2/25 Dax AMPS 124 PMPS 304 (+3 160) (+4 124)

Kaitlyn

Member Since 2019
Hey all his AMPS are pretty low this morning and I have to go to work. Should I reduce his shot or just skip this morning as I cannot monitor him properly as I work for the next 8 hours?
 
I think I would skip. There is no history of DKA, correct?

When you get a chance, can you check on the dates? They are not in order on the spreadsheet.
 
Good call to skip. You don't have enough data to shoot low. It does look like you shot 74 on the 2/23, which was pretty risky. When first on Lantus and until you have gathered enough data it is recommended not to shoot anything under 150. Also, please always get a pre shot number before you give insulin to make sure it is safe and any other test that you can get will be helpful to know how low the dose is taking him.

Most kitties nadir around +4-+7 so getting some test in during those times will be very helpful. Another great test to get is a +2. It can help you to know how the cycle could play out. If the +2 number is lower than the pre shot number, then it could be an active cycle and if you have to leave the house you could give him some more food to help slow him down and /or leave some for him.

If you could fill in your SS with as much BG data's you have, that would be great so that we could help you. 2 units is a lot to start off with. How much does Dax weigh? Most kitties start off somewhere around 1 to 1.5 units. The idea is to be on a dose that allows you to shoot twice a day, 12 hours apart. 2 units might be too much.

Oh, and Welcome to the Lantus , Basaglar and Levemir forum! :)
 
Here is the link to your previous post here, for continuity http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dax-pmps-73-8-4-1-mmol.211124/

In that post, I suggested you reduced to 1.75 units. There is dry food in the picture and that 74 means 2.0 units is taking him too low. For Dax’s safety, please reduce the dose. It is less likely he will give you numbers too low to shoot as well.

@Bobbie And Bubba dry food in the picture means SLGS, and should be a starting dose of 1.0 unit.
 
Last edited:
dry food in the picture means SLGS, and should be a starting dose of 2.0 unit
How does dry in the picture mean a starting dose of 2.0 units. I think you meant 1 unit. Taken from the SLGS stickie:

Starting Dose:
  • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
  • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
  • If the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be increased or decreased by taking prior data into consideration
  • Generally, shots are to be given 12 hours apart.
 
Yes thank you to all. The 2 units was recommended as the starting dose from the vet. I probably will drop him down to 1.75. That is all the blood levels I have for right now. I have been periodically testing him to get him used to it as I just got my machine on Saturday. Thank you all for the help. I have learned so much from this group. I will fix the dates on my chart when I get home on my laptop
 
Kaitlyn --

With the dosing method you're using, Start Low Go Slow (SLGS), it's much easier -- especially on your nerves -- to start at a lower dose and work up to a larger amount of insulin if necessary. Ideally, you don't want to skip doses. With SLGS, it's recommended that you start your Dax on 1.0u of insulin. Since you were rightly concerned about your kitty's safety while you were gone today, dropping the dose will help on the side of safety.

If you're feeding Dax any dry food, your only option is to use SLGS. Just so you're aware, the Hill's m/d is high in carbs (13% which is what we consider medium carb) and the dry food is even higher in carbs than the canned. If you plan to switch over to a lower carb food, which I hope you would consider (especially since Hill's is not a high quality food -- look at the ingredients), your current dose could be way too high.

You might want to take a look at this website for more info on feline nutrition. There is also an associated food chart with nutrition info including the carb counts. Not all of these foods may be available in Canada but I suspect some are.

 
Kaitlyn --

With the dosing method you're using, Start Low Go Slow (SLGS), it's much easier -- especially on your nerves -- to start at a lower dose and work up to a larger amount of insulin if necessary. Ideally, you don't want to skip doses. With SLGS, it's recommended that you start your Dax on 1.0u of insulin. Since you were rightly concerned about your kitty's safety while you were gone today, dropping the dose will help on the side of safety.

If you're feeding Dax any dry food, your only option is to use SLGS. Just so you're aware, the Hill's m/d is high in carbs (13% which is what we consider medium carb) and the dry food is even higher in carbs than the canned. If you plan to switch over to a lower carb food, which I hope you would consider (especially since Hill's is not a high quality food -- look at the ingredients), your current dose could be way too high.

You might want to take a look at this website for more info on feline nutrition. There is also an associated food chart with nutrition info including the carb counts. Not all of these foods may be available in Canada but I suspect some are.


Yes the Hills was pushed on me by the vet as the best diet for him in his situation. Upon joining this forum I have gained much more knowledge and am attempting to swtich both my cats to an all wet food diet. I have been transitioning him to Friskies as the carbs on those cans are pretty low (the ones I have chosen). I am hoping to have him fully on wet food by the end of the week. I have compared the food list with what I can find in Canada and have come up with a pretty good selection of healthy foods for him, as well as some good high carb foods if he ever goes Hypo.
 
Hi all just wanted to do a little update. I just tested him again (As I just got home) and he is back up to 12. I did leave some food out for him after I left for work and I will be doing his pm shot like normal. Just lowering it slightly. :)
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) If I have now switched him to mostly wet food, he ate his whole supper and it was all canned. Would I drop him down slowly to match the one unit dose? I just would not want to send his body into shock or anything.
 
Given he is dropping after his shot should I continue to stay up and monitor him or is this typical? He is still eating.
 
Back
Top