2/25 Fred AMPS=195/.8u;+5=13310.5=180

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Need help on how much to shoot. He woke me up early and was hungry, so I tested and fed him about 20min before usual time. (I'll still call this AMPS and mark tests from 7am). He was in mid-low 200's all yesterday, so I'm not sure about a .8u shot.
If I don't hear from anyone, I'll just give him the .8u as yesterday, but will try to test again at +2 and +5.
 
Re: 2/25 Fred AMPS=195

Hi Kathy.

If you haven't shot already, what you can do is stall by waiting 30 minutes without feeding and test again and shoot based on that number. Otherwise, Fred's close enough to 200. 0.8 should be fine.
 
Re: 2/25 Fred AMPS=195/.8u;+5=133

Won't be home until +8 or +9. If he's still in 100's by PMPS, what is your suggestion for insulin shot? Thanks.
 
Re: 2/25 Fred AMPS=195/.8u;+5=133

Looks great!

If he's high 100's, like his amps, I'd do the same. If he's mid 100's, I'd hold off and test again to be sure he's on his way up and reduce the dose. But that's me and I've been known to be aggressive.

With those nice numbers, I'd hate to see you lose momentum.

I'm sure Jen and Sue will chime in with more experience than I, with your insulin.
 
Gone all day and when I just got home I tested - 180. He's really anxious to eat, but I know I'll have to wait until 7pm (now 5:45 EST). Should have left frozen snacks, but I didn't think I'd have to work so long. :YMSIGH:

Please check in then to see his PMPS because I know he'll be right on the line and I want to get this right.

Thanks!
 
Nice blues today - all below the renal threshold so his pancreas can heal. Did he get a snack with the test? If not, he could have a few bites to tide him over.

Did I read you were feeding Friskies shredded food? If so, you could switch to pates. It might bring him down a little. If he likes the texture of the shreds, you can add some warm water to the food and make a gravy.
 
I was afaid to give a treat with 10.5 test because I was told not to feed 2 hrs before PMPS. He's ticked but we're close now. I'll do better tomorrow!

no more shreds. he's on the Friskies/Fancy Feast low carb food ONLY. May try to mix in chicken with high carb stash later.
May have to test at 6:30 because he's driving me nuts!!
 
HIS PMPS is 273!!!!

What on earth is going on -- in one hour he went up 100 points! This is crazy. I knew he was hungry, but would that have pushed into so much stress?

Now I don't know whether to shoot based on the 180 or this ridiculously high number. Really need advice on this one. ohmygod_smile
 
He decided to hide!

His number is now 266. what should I shoot?

Just so I'm clear, a small snack 2 hours before AM or PMPS is OK.

Really disappointed that I messed things up!
 
You didn't mess anything up. It could have been that; he might have bounced a little; he might have seen a squirrel :mrgreen:

Your .8 on 266 last night gave you a nice number this am. I'd go with it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top