? 2/25 Coda possibly bouncing? AMPS 247 +1 259 +6.5 290 +8 312 +10 301 PMPS 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coda (GA)

Member Since 2017
Will be collecting more data for late am cycle numbers and early pm cycle (trying to be patient!)

Coda has been finicky about eating his wet food:banghead: will give him some YA zero in mornings but doesn't eat much of that either.. I tried wet again now aroung 3 and he wouldn't eat much... however I just set down some raw chicken and it's gone in one sitting! Looks like I might need to research raw food diets

Update 8:30pm question
Possibly bouncing?
does anyone mind looking at codas spreadsheet for today/ past week?
He's new to insulin and I'm assuming that I've just not hit a high enough dose.. or is he possibly bouncing? (don't know too much about that) but his numbers we higher at +8 and +10 than at PMPS today
 
Last edited:
Mr Handsome Coda -- you like that raw stuff? Dakota says sometimes it's good but he prefers pork loin. :)

HUGS!
Lol he surprised me a bit! Whatever makes him happy and helps with the diabetes I'm all for it!
But I guess he did take to birds during his outdoor cat days, probably happy to be eating that again!
 
I have done both home made and manufactured raw, including Natures Variety, Primal and Radcat, but more often some made near where I live that is low carb/low phosphorus. The EZComplete is really easy, just add water and mix with meat, measure into daily servings and freeze. A good kitchen scale helps. I freeze about 125 grams or 1/4 lb amounts for a day's worth of food. Depends on your cat how much they need. You either use ground or chopped texture. I have a kitty that needs unique proteins so I shop at my exotic meat butcher and he grinds things for me. Another option for cats that love kibble is freeze dried raw with water added as a stepping stone.
 
I have done both home made and manufactured raw, including Natures Variety, Primal and Radcat, but more often some made near where I live that is low carb/low phosphorus. The EZComplete is really easy, just add water and mix with meat, measure into daily servings and freeze. A good kitchen scale helps. I freeze about 125 grams or 1/4 lb amounts for a day's worth of food. Depends on your cat how much they need. You either use ground or chopped texture. I have a kitty that needs unique proteins so I shop at my exotic meat butcher and he grinds things for me. Another option for cats that love kibble is freeze dried raw with water added as a stepping stone.
Ok I'll probably try one of those out and see (maybe even follow the catinfo homemade). I've just been giving Coda about 1 oz-1.5 oz of bite sized chicken breasts to see if he likes it (and it's a hit!) I also think it's been helping his teeth over the past few days since he's already chewing better and letting me touch his mouth. He LOVES chicken liver (which is how I realized he might like raw) but I know he shouldn't have a lot. For some reason he looks at me funny when I give him freeze dried lol I guess some of those go to the dogs!
 
On top of the raw food info..
does anyone mind looking at codas spreadsheet for today/ past week?
He's new to insulin and I'm assuming that I've just not hit a high enough dose.. or is he possibly bouncing? (don't know too much about that) but his numbers we higher at +8 and +10 than at PMPS today
 
Since Coda is still eating some dry food (Young Again), I presume you are following the SLGS method for dosing. According to that, you hold a dose for 7 days, do a curve, then evaluate the dose. If at that time you aren't seeing nadirs regularly below 150, you increase by 0.25 units. This is only day 2 on this dose and it can take 6 cycles or 3 days for the depot to build for you to see what a dose can do. In the mean time, practice patience. :) If you do manage to switch Coda to all raw, then you can consider switching to Tight Regulation for Dosing that allows faster increases.

It can take a while to find a good dose, but we want to do it safely so as to not bypass a good dose. Coda's spreadsheet looks pretty normal for a cat new to insulin. You'll get there. :bighug:
 
Since Coda is still eating some dry food (Young Again), I presume you are following the SLGS method for dosing. According to that, you hold a dose for 7 days, do a curve, then evaluate the dose. If at that time you aren't seeing nadirs regularly below 150, you increase by 0.25 units. This is only day 2 on this dose and it can take 6 cycles or 3 days for the depot to build for you to see what a dose can do. In the mean time, practice patience. :) If you do manage to switch Coda to all raw, then you can consider switching to Tight Regulation for Dosing that allows faster increases.

It can take a while to find a good dose, but we want to do it safely so as to not bypass a good dose. Coda's spreadsheet looks pretty normal for a cat new to insulin. You'll get there. :bighug:
Thank you! I hope that adding raw will help get coda off the dry! I use probably about 10-15 or so kibbles a day on top of canned food to entice eating (smell is what gets him going maybe?), so if I don't have do that anymore with raw, would I be ok to transition to TR protocol? I'm currently starting low and trying to go slow and PATIENT (anxiety problems:banghead:) lol
I'm glad to know that he's looking relatively normal for starting, hard to figure out his readings since so new
 
Patience is not the strong suit of most of us. :p We wanted our kitties fixed NOW!

Once you've switched the food, it shouldn't be a problem switching to TR.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top