number of strips on hand. Any chance someone can pick up more strips for you?
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Ya, I might go grab some, there's a Walmart really close by.

It went down a point to 83.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

he's surfing, you can shoot a surf if you want to. :mrgreen: Then get a +1 and we'll go from there. It will be great data and it will let us know what Moses thinks of this dose.

I'm glad you at least have 17 strips. I didn't want to yell SHOOOOOOOT and then find out you had 3 test strips. :shock:
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Okay, so he's surfing... okay...

And I wanted to see it last night! And here it is in full bloom, w/my plans! ohmygod_smile

But if I shoot, will he go down another 100 points in 3 hours? Seems sketchy!
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

But if I shoot, will he go down another 100 points in 3 hours? Seems sketchy!


thats why u'll grab a +1 and go from there, u have some foods - u have all the power :-D
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

as Nicole pointed out, you can look at your own spreadsheet to get a pretty good idea of what might happen. He really only does the huge drops when he's pink, but at blue/green he has been flatter. If he does drop, then he might earn a dose reduction and that is good too! You can control it with food.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Okay! I get it!

Sorry, when I'm nervous I don't think clearly.

Makes sense! Okay, I'll shoot, here we go. Where's that chocokitty?
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

You shot an 82/84 at the end of January. Moses surfed in the low blues. You can control this easily. And, he can't drop 100 points!!!!

Yes, shoot and feed (or vice versa).
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

I THINK I JUST DID A TOTAL FUR SHOT!

can I redo?

I've never done a furshot before.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

No! You can't redo, not unless the needle never got anywhere near the cat (like you aimed at the wall and shot) or unless the insulin is still in the syringe.

We've all done it, it happens.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

it sucks but don't beat yourself up about it

crappus happens, hey at least ur 911 is over! lol
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Ugh!!!

Does this mean he could surf in the greens the rest of the night? Or dip in an hour?

Big Question = Does it mean I stay in the whole night testing him?
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

do you think any of it went in? You still should get a test or two before you go out. Some of Lucy's best numbers have come on nights when I thought I gave her a fur shot. I have no idea why, just because she's a cat, I guess.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Very exciting night Erica.
Can you redo a fur shot?? No you can't.
Why do you think it was one? Sometimes something gets in without you realizing it.
Keep monitoring Moses as was mentioned above, and grab yourself some chocolate
for having BOS today!!!
You are in control.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Thanks Randi & Max.

I am certain it was a fur shot. I meant to shoot in and up, and I felt it squirt all over my hand and on his fur.

So he has a fur shot, and his big dinner. Sounds like he'll just be surfing the ... whatever number...

ya, I see your point.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

For what it's worth (if it makes you feel any better) everytime I thought I had a fur shot.. it never was!! ;-)
I bet you got some in...you were just nervous to shoot probably.. good job though.

*uh oh.. never mind.. just saw your update.. about all over your hand lol
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Ha, ya! It definitely squirted all over my hand.

He was being extra cranky and grumpy and so I was trying to make it easier and in the end, squirt it everywhere. lol

.....

I'm going to test @ +1.5 since he's eating dinner right now. (and ya'll know about the eating anxiety he experiences)
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

Well consider this good information as to what will happen if you DONT shoot because of a low number. Might help you build confidence the next time around.

Good effort! Still get the BOS award for the night!
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83

I'm sorry. It does suck! It especially sucks after you hauled out those BOS and shined them up! At least if you go out, you won't worry about Moses dropping too low.
 
Re: 2/26 Moses AMPS 238 PMPS 84 +.5~83 +1.5~161

Moses is good. I'm okay. lol

I'll be going out and feeling better. Good to know Moses is 161.

Thanks for understanding and helping me out, everyone whose in my condo :mrgreen: Thank you!!! That was so freaky. Freaky friday, for sure.

I laughed w/your last comment, Sienne & Gabby. I am typically not a BOS person. But I did take them out, and then they had to be put away. lol Oh well. Always tomorrow!

I'll do another check when I come home cat_pet_icon

Thanks again!
 
Alright, so a 246 BG wrap us up for tonight! Moses is sure happy to see that I'm home. He's ready for bed :mrgreen:

I'm happy to see him, too. Wonder what testing will lie ahead tomorrow? Goodnight!

bcatrun_gif
 
Have a good rest Erica. Sorry for the disappointment but as Carolyn said, just more data
to fill that SS with.
We are all glad to help, in whatever form it comes in. Advice, support, or just a computer
ear to listen with.
We are all on the same road. Keeping our kitties safe, healthy and loved.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top