2.25 Tessie Lou AMPS 348--dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Well, the new Lantus pen didn't seem to have much effect on her numbers last night or this morning. I think her food boycott of 2/23 was really a statement about Purina DM, and possibly the NV raw. I stopped both, and she seems quite happy with Merrick's Cowboy Cookout I started giving her last night, and so far no GI problems. I wonder if the NV raw was too high fat for her and caused some pancreatitis? She was never crazy about the DM, and like so many other kitties, she said ENOUGH!

Talked to the vet today and she is on board with a dose increase to 1.5 units bid, starting tonight. I'm just not sure where that plunger is supposed to line up. Do you line the top of the plunger up with the top of the black 1/2 unit mark? Or do you try to center it over the black line. Or does it matter, as long as I pick one way and stay with it. I was never sure on the 1.25 if I was being consistent with the dose.

Anyway, vet thinks her higher numbers lately could be either another UTI coming on, or pancreatitis. She gave me some strips to check for blood in her urine tomorrow morning, and wants to talk on Monday. She commented that the bloodwork for pancreatitis is something we could do, but that she is almost certain to have it (chronic) and there isn't much to do about it. Comments from others who have experienced this, please?
 
No experience with the dosing or the pancreatitis. I'm sure you'll get feedback on both.

I sent you a PM about the .25 dosing on the syringe. Consistency is the important part. Here's a link to where you can find pics: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

I think Ann (and Maggie) discovered that cowboy cookout causes a bit of a bump in their numbers so maybe this will do that a bit for Tessie Lou. Maverick wouldn't touch it LOL.
 
Karrie, I got your PM--thanks again for the sticky link with syringe pics. Very helpful!

Hmmm, that's interesting about Ann and Maggie and Cowboy Cookout. It's supposed to be only 5% carbs, compared to DM's 7%, so I had hoped it would bring her numbers down. Her numbers have been creeping up for a couple weeks now, so I can't blame it on the CC. And Maverick won't touch it, huh? That is so funny! They are quite the unique characters, aren't they? My civvie, T.J. actually "winced" when I opened the can! And then he took off like it was going to explode or something! :lol: Go figure...I'm just glad he's not the sugarcat. He would be a nightmare to test/feed/shoot. He is on his own time schedule (actually he's on his own planet!) But we love the goofy little guy...he's the one who ate the lilly. :!:

Still wondering about people's experiences with pancreatitis and what, if anything can be done to treat it at home?
 
Yes, I would increase the dose. I know you are going with your vet's advice on dosing, and I don't want to step on toes, but as others have pointed out, the protocol we use here suggests increasing after 6 cycles under most circumstances until you start seeing good numbers. When you hold the dose for extended periods of time, the cat sits in higher numbers and they get used to those higher numbers.....they sort of get "stuck" there....then it takes even more insulin to get a breakthrough. It's really best to go up the dosing scale the way the protocol is written, it gets you to an effective dose the fastest and safest way. As for measuring the dose, I measure to the middle of the line for 1.5u. However you measure it, just make sure you do it the same way all the time....consistency is the most important thing.

I'm among the people who have found that Cowboy Cookout boosts my kitty's numbers. However, that doesn't mean you shouldn't use it....see how it works for Tessie, she may do just fine with it! I wish we could use it, as it has a lower fat content than a lot of the other higher quality foods. You are right, it is lower carb than DM, and it is certainly much better quality. Interestingly, I have found that some foods that are supposed to be low carb boost Tinkles' numbers, while other foods that are supposed to be the same carb percentage (or higher) don't. I have yet to figure out why, I just test each food and use it or not accordingly.

I'm sorry I can't give you much help on the pancreatitis, I have no experience with it. I do know that there are ways to treat it, including pain meds....I know I have seen people post about it being painful. Pain will boost numbers too, as will infection or inflammation. Maybe add pancreatitis? to your subject line, others with experience may peek in and give feedback. You also could start a thread on health to get more feedback.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Yes, I would increase the dose. I know you are going with your vet's advice on dosing, and I don't want to step on toes, but as others have pointed out, the protocol we use here suggests increasing after 6 cycles under most circumstances until you start seeing good numbers. When you hold the dose for extended periods of time, the cat sits in higher numbers and they get used to those higher numbers.....they sort of get "stuck" there....then it takes even more insulin to get a breakthrough. It's really best to go up the dosing scale the way the protocol is written, it gets you to an effective dose the fastest and safest way. As for measuring the dose, I measure to the middle of the line for 1.5u. However you measure it, just make sure you do it the same way all the time....consistency is the most important thing.

I understand what you're saying, Laurie, and it makes a lot of sense. I'll try to do better--so far it's been a compromise with the vet, but I get the logic of the protocol.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I'm among the people who have found that Cowboy Cookout boosts my kitty's numbers. However, that doesn't mean you shouldn't use it....see how it works for Tessie, she may do just fine with it! I wish we could use it, as it has a lower fat content than a lot of the other higher quality foods. You are right, it is lower carb than DM, and it is certainly much better quality. Interestingly, I have found that some foods that are supposed to be low carb boost Tinkles' numbers, while other foods that are supposed to be the same carb percentage (or higher) don't. I have yet to figure out why, I just test each food and use it or not accordingly.

Good to know! Hopefully she'll not go up. I also bought Wellness, but it's a lot higher in fat than Merrick. Either way, I'm glad she's off the DM.

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I'm sorry I can't give you much help on the pancreatitis, I have no experience with it. I do know that there are ways to treat it, including pain meds....I know I have seen people post about it being painful. Pain will boost numbers too, as will infection or inflammation. Maybe add pancreatitis? to your subject line, others with experience may peek in and give feedback. You also could start a thread on health to get more feedback.

Great suggestion--I'll post on Health.
Thanks Laurie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top