2/25 P - AMPS: 484, +4: 409

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and P

Member Since 2014
Wow. I really wish I hadn't gone to sleep so "early" last night. I'm really, really hoping there was a lower number that I didn't catch that caused the red-light laser show P had today.

I'm starting to wonder if this is too much insulin. I read a journal published by the AAHA that said an overdose of insulin can cause hyperglycemia. There were no details, or explanation, just that statement. Of course, any new information I come across always makes me go "ah, could this be it?" So now, I've got this rattling around in my head.

We haven't seen a yellow in, count 'em, 6 days. I'm wondering since he looked like he liked that 4 units on the third cycle, and it was at night, maybe he needs 4 at night, and more/less during the day. Gah, I don't know.

I'm getting him in for the urinalysis tomorrow hopefully, so I guess I just need to wait to see what that tells me.

Gonna hold the 4.75 tonight and test like crazy.


:YMSIGH:
 
I wish I knew, Melissa. You did go down to 1.5 for that one cycle and he stayed pretty flat. ( but no worse than today's) Maybe we should have given it a few cycles. But I am always so nervous about reductions especially with a history of ketones.

Nothing about him makes much sense. He started out on tiny doses of insulin, and low numbers and then steadily went up with higher doses.

The things we might usually think are bad insulin, (no flakes or pieces of anything in the vial?) or an infection, insulin resistance or too much insulin. Wish I knew which if any of those it might be. You could try another insulin - maybe this one just won't work for him. Might be a question to ask the vet.
 
I just did a thorough examination of the bottle, and the only thing I see is that there is a little bit of whiteish stuff stuck to the inside of the vial around the collar, right under the stopper. It's not a lot, but it's there. I'm going to take the vial to the vet to show him and see what he says. And I'll ask about another insulin.

I don't want to reduce too much, but would it be "okay" to go back to 4 units tonight?
 
That lazer lights show sure looks like a bounce cycle to my eye, but I don't see what P might have bounced from...the PM cycle afterwards looks better.
 
I was thinking a bounce too, from a quickie low that night that I didn't catch. But then I've also started to think he's just got too much insulin floating around. I don't know if the 4 units I shot last night is the reason he came down, or if he was just coming out of the bounce...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top