Golf2015
Member Since 2020
- BG Reading @ AMPS is (103)
- Preshot Dosage =0.50 units
- Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb
- Next BG Reading @ AMPS +2
Previous Thread
Absolutely. That likely happened 4-6 cycles after the reduction. He’s due for a reduction to 0.25u tomorrow but I know you want to see those green PSs back. Since you test so much, if you want to take him back up to 0.75u, you could. I just don’t think leaving him at this dose is doing anything for him so it’s either go up or down and see what he does.Has the depot leveled off now and I'm witnessing numbers that are more in line with the current dose of 0.50 units
Leaving him at this dose will allow his pancreas to heal but I was hoping we could kickstart him. Sometimes this happens....going up and down around a dose. He might only need a few shots at the 0.75u dose or he might need the entire week but I think we both want a stronger remission and getting there slowly is better.So leaving Henry at this dose does not allow the pancreas to heal further but going up or down on the dose will
I'm going up tomorrow to 0.75 units at AMPS to further the healing of his pancreas hopefully to achieve remission in the future if possible
This could not be further from the truth. I’m trying to give you options to address your concerns that Henry is spending more time in BGs over 100 than he was at 0.75u. Again, my goal is to do what is best for Henry towards a strong remission.I really feel like your giving me hard time. So I have to make a choice of up or down.
Leaving him at this dose will allow his pancreas to heal but I was hoping we could kickstart him. Sometimes this happens....going up and down around a dose. He might only need a few shots at the 0.75u dose or he might need the entire week but I think we both want a stronger remission and getting there slowly is better.
This could not be further from the truth. I’m trying to give you options to address your concerns that Henry is spending more time in BGs over 100 than he was at 0.75u. Again, my goal is to do what is best for Henry towards a strong remission.
There are three scenarios:
I don’t know what Henry will do. I also don’t want to tell you what you should do because you’ve been at this long enough and you are there with Henry. We’ve always had a “relationship” where I suggest and you decide. It’s no different here.
- Leave the dose at 0.5u but, after a week already at this dose, he’s still got PSs in the low 100s. His pancreas is still having healing time. Under the TR protocol, we could still reduce but, given that he’s trended upwards with the 0.5u dose, will he continue to do so with less insulin?
- Try a reduction to 0.25u and increase the dose as soon as we see a higher trend, if we do.
- Increase to 0.75u because he looks the same on 0.5u this time as he did last time. The 0.75u got him back into better numbers. Perhaps it would be enough so that next decrease to 0.5u will leave him in BGs below 100.
I’m here to support and suggest but you get to make the decision. We all want what is best for Henry.
OK great Thank You. Your statement about checking Henry BG so much is because he could potentially dive in numbers and I should catch that event early. I have a (2) hour surgery tomorrow so I will give him 0.50 units at AMPS because I will not be around until AMPS +7
Thank You Marje
Please accept my apologies both the forum and Marje