2/25 Yoyo AMPS 355,+2 422,+4 342,+7 369,PMPS 371,+4 162,+5 149,+6 135,+10 274

Whatcha doing up there, come on down nice and easy
Good morning, Yoyo went the wrong way again! But I'm not sure if I'm the culprit here as I fed him a big tablespoon of food + his pill and then I tested him. I'm not sure how long food takes to effect the blood glucose level readings.
 
Good morning, Yoyo went the wrong way again! But I'm not sure if I'm the culprit here as I fed him a big tablespoon of food + his pill and then I tested him. I'm not sure how long food takes to effect the blood glucose level readings.
I think food takes about 20 minutes to hit the bloodstream, so I don't think the food would be the culprit here. It's possible the increase is caused by a food spike from his AMPS meal. My buddy Lou has had epic food spikes in the past. However, it is possible Yoyo is bouncing from that pretty blue last night. Hopefully he stops the shenanigans and comes back down to better numbers for you soon!
 
I think food takes about 20 minutes to hit the bloodstream, so I don't think the food would be the culprit here. It's possible the increase is caused by a food spike from his AMPS meal. My buddy Lou has had epic food spikes in the past. However, it is possible Yoyo is bouncing from that pretty blue last night. Hopefully he stops the shenanigans and comes back down to better numbers for you soon!
I hope so!!!!Thank you
 
There could also be some NDW in play since you just increased the dose. Or maybe he dipped a little lower last night and is bouncing. I hope he keeps heading down.
 
There could also be some NDW in play since you just increased the dose. Or maybe he dipped a little lower last night and is bouncing. I hope he keeps heading down.
Scary today, his numbers are staying in the mid 300's. I need to check him now and I'll update the site. Thank you for checking in on us:)
 
There could also be some NDW in play since you just increased the dose. Or maybe he dipped a little lower last night and is bouncing. I hope he keeps heading down.
I tried feeding him differently today and I don't think this helped the case today either. I gave him 1/6can @ +4,+5 and +7. I think this made his BG go higher. Maybe I should stay with 1/4 can @ +5 and +7. I would like to get the 2nd 1/4 can into him by +6, but I don't think he will be hungry enough to eat it. I listen to everything that I am advised about and I try to feed him differently, but I don't see any improvement. If I give him smaller meals, I won't be able to get 1.5 cans /cycle into him. I really don't know how to feed him anymore as his numbers are all over the place. Any thoughts that you can share will be appreciated.
 
I'm not good at trying to "feed the curve". I tried only feeding Furball at certain times when she was first diagnosed, but she was hungry all of the time. I just went with free feeding and tried to pick her food up a couple of hours before PS time. Maybe put feed the curve? in your subject line. :bighug::bighug:
 
I tried feeding him differently today and I don't think this helped the case today either. I gave him 1/6can @ +4,+5 and +7. I think this made his BG go higher. Maybe I should stay with 1/4 can @ +5 and +7. I would like to get the 2nd 1/4 can into him by +6, but I don't think he will be hungry enough to eat it. I listen to everything that I am advised about and I try to feed him differently, but I don't see any improvement. If I give him smaller meals, I won't be able to get 1.5 cans /cycle into him. I really don't know how to feed him anymore as his numbers are all over the place. Any thoughts that you can share will be appreciated.
Feeding after nadir can really nip the duration. Think of it like driving a car and coming up to an intersection. If you slam on the breaks 30’ from the intersection, you won’t make it to the stop sign. That’s what usually happens when you feed after nadir...you put the brakes on the duration of the insulin.

How much is 1.5 cans in ounces? If you are feeding 5.5 oz cans, that would be 8.25 oz a cycle. If you fed him a little bit over 2 oz at AMPS and three other times before +6, would he eat it?

I don’t think his numbers are all over the place. Looks like he has NDW right now. What I’m seeing is he just doesn’t have enough insulin. When he bounces from drops or lower numbers, he then clears the bounces with another drop. We call this a dive/bounce cycle.

Sometimes Gracie would do this and I’d test every hour to catch when she started to drop and then feed the food I knew would slow her down and flatten out. I normally fed 6% food but if she started the dive/bounce cycles, I’d test more and if she dropped from one hour to the next early in the cycle, I’d up the carbs to 10-13% depending on how fast she was dropping.

You also might need to feed a food that is more in the 8-10% carbs level, if he will eat something else. If he won’t, then it’s not worth upsetting the apple cart.
 
