2/26 Mikey PMPS 172, +2.5 39 +3 56 + 3.5 42Mikey's vet visit.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-584-3-386-mega-bounce.133728/#post-1379114

Today was Mikey's vet appointment, and I have lots of good news. Although my vet is not used to the way I'm managing Mikey, he's super supportive. So here's the scoop:

1. Mikey has gained 10 oz. and is back in normal weight range at 7lb 15 oz. (He's not a huge cat.) He's in excellent condition, and his fur is fabulous. It's possible that his higher insulin needs could be partly from the extra weight. Now our job is to stop him from gaining more.

2. Dr. Mowry didn't even bat an eye at the idea of my using pens instead of a vial, nor did he think twice about my wanting to order from Canada. He is going to fax a prescription at Mark's request. He did say that judging by Mikey's spreadsheet, the insulin we're using is still good, but that it made sense to have pens on hand, since it's near the end of it's expected usefulness.

3. Dr. Mowry actually took the time to read over Mikey's spreadsheet. Even though Mikey is bouncing around, he feels that he's responding well to insulin. He offered to do a fructosomine test, but I said no, and he didn't push it at all. He knows me well. :)

4. He did see some tartar on Mikey's teeth, and he totally agreed that a dental could bring his numbers down. The dental is scheduled for March 30, which is the first appointment they have available that is not on my birthday. Dr. Mowry only does dentals once a week, unfortunately. The funny thing is that from what he could see in an examination, which isn't much, it looks like Mikey only needs a dental on one side. Leave it to Mikey! Needless to say, he'll be doing both sides anyhow.

5. Thyroid-wise, we looked at Mikey's bw from October, and his thyroid level was actually a bit low. Apparently this tends to happen when cats are sick from other things. The pre-anesthesia bw will retest this.

All in all I'm very pleased with Mikey's visit. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful vet. And just for a bonus, we shot blue tonight! Now remember, Mikey, no reductions.
 
what a great vetty report! that all sounds really good.

and you not only shot a blue, it was a fairly flat blue from the test a couple of hours earlier - my fingers are crossed that he won't bounce and he'll just surf tonight for you!
 
Surf it Mikey dat will confound your mommy big time!

Love a good vetty visit - and a good vet! The one I changed to after Vyktor's diagnosis hadn't used lantus before but I gave him a copy of the protocol and he was supportive. After a month or two of watching Vyktor's spreadsheet he was happy to leave the dose management to the board.
 
What an awesome vet report. That is the same reason why I like our vet so much. She knows that I do a lot of my own research and I am not just going to do whatever she says just because she said it. I ask a lot of questions and I throw a lot of options back at her once I understand the disease we are dealing with. She doesn't always like my approach to things, but is very supportive nonetheless.
 
Wowzer! Our guys seem take those big drops by +2. We might both be having a PJ party tonight, I know I am.
Yep, and I'm completely worn out. This has been a rough week. Oh well, it is what it is, and a PJ party is one way to catch up with my west coast friends and get some weaving done.
 
Yep, and I'm completely worn out. This has been a rough week. Oh well, it is what it is, and a PJ party is one way to catch up with my west coast friends and get some weaving done.
Yeah, I am completely exhausted, and could barely keep my eyes open for the last hour at work. Sammy (formerly known as Sami) just woke me up with a 42. I am seriously considering giving a bit more HC and to bring up the numbers so I can go to bed, already gave 1 ½ tsp HC.
 
darn it, mikey! you were supposed to stay over 50!!!
39 is the same as 40 with meter variance, so I don't have to take a reduction, right? No dice, huh. :banghead: So we go back down for a few cycles then back up again? Mikey, Mikey, Mikey. I guess this means we should skip the increase. :) :) :)
 
I think he doesn't want a dose increase after all.

The trouble is that the goal is to get all of his blood sugar under 120, not a dive to 39 here and there. :banghead:
 
@julie & punkin (ga) :
Just double checking here. Shoot through the bounce, then reduce by .25, right? He went too low for us to just skinny the .75/fatten a .5?

Maybe the dental will make him more stable. Or maybe he'll never be stable. Or maybe we'll never sleep again.
 
Here's the reference about a cat going into the 30's. I suspect that Mikey is going to continue on this dosing yo-yo until he has his dental - and then i'm going to have my fingers crossed that he stabilizes! Whether or not you shoot through the bounce is your choice.

Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

    Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
    • If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
    • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
 
@Vyktors Mum :

I decideded dat mommy needed some special times wit me, so I gived her a dive instead. She loves to spend special time wit me, 'secially late at night! I am so considerate of her needs. I make mommy so proud.
 
Great vet visit! Tonight, however...Looks like Mikey wins the bungee jumping award again. :rolleyes:
draussen_0086.gif
 
Sorry Mikey - mombean took away my bungee cord when she put me on Levemir. Now I'z slow goin' down, but I'z still got my rocket! ~Neko
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top