2/25 Rosa AMPS 107 +1 80 +4 90 +6.5 73 +7.5 75 +9 95 PMPS 127 +2 86 +3 85 +4 101

Status
Not open for further replies.
She thinks so too - she thinks she's done with all this testing nonsense now. She's been trying to get out of it all day, and hissing when she can't :P But she's going to have to put up with it a bit longer!! ;)
 
Haven't had a chance to pop in on Rosa's condo in a few days...but WOW! Look at her go! :D:D:D April, you should be so proud of your efforts in helping Rosa get to this point.
 
Thank you :) but I've just been doing what we all do for our cats. Rosa's the one who's really worked the insulin - I've been lucky with how well she's responded to it :D

Though I did suggest to Michael that we should take his youngest, who's diabetic for a couple of months instead of just at weekends to get some proper control for him too since we seem to have been able to force more control on Rosa than he usually seems to have! ;)

She'd appreciate only having the vial waved over her head I'm sure!! :D I was hoping that I'd be able to get to one more reduction after this if necessary, but I think that would be a case of whatever stuck to the needle while it was in the vial rather than anything I actually got into the syringe!! I'd like her to wait a couple of days for that though - she still gets a few numbers above the 120 yet so I'm not sure she's quite ready for nothing at all just yet.
 
Thank you :) Fortunately, yes, she's saved the lower numbers for after I get home at least for now!

It hasn't been too bad thank you - Michael is able to work from home most days for at least part of the day so I've been doing her AMPS, shot and a +1 just before I leave in the morning. Then he gets a +4 unless I've told him I need an earlier reading. After that, we see where she is and figure out what other tests he needs to get. Luckily, the office I'm working in is very relaxed - I can show up in jeans, boots and a shirt instead of anything formal. And they don't mind if I have to send and receive a few texts while we figure out what tests to do for Rosa - I explained it all to them on the first day, but they said they're not worried about people using their cellphones anyway as long as it's not all day :) And for the next week or so at least, I'm finishing at 2 because I'm training with someone who works very early hours. It means I lose a few hours each week, though I work straight through from 8-2 so it still isn't too bad and I'm home to monitor her from +9 to PMPS to see if I'm going to be shooting a falling or rising number. As it happens, Michael seems to be better at the testing than I am - he doesn't ever seem to get an E-7 or have to do 2 pokes to get enough blood, though Rosa's not quite as sure about him testing her as she is with me.
 
:D:D:D
I've often heard that as kitties get closer to the finish line, they get grumpier about their BG tests. :cool:
 
It could be that I guess - it's as if she feels like she's just done with all this now. Maybe she knows something we're not sure about yet!! ;) I might give her a little bit of mc if she's still dropping fast in another hour tonight though - I really don't want to take away that last tiny dose just yet. I'm not sure she's quite ready and I'd rather her stay at 0.1 for a bit than get a few days off then have to go right back on it again even if it does annoy her for a bit longer!

I'm actually waiting for our vet to call and tell me off too - I sent through Rosa's latest spreadsheet last night (fortunately before she hit that 41) but they're not going to be happy that I've kept reducing her dose...or that I'm still testing her more than once every 4 hours.

She still sits still for the tests - we just have to catch her first now. And while she just grumps at me and growls a bit, she's hissed at Michael a couple of times today when he's gone to test her. Fortunately, she's stopped at making noise so everyone still has all their fingers!
 
Well, I will be doing them out of a lot of money right now - no curves at the vet, no fructosamine test. And possibly no more prescriptions either ;) Oh and they didn't make a profit on the prescription food they wanted to sell me either!!

I doubt they'll just accept it - it doesn't seem to matter how well something works, if it wasn't their idea they have some complaint or other to make about it :P No doubt I'll hear all about how impossible it is for her to actually get off insulin and I must be testing her all wrong - you know, around the times she drops low instead of the every 4 hour schedule they prefer! Though they can scream all they like - I'm happy with her progress and as I'm the one taking care of her every day, that's more important to me than them not liking it just because they didn't get to help decide how I went about managing it for her ;)
 
I'm actually waiting for our vet to call and tell me off too - I sent through Rosa's latest spreadsheet last night (fortunately before she hit that 41) but they're not going to be happy that I've kept reducing her dose...or that I'm still testing her more than once every 4 hours.

Sadly, it seems like some vets refuse to see that you're doing things RIGHT, even when there is uncontroverted proof right in front of them. I keep my fingers crossed that your vet will PRAISE you for the great job you're doing. If not, don't let them rain on your parade with anything negative they might say. I got the "lecture" too recently at Eddie's annual vet visit, about testing less. On review of Eddie's GORGEOUS spreadsheet which shows that he's miraculously flattened out into being tightly regulated compared to 6 months ago when he was still bouncing wildly, she asked, "how often are you testing??" at which point I started to say "well, it depends on his numbers..." and DH gleefully threw me under the bus by proclaiming "at least 10 times a day!" Vetty suggested that 3 times a day was the max necessary. That's when I just nod and smile. Although to be fair, my vet has actually been pretty supportive (or at least not adverse) of us following TR and doing things our way.

I've always thought that while a fructosamine is really a waste of money, it does PROVE that kitty's in normal numbers. So, if you wanted to prove it to them simply for your own edification, you could do that. Or have them include a BG test on the B/W to show that her BG is normal. But, like you said, April, some vets refuse to acknowledge your success if it wasn't achieved using their instructions. Hugs to you and scritches to Rosa!
 
I'm actually surprised they didn't call me tonight - I was expecting to hear from them right after they close as that's when they usually call. Maybe they're not quite sure what to say this time ;)

The thing is, I'd be more than happy to share the information on the methods we use here with them - in fact I tried the first time they called to question what I was doing. But they just weren't interested. Though maybe now they can see how much better Rosa's doing all the time, they might be a bit more curious about just how we achieved it!! And as for the testing - with TR, testing only every 4 hours really isn't an option a lot of the time. They can see how often I'm testing from the spreadsheet - I know they don't like that, but my point is that it's worked, whether they think it's necessary or not. :)

I could let them do the fructosamine if they won't accept the ss as proof that I'm keeping her in healthy numbers - I don't really see the point of it, but if it helps them to realize that I'm not making up any of the data on her ss it might be worth it.

Thank you for the hugs and scritches - I can always use hugs and Rosa just LOVES scritches :D :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top