2/25 Mikey PMPS 88 +1 73 +2 56 +3 66 +4 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 128
+2 127
+4 79 A very pretty morning for Mr. Cat! He's accosting my roommate right now in hopes that she won't know I already fed him three times today...
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey AMPS 128 +2 127 +4 79 +9 97

PMPS 89! Stalling for 15-20 minutes just to make sure he's headed upward or at least level! But what a great number! Mikey seems to be doing well the past couple of days!
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 89 Stalling to check direction

+12.15 77! I'm definitely not going to shoot a falling number right now! How long do you guys typically stall before skipping a shot. I can probably go up to an hour or so for the short term.
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 89 Stalling to check direction

SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!

FYI, the whole "don't shoot a dropping number" thing doesn't really matter, especially for cats following the TR protocol. Lantus doesn't usually kick in for at least 2 hours after the shot, and you'll have fed by then, so he'll almost certainly be rising before the insulin starts to work. If for some reason he doesn't, then you can always give some HC and pop him right back up. Obviously you don't want to go crazy - don't shoot 30s or 40s of course, and if he is dropping fast from clearing a bounce or something then you might want to be more careful. Otherwise, SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!

:lol:
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 89 +12.15 77...HELP! What to do?

I will shoot if he starts back up, but Mikey tends to drop early and fast as it is. I'd shoot a falling number if it was, say 177, but not a 77. Just the other night he went from 102 to 54 by +1.
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 89 +12.15 77...HELP! What to do?

the difference between 2/23 and tonight is that on 2/23 he was probably clearing a bounce at PMPS time. He started high (212), +2 was already lower than AMPS (indicating an active cycle), and PMPS was lower yet. Probably, if you had gotten any other spot checks during that cycle, you would have seen a long drop through the whole cycle, with no real nadir.

Today, you DO have some other spot checks, and you can see that Mikey started out fairly level, dropped to a nadir of at least 79, then went up and is now doing a second dip. The key is that he already had a nadir in this cycle - on 2/23 he most likely did not.

Up to you, though. Even if it is a second dip, that doesn't mean that for sure he won't keep dropping. It just means that it's not a bounce clearing so the drop doesn't have as much momentum behind it (and is therefore easier to control with food).
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 89 +12.15 77...HELP! What to do?

Grrr I just wrote a whole post and poof it dissappeared.

I agree with Libby. Shoot low to stay low. I would shoot now, as you will be feeding when you shoot and Mikey's BG will rise when you feed, and the Lantus onset is not until around +2. If you skip you run the risk of loosing all that momentum and Mikey is doing so well on this dose.
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 89 +12.15 77...HELP! What to do?

PMPS 88 He was up to 88 and holding at +12:45 so I fed and shot, with a little HC in his dinner to encourage a spike and slower drop. Here's hoping for a great green (but not TOO green, please, Mikey!!) night!
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 88...eek!

+1 73 I gave his 2nd feeding with just a bit more HC in it to slow the drop; hopefully he'll slow down. He doesn't wait for the +2 to start using his insulin, but his nadir is generally between +3 and +4, so hopefully we won't see TOO much action.
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 88...eek!

Looks like he's good to go all night, but of course check again, YAY Mikey!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 88...eek!

+2 56 Gave 3rd feeding and a bit more HC to keep those numbers above 50
 
Re: 2/25 Mikey PMPS 88 +1 73 +2 56

+3 66 Mikey is a beginner at these pretty PS numbers too, but I sure like them, even if I do have to give afew extra carbs to keep them where they belong!
 
I like it, and so does Mikey!

I always think of this video when I see his name :smile:

[youtube]vYEXzx-TINc[/youtube]
 
+5 89 And Mikey and I are going to catch some zzzzz's! LOL my Mikey likes EVERYTHING, not like picky Mikey who only likes Life!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top