Feeding after nadir can really nip the duration. Think of it like driving a car and coming up to an intersection. If you slam on the breaks 30’ from the intersection, you won’t make it to the stop sign. That’s what usually happens when you feed after nadir...you put the brakes on the duration of the insulin.

How much is 1.5 cans in ounces? If you are feeding 5.5 oz cans, that would be 8.25 oz a cycle. If you fed him a little bit over 2 oz at AMPS and three other times before +6, would he eat it?

I don’t think his numbers are all over the place. Looks like he has NDW right now. What I’m seeing is he just doesn’t have enough insulin. When he bounces from drops or lower numbers, he then clears the bounces with another drop. We call this a dive/bounce cycle.

Sometimes Gracie would do this and I’d test every hour to catch when she started to drop and then feed the food I knew would slow her down and flatten out. I normally fed 6% food but if she started the dive/bounce cycles, I’d test more and if she dropped from one hour to the next early in the cycle, I’d up the carbs to 10-13% depending on how fast she was dropping.

You also might need to feed a food that is more in the 8-10% carbs level, if he will eat something else. If he won’t, then it’s not worth upsetting the apple cart.

Yoyo eats the 3oz cans of fancy feast, only the pate type. This is supposed to be the Low Carb type. I feed him half a can at AMPS/PMPS and then he finishes the can about an hour later @+1. He will not eat the entire can at AMPS/PMPS. I usually have to hand feed him his food. At +4, +5 or +7 he is usually hungrier and will eat the food from the plate with me watching him. Yes, he is spoiled and he waits for me to hold his plate; I'm well trained:joyful::joyful:.....so a normal day is half a can at AMPS/PMPS, half can @+1, 1/4 can @ +4 or +5 depends on his BG level, and then 1/4 can @ +7. I delay his +4 feeding depending on how low his BG level is @+4. Should I be doing this? I thought by delaying his food at +4 I was lowering his BG level for his +5 reading. I'm trying to get that last 1/4 in at +6 but it doesn't always work out that way,usually he gets it @+7.
I started to try and feed him smaller meals earlier in the cycle, but that doesn't seem to be working for him either.

Does it matter how much I feed him as long as he gets his food before he nadirs out? I think he nadirs out sometime during +5. I'm trying to get him to have lower numbers from +5 through +11. I'm trying not to put the brakes on the duration of the insulin, but I am not doing a good job even though I'm trying. I'm told that I will know how my kitty reacts to food, but I really can't tell. He reacts differently to the insulin and sometimes no matter what I do, I feel I am not in control, but the insulin is in control. Sometimes he drops no matter what time his food is given to him- and that is the confusing part.
Sorry if I am rambling on.....but hopefully you understand what I'm trying to write here.
Also, Yoyo is very picky with what he eats. If it isn't fancy feast, he won't touch it. I have tried Blue, which to me looks and smells the same, but he won't touch it! He won't eat chicken or steak either, he just likes his fancy feast cat food....Yukk!
 
Feeding after nadir can really nip the duration. Think of it like driving a car and coming up to an intersection. If you slam on the breaks 30’ from the intersection, you won’t make it to the stop sign. That’s what usually happens when you feed after nadir...you put the brakes on the duration of the insulin.

How much is 1.5 cans in ounces? If you are feeding 5.5 oz cans, that would be 8.25 oz a cycle. If you fed him a little bit over 2 oz at AMPS and three other times before +6, would he eat it?

I don’t think his numbers are all over the place. Looks like he has NDW right now. What I’m seeing is he just doesn’t have enough insulin. When he bounces from drops or lower numbers, he then clears the bounces with another drop. We call this a dive/bounce cycle.

Sometimes Gracie would do this and I’d test every hour to catch when she started to drop and then feed the food I knew would slow her down and flatten out. I normally fed 6% food but if she started the dive/bounce cycles, I’d test more and if she dropped from one hour to the next early in the cycle, I’d up the carbs to 10-13% depending on how fast she was dropping.

You also might need to feed a food that is more in the 8-10% carbs level, if he will eat something else. If he won’t, then it’s not worth upsetting the apple cart.
Forgot to ask you about what you wrote above....When he bounces from drops or lower numbers, he then clears the bounces with another drop. We call this a dive/bounce cycle..... I know he bounces, but I don't see where he clears the bounce with another drop. Can you please tell me what days you saw this?
Thanks again for all your help and thank you for listening to me. I have a lot to learn!
 
Back
Top