2/25 Simon PMPS 70, 2 units

Status
Not open for further replies.

martimar

Member Since 2013
Help! I've been reading and reading, but it's so much to take in. Jim and I did Simon's first glucose test and we were more nervous than Simon! He was just antsy because he was hungry. I felt like I had four hands and dropped the lancet twice. Despite watching the videos, we lost the first perfect drop of blood because of a test strip inserted backwards. Finally got another one from the other ear, and the reading was 70. We gave the shot of 2 units of Lantus and fed him. I went back to my learning on FDMB and now I'm worried that we should not have given him the shot. Was it too much? I keep checking on him, and he seems fine, but I'm worried. Please advise.

Also, I could not find in the glossary; what does AMPS and PMPS stand for? Pre-shot?
 
martimar said:
Help! I've been reading and reading, but it's so much to take in. Jim and I did Simon's first glucose test and we were more nervous than Simon! He was just antsy because he was hungry. I felt like I had four hands and dropped the lancet twice. Despite watching the videos, we lost the first perfect drop of blood because of a test strip inserted backwards. Finally got another one from the other ear, and the reading was 70. We gave the shot of 2 units of Lantus and fed him. I went back to my learning on FDMB and now I'm worried that we should not have given him the shot. Was it too much? I keep checking on him, and he seems fine, but I'm worried. Please advise.

Also, I could not find in the glossary; what does AMPS and PMPS stand for? Pre-shot?

OK I am VERY glad you got a test number, but I think you may be having a late night tonite because the number you got of 70 is not a number that people would give any insulin at all.

So, what time did you test and give the shot? In your local time, when did you give the shot and how long ago was that?
Can you test now, and post his number?
How many test strips do you have on hand and if you need more, can you get some tonite?
What food are you feeding him and do you have high carb food on hand, and karo in case he goes low?

Here are some links of info you should read and if there are any items in the hypo tool kit that you don't have, it may be an idea to get them.
List of Hypo symptoms
How to treat HYPOS-They can kill! Print this out!
Jojo’s HYPO TOOLKIT

Cats hide things well, so read on the signs of hypo and watch him closely.
Do you have your nearest vet and ER phone numbers in case you need them?

Retest him now and post the number, along with the time now and the time of his insulin shot.
 
Hey Marie,
I posted over on the Lantus forum that you may need some help if Simon goes very low tonite, OK?

Here's the link to the post I started ....
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89776

There are many people here who can help you, so if you have any concerns, questions, just post here. Please watch his numbers closely..... here's how a typical curve for a Lantus shot often works.
It takes a few hours to start working because food may cause a bit of a rise, but then the numbers will start to drop.....
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number. (this is your test number of 70)
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Welcome, Marie, Jim and Simon.

If I may make a suggestion, it may be easier for you to get help tonight if you post on the Lantus Tight Regulation board. The Lantus board usually has people around 24/7 (or pretty close). Relaxed Lantus is not busy and it's lucky that Gayle (aka Blue) was around to lend a hand. Alternatively, you can post on Health. There are usually people there, as well.

I agree that you probably should have held off on shooting. Can you please get a +1 test?
 
I agree you may be in for a long night and you will probably want to post either over on the TR group as they will be busy most of the night, or health again for additional eyes. You need to get another test as soon as possible.

70 is a normal non-diabetic number so it is very likely that 2 units is way too much. Some of us do shoot low numbers but we have months and months of testing data to do so...right now we have no history on Simon to know how he is going to handle the dose.

Do you have some high carb food and karo syrup handy in case you need it? This is a good time to round up everything for your hypo get and get it all in one place if you haven't already. You don't want to have to look for stuff if he starts dropping fast on you.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Marie and Jim

I'm one who often stays up late with lantus members to help with low numbers. It would help me if you could post in the Lantus ISG so I can also watch out for other members over there. Plus, there are often other members who are up late there and can watch out for you all, too.

Hope you post there. Did you get a +1 yet?
 
So glad you got help!

There are only a couple of us on here sometimes, when it's important, I head for the Health or TR board, more 'eyes' to help you there. :thumbup

Hope you and Simon are well today! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top