2/26 ELIAN - 327 pmps; 85 +3, 99 +4 nerve-wracking nite

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +6

I guess you are home for a while now Susie. Good catch on the 34! :shock: Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +6, 62 +6.5

Yep I am home for the rest of the day and night. So now that he dropped below 50 again I take him back to a level 3 units as opposed to the 'fat' 3?
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +6, 62 +6.5

That boy sure does keep you on your toes!

Dropping below 50 usually means a .25 unit reduction in Lantus. Obviously, the difference between a fat 3.0 and a regular 3.0 is not .25 units. I'll let the other more experienced folks pipe in on recommendations, but if you wanted to go the more conservative route, you could slide down to a regular 3.0 or a "skinny" 3.0 units. But I think you could also argue for going down to 2.75 as well. Again -- I'll leave that to the people with more experience, especially given all the bouncing that Elian does. :?

Yay for reductions! Good job on bringing him up with HC!
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +6, 62 +6.5

Susan

For a drop in the 30s, he needs a full .25u reduction so I'd take him to a f2.75u. Good catch.

Just as a thought, for a newly dx cat, I would suggest that you not fatten and skinny doses but take him up and down by .25u.

Good luck with the reduction. If he bounces really high by PMPS, you can either shoot one hour early with the new dose OR you can shoot on time through the bounce with the f3u once and take the reduction in the morning.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +6, 62 +6.5

Thanks Sarah and Marje. The reason I started the f3 was because he went so low on the last round of 3.25 units. So just took him up a bit. Will see where he is at pmps (predicting back up high) and decide which route to take.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +5, 62 +5.5, 114 +7

I agree with Marje --- especially on the decrease today. A 34 is Elian clearly telling you its too much insulin.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +5, 62 +5.5, 114 +7

So do you both say take him back to 3 or lower him to 2.75? He was still so high at both levels, hence raising him. But I will do what you recommend, of course. I don't give him his shot until 9:30 pm so there's still plenty of time to figure out what's best. Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +5, 62 +5.5, 114 +7

often a dose that does not work the first time around will work better the second time. You increase the dose, earn the reduction, then go back down. A 0.25u reduction would bring you to fat 2.75 or skinny 3.0 units.

Since Elian is a bouncer, you can shoot through the bounce. That means shoot the old dose for one more cycle to hopefully help him get through the bounce a little easier, then take the dose reduction in the morning.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +5, 62 +5.5, 114 +7

wow great catch on the 34, they would have found me on the ground stroked out next to ruben. Elian is lucky to have such a composed bean.
congrats on the reduction. keep up the good work.
to all the experts........Thank you for all you guys do ((((((((FDMB)))))))))
we are all better parents and people for the knowledge and advise you give us. so so grateful to all of you.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN-amps 361; 34 +5, 62 +5.5, 114 +7, 327 pmps

Okay ..... so I will give him the F3 tonight and a S3 tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 2/26 ELIAN - 327 pmps; 85 +3 gonna be a nerve-wracking n

I think I'm going to regret giving the F3 tonight. He's already down to 85 +3 and that was after eating 1/2 can of Fancy Feast Classic a little while ago. I'll be a nervous wreck all night but he's snuggled up right here in bed with me. Will be keeping a close eye on him and my testing supplies are ready and waiting on my nightstand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top