2/26 larry AMPS 346 +5 45 mins. 343 10 1/2 395

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
bad morning. got a s1.5U didnt want to start all over with a new syringe and waste all that. larry did not want his shot. took abt 20 mins. i had chicken, and juice, poured on his food. didnt matter. he kept moving and would jump when i touched him, or if the needle touched him. finally i got it in, and he bit me. this is the most docile gentle cat. very stressful. idk how i am going to do shots like this? we have gone from him wanting on the table, and laying down good for his shot, without evn his food, to this. what on earth?
 
Re: 2/26 larry AMPS 346

It could be a lot of different things. Lantus stings some cats even at tiny doses my Autumn is like that she's a witch on Lantus because of its acidic base. So she's on Levemir which like NPH has a neural base. It could be where you're shooting so cats have a preference with Maxwell and Musette I shot in the side just in front of the hind legs Autumn will bite me everytime if I even start to shoot there but shoot the scruff she doesn't even look up.

Try when he's just chillin with you lifting his skin in various spots and see how he reacts.

Mel
 
Re: 2/26 larry AMPS 346

Good afternoon Pam and sweet Larry!

I can't shoot Dakota anywhere but scruff without having him jump and avoid the stick if I even start to tent elsewhere. I know if I can shoot somewhere that makes him jump, that day's numbers are better. Elsewhere than scruff it absorbs much quicker for him. I can shoot KT anywhere without a hiccup. If scruff is where you have to shoot then that's where you have to shoot for now.

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 2/26 larry AMPS 346

Remember we don't lead this dance they do. Just like I would prefer to test both Autumn and Cassanova on my lap on the couch but Cassanova vetoed that idea. He will only allow me to test with him on the bathroom vanity. :roll: And holding him for it is right out. Autumn could care less the couch, in bed, in my lap makes no difference to her.

So you just have to learn what works for you both.

Mel
 
Re: 2/26 larry AMPS 346

I shoot around the shoulders but I can always tell when I am shooting too close to a recently used spot because I get the jerked head turn. Mel's right - Lantus does have a bit of a sting to it. I still have trouble with Alska's reaction to shots but mostly get it in anyway because his reaction is delayed by about a second because of a treat. I tried to get a two-second delay with two treats but he didn't fall for it :lol:
 
Re: 2/26 larry AMPS 346 +5 45 mins. 343

hmm well i tried pulling up skin, i will say pinching, u know what i mean...while hes just laying sprawled out. no reaction. hes def. afraid of the shot :(
i did it as a massage type way. evn faster, diff things, he doesnt mind. oh boy.

with him being overweight, not a lot of scruff in some places, and also with my hands, not easy to pull up scruff.
 
Re: 2/26 larry AMPS 346 +5 45 mins. 343

While it won't help now I'll have my husband video tape me shooting Cassanova tonight and put it up. I grab a pretty big chunk on him cause he's still a chunky boy. Autumn is easier I think because she's long haired. But then again Cassanova is my first shorthair sugar. And the first one I had to take weight off of instead of put weight on.

Mel
 
Re: 2/26 larry AMPS 346 +5 45 mins. 343

ok. cool. i would nvr be able to make it without them but all this FD, plus other factors, makes me miss having 1 pet, or 2, or 4. something more manageable. i would love to have quality over quantity, but i digress.
get this! i went in pulled up skin on larry more. he was fine. put him on test area. hes fine! he did try to get down, but then gave in and laid down. i took a capped syringe, rubbed it on him. nothing. pretend shot. nothing. pretend shot on cabinet. nothing. what on earth? i wonder if its the smell? when i expell the excess it still smells. or does he just know with the time when the real shot is? or what? hes not jumpy and avoidant right now. i really wanna figure out something by tonights shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